The Sinner

5 32

If the people in my congregation were without sin, there would be no need for them to come to church, I thought. Indeed I did bite my tongue as grandmother told me but that didn't mean I could let go of that thought.

All the praying, the talks about sins, sinners, hell, and the devil didn't change anything. It only created more hypocrites. They did watch tv, listened to the radio, scolded, cursed and if it came to it they ignored the ten rules. Why? Because they could and said they were the only good people, the only ones God loved and therefore good do as they liked which they did. They abused and beat up their wives and children.

'Ladies first' was what they practiced, ladies first... So many tears behind each wall, so much pain. I knew the church wasn't the place to be if you wanted a better life. A life filled with joy, and laughter and be accepted. Church, those people proved the opposite. If God exists he's deaf, blind, or is a masochist.

"Archibald was a great friend," I said to his mom.

I didn't intend to speak these words out loud but I had to. His mom looked so sad. Would she miss him just like I would? Archibald was the only brightness in my life. He dared to wave as he passed by and saw me sitting behind the window. It was him who discovered where father locked me in to rethink my sins. Tied to a chair I had to sit there for several days and nights. If I was lucky grandmother brought me some water but she never brought me food.

Archibald waited, found a way to sneak inside, and comforted me with his stories about people who lived completely different life than us.

"It was his own fault", father said with a harsh voice.

He left a half-empty bottle of ketchup on the floortogether with some blood. It was all that was left from Archibald. I sat on the chair with my eyes closed and tried to remember his voice but all I could was smell the blood mixed with ketchup. The ketchup that God forbids us to eat but dad hid in the cellar, the same cellar where he punishes me and makes me think about my sins.

Three prompts are used to write this short free write story. How does it work? Each prompt is good for 5 minutes writing and you just write what pops up in your mind! No thinking about what to write, no need to stick to a storyline all you have to do is keep writing till the 5 minutes are over. No breaks, no phone calls just let your fingers do the job.

#kittywu #freewrite #story #fiction

4
$ 0.97
$ 0.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @WanderingMedStudent

Comments

No offense, but looks like something GPT-3 would create. A bit all over the place, lacks direction.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have way with words... Love your story!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for reading and letting me know. I appreciate that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At first, I thought this is a topic mainly about the church. But to my surprise, this is a short story. Impressive!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. It is not always what we think it is. 🍀♥️

$ 0.00
1 year ago