OC gives a bad name

33 89

Life of a moderator

June 20, 2020

Suddenly the articles I wrote are no longer exclusive. The OC checker used by @Read.Cash labeled my diaries and more articles as such. It makes one think at least it makes me think. Can the OC be trusted? Can any plagiarism checker be trusted if some words in a row let the alarm go off?

Each diary, each article took me hours to write, more hours to edit, upload photos which are made by me, or if not they are free to use.

If it comes to the way how I write I can not change my writing style. This is how I write and if this means I am repeating myself so be it. Yes, for sure I do repeat myself, especially in a kid's diary. Still, the sentences the plagiarism checker finds make it very hard to believe they can be found in exactly the same way elsewhere.

Let's have a look at one diary and check it with different plagiarism tools.

@heartbeat1515 checked my content. Content that was original but suddenly changed into plagiarism! (The blue EXC light went off).

#1. - 7% plagiarism detected

It's very hard to believe these sentences are found back somewhere else unless it's in my own content.

#2 - 4% plagiarism detected

#3. - 100% original

As a moderator, it takes a lot of time to check content.

Many hours a day I invest in just moderating, checking. It's not something I do for me but to make this platform better.

I know the first articles I and others wrote are not called EXC because at that time the OC didn't exist. I can live with that, live with the statement given that it's not possible for read.cash to check where a post was published first (although mine were not posted elsewhere at all). But what happens now I don't understand. My article was written for read.cash, it was EXC and changed into nonexclusive, in my case even plagiarism! If this happens long after publishing what is the point of let a moderator check it at all?

How to continue?

As a moderator, I will no longer take the OC seriously. It's clear it doesn't work properly and unless I am sure with the help of other checkers it's 100% plagiarism articles will no longer be rejected.

As an author, I will take into consideration if I will still give read.cash the only or first right of what is my intellectual property. At this moment it feels to me my good name as a writer is harmed by this platform its OC.

If you are a victim of the OC (a plagiarism checker) contact @Read.Cash. Bugs can not be found if no one takes the time to send an email and report it!

If you tried to submit to one of the communities I (help to) moderate and your post was rejected for nonexclusive/plagiarism reasons, please submit again and mention it in/underneath your article.

#kittywu #plagiarism #moderator #readcash

12
$ 0.37
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @heartbeat1515

Comments

This news is really sad. The effort you made to submit an article will just be stop by some plagiarism accusation. I hope they can work on this.

Thank you for sharing this with us dear😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think the OC checker doesn't work well. I noticed is a few days ago and some other people mentioned it too. One moment a post is exclusive, the next it's not. As a moderator I can not take it seriously. It might be bugs and solved (I wrote again) but if we all focus on the EXC above a post only it won't do a writer or this platform any good.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The OC is just a bot, it's likely to get faulty sometimes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I doubt it is about "sometimes" and if so I like to see the sources. Might be it's not important to you and many others but to me it is.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've always had this opinion about OC checker, I'm pretty sure it must get things wrong at times and mark writers' hard work as plagiarized.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I noticed if you save it as a draft first (which I do at times) something goes wrong too.πŸ€”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true. I've noticed it too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think it's saver to write offline and copy-paste your text when it's finished. I still have some draft left, one I cannot even delete.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's what I do most of the time now. Sometimes, the automatic draft saver saves at the beginning of the article and when I restore, most of my work wasn't saved. It is tiring.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I noticed the automatic saver too. It wasn't there as I started, can be helpful if my connection or power is gone but not if the draft is the original content.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This system is perceivably flawed. If the plagiarism percentage is this low, it might as well not be plagiarism.

Even if someone took 2 and a half sentences from elsewhere -which would be impossible to confirm in the first place, if only because expressions and quotes exists- why reject an entire article over it. The screenshots you added are very small, but from what I could read, the sentences in red are worded so specifically, it's impossible that someone else has said that exact thing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my case, a longer sentence with the names of my dog and a schoolmate turned out to be plagiarism. To me, it's hard to believe someone else, except me, used it. If it's me this means the OC checks what I wrote with my own content, in this case, my draft. I use this option to save the article for later and keep it safe if I lose my internet connection. I believe the draft causes the problem.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was wondering about that, if the checker would go through your own texts and call you a cheater based on earlier articles you've written that might contain similar language. Because, you know, people tend to speak and write in a certain manner. I repeat myself often, too.

In the community groups I started I left the Originality Checker box unchecked. I already know this kind of software will create more trouble than it's worth.

What does it mean for a user when their work isn't deemed exclusive, by the way?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If the article is not EXC I doubt it has any consequences the way it is now unless you try to submit to a community and are rejected for being a plagiarist.

If the EXC isn't blue it means the post is not published on read.cash first or it's plagiarism.

A moderator will see the OC button red and if you click on it a list of links will be shown. In some cases links to a different account of the author, at times a long list with names of sites...

In many cases, you already feel while reading if it's about plagiarism. Especially if you know or read someone. The comments are given, short notes, etc tell a lot about their own writing style, interests, etc.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To tell you the truth, I have been doing the double-checking or triple for a while. I always do this when I moderate but for other content. Until I decided to.check my own writing as I said in one of my article"Feeling Stab".

You know how I write, I know I would never disrespect the rules and so are you. Even accidentally almost the same or half a sentence is detected as none OC contents.

A copy of the author own article is also marked as Non-OC where as I think that it should only be marked as none EXC.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right, the OC-checker doesn't work properly and one cannot trust it at all. I complained a week ago about that - see https://read.cash/@Mictorrani/oc-detector-not-reliable-right-now-86741a4f

It seemed better a couple of days after that, they fixed the problems I had pointed straight at, but since yesterday everything went to hell again. I don't trust it at all anymore.

Falsely labelling an author's work as plagiarism surely harms his or her reputation as an author.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For now I will give up on it. I don't like to be accused of plagiarism and I don't like to be the bringer of bad news either. My intuition will tell me in most cases if something is wrong and if so I can check it in different ways.

I noticed articles saved as draft first seem to be nonexclusive too.

Thanks for your comment. πŸ‘πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hadn't noticed that with drafts. I almost always keep my articles as drafts. I will keep an eye on that. But yes... when this OC checker was new I once received a notification that my article "this or that" had been discovered to be plagiarism and would not give any points. When I asked what was really going on, they found that it had found a match, but that was the article that was checked. It was plagiarised from itself! It was a bug, they said, which was then fixed. That can have been that the OC detector found the draft and classed my article as plagiarism of the draft to the very same article! That was complicated to explain, but I hope you get the meaning.

I don't like being accused of plagiarism either. Fact is that I became quite upset and wondered what the hell was going on. I have never stolen anything in my whole life. I did get a correction that time, but what you mention here, that material is first classed as original and then suddenly changed to plagiarism is something new to me and it sounds quite grotesque.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I understand what you explained. If it comes to the drafts I am not the only one who noticed it. I think somehow it does checks with the draft. Not with a few words with longer sentences.

I am not willing to rewrite my article for three days and end up deleting it like @heartbeat1515 did just because of the OC checker.

I am checking since she mentioned this issue frequently and so does she and I see the EXC go on and disappear and with some luck it shows up again.

It all can be caused by bugs and the improvements but if you moderate, visit a post at the wrong moment action is required. It doesn't feel great if you tell others you do not accept nonexclusive content and you are labeled as a plagiarist yourself. I heard this news from others.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It made me sad that I deleted the articles. I did not copy anything from anywhere else except for the lyric that I borrowed and I already put citation for it. I edited it a few times and lastly, I gave up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You shouldn't delete what you wrote. It's not somewhere left in your notes or memory of your computer. If you know it's yours you can post it or post it somewhere else (first, ). Next, you can add a link on which account of yours you posted it plus add the info it's labeled as nonexclusive and it's not!

Bugs can not be found if we do not report it and I am not willing to throw away days of work unless I am not satisfied with it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is the biggest mistake I made. I did not save it anywhere else.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it's still in your mind you might be able to write it better and faster again. It's what I frequently need to do if I write online instead of in my notes and power or connection is gone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I still have it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, wakeupkitty is right, always save your material. The first thing you should do is to complain to readcash, If nothing better, they can fix it on a case by case basis if it is a bug.

Then, never delete finished work. If you cannot use it now or here, perhaps you can use it later or somewhere else.

I have copies of my articles. I mostly write offline in the first place and copy paste into readcash, but even if I didn't. I would save copies somewhere, What if readcash collapses and the site disappears? All your work lost. Hours of writing, and much of what you write you can use somewhere else. If you have it saved.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The last part of your comment awakens me. I saved some but not all. I am going to make a back up after this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

WordPress is a good place to save it too if you do not have an sd card or USB stick.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have a USB stick but it is mostly used for work.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, it doesn't feel great. Somehow, one must be clean oneself before being able to blame others for not being so.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hopefully this problem will be solved asap.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Isn't this what I wrote about the other time? When the OC detector fails, now it's obvious it can not be trusted. Even your own work can now be flagged as non original. This makes moderating a more difficult task. Now not just that it fails to recognize original content, it's also failing to detect plagiarize articles. I have seen it, as I wrote in my article, a clearly copy paste article was passed to be original just for changing the topic. How I detect this was that I read the article on my Luno wallet that same day and someone posted it here by changing the topic only and it was flagged by the OC detector.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I remember you wrote about it too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago