The goals set

14 45
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

It's November 2020. I decided to join #hasil2020 around December 2019. A bit weird if you consider only a few days earlier I said I would no longer set goals because it was pointless. But I did and... I wasn't the only one. It was kind of tragic to see after a month most already gave up on it so did one of the organizers.

I posted many updates, mentioned those who said they set goals but each one of them disappeared. Was it due to the coronavirus? No, the virus couldn't be blamed only the lack of motivation can be. Most of the goals set like losing weight, working out, not baking a cake more than a few times a year could be easily reached.

The goals I set had to do with me. All five of them. The first one was saving for my retirement. A bit late but I saved. I automatically transfer money to a savings account as soon as my salary is received. At times I checked the savings account and a few times during this year I could add a bit extra. The goal set I already made. I know it's by far not enough but at least it's a start and I will not give up on it easily.

The next goal set was saving for a car. I needed to buy the car earlier as planned (July 2020) but had the money I needed and paid for several repairs. In the meanwhile, I kept saving but this means I will not have the amount I intended to have at the end of December. Still, I believe I succeeded and reached my goal. Even earlier as planned and no matter if I can only save 1 euro or 10 I keep saving for the goal I set.

I rarely use it but I do have a credit card for cases in need. One of those cases can be a broken car and the possibility to rent a car. With us, it's impossible to rent a car for a day or more without a credit card. The credit card charges me high fees but I have no other options. Most shops do not accept payments with a credit card. I couldn't pay for my car with it. I paid with cash.
I use my credit card as a saving box too. This means each month Nan amount is automatically transferred to it. I do not have debts but a credit.
I didn't manage to save as much as I wanted. I indeed spent (traveling, gas station, a hairdryer, coffee-mill, router, and a lot on the internet during homeschooling). The end result hopefully is I saved 50% of what I had in mind.

I intended to double my SP but exactly today it increased with 300 SP instead of 2200. It's hard to start all over again after many left. Being active is a hard task and not easy if you deal with a slow connection. Nevertheless, I am glad I increased my SP and was able to pay for the prizes of the weekly contests I host.

My 5th goal was to lose weight. I managed to do so in an early stage of this year and after that goal was reached I decided to lose more. It's going well and with a child wanting to lose weight I doubt it will increase. The days for appetite, those rare days, are gone. I try to drink more but even those 4 liters are hard these days.

Looking back the goals set weren't that hard. As long as you stay focused and know why you set them it's easy to stay motivated. I could cry my eyes off because I will not be able to save enough if it comes to two goals set but as long a bit is left for saving there's no need to worry.

For 2021 I will set new goals. It's easier to keep an eye on the budget and since all prices rose again and will more before the year ends it's a must to find ways to save myself money again.

This winter will be without buying firewood again and if the lockdown continues there will be no spending December 5th, Christmas, or Newyear's Eve together with the children either which will save me at least some money for traveling.

#kittywu #hasil2020 #achievements #goals

20
$ 3.22
$ 3.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Jisan21
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

I remember reading a post somewhere years ago, and it read something roughly as" about 85% of new years goals are abandoned in the first week, and 90% in the first month. Anyone who holds onto those kinds of commitments have my honest praise! =) <3

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you. I stick to it as much as possible. About once a month I have money and what I have I use for me (read: my goals) first.

Living in poverty helps to lose weight too plus not waiting money on what I don't really need. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You achieved a lot this year though and that's what matters. I think so far i have managed to reach for the goals i wanted to achieve this year too and I'm very happy with that because i haven't been able to do so in the past

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Congratulations to you. 2020 isn't the easiest year with the pandemic but you have found a job, a home so let's go for more fortune. 🍀😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

More forrune indeed! Hopefully it means getting to see my beloved more because he lives just a 20 minute drive away now compared to the 2 hour train and bus trip before

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I must say even being alive to meet these goal must have also been a goal at some point this year. I'm glad you reached your goals even with the ups and downs

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you for your compliment. The ups and downs, especially downs, I can't fight but it feels good to know I achieved something despite of this next hard year. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The great article Dear. Keep writing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one. When you focused on your set goal, you'll achieve it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's the plan and if not I will get closer to it. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think you're so punctual. If yes, then its so good. We all need be punctual for success.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am not punctual but set goals and keep my promises, those to myself are harder to keep but I am working on it. 😇

$ 0.00
3 years ago