Oatmeal-cornflour pancakes (gluten-free)

2 38

Usually, I bake pancakes with oatmeal flakes, wheat flour, a bit of salt, and water. It's cheap if it comes to the ingredients and without oatmeal, it works fine too. It all depends on what you put on your pancake if more taste is needed. To us, it's the same as bread, roti, or a wrap. You eat it with something else which can be sweet like fruit, chocolate spread, syrup or ice cream or cheese, bacon, the left bolognaise sauce, or chicken with peanut butter sauce.

Once I borrowed a friend's coffee mill to make flour out of the oatmeal flakes but I gave up on it. If you add some water to the flakes and let it soak for a while it falls apart. This way I use oatmeal flakes in cakes, bread, pancakes.

Oatmeal milk is oatmeal flakes soaked in water. Let it stay for some hours (overnight) and you have your milk. No need to buy it for 2 euros or more per liter.

I am not a pancake fan but bake them regularly. My youngest grew up with it (no bread) let's hope I didn't destroy its intestines with an overdose of gluten.

Ingredients

  • oatmeal flakes

  • cornflour

  • 3 eggs (next time I try 2 eggs)

  • water

  • salt

  • Option: vanilla sugar (2 packages)

Oatmeal flakes and cornflour both have a specific taste. If it comes to oatmeal it feels as if it neutralizes every taste (that's why I add salt to the dough) and cornflour leaves you with a sweeter and dryer taste behind in your mouth.

Oatmeal flakes, cornflour, salt, eggs, water

How to

If you know how to make a dough for pancakes this is an easy one for you. Simply replace your wheat flour with oatmeal and cornflour.

I started with oatmeal flakes. I was curious about a blender who can do the job of a coffee mill. The answer is yes, although I broke mine (it was already broken fluids dripped out at the bottom that's why I gave it a try).

  1. In a bowl, you put the oatmeal flakes and add some water to it plus 1/4 teaspoon salt. Not too much water just enough to cover it.

  2. Let it soak for a while. You will notice the oatmeal absorbs the water.

  3. Add the cornflour and stir.

  4. Add more water and stir.

  5. Add the eggs and stir

    Eggs are needed to stick oatmeal and cornflour together. Without your pancake falls apart.

  6. Let your dough rest for at least 30 minutes

  7. Add more water if the dough is too thick. There's no need to have a thick dough unless you intend to bake thick pancakes.

You can use milk or almond milk or soymilk instead of water but I do not see the point of it. Believe me, these pancakes fill your stomach and you won't eat much more than two or three with the size of 24 - 25 centimeters.

Wait till the surface looks dry

How to bake

Baking pancakes isn't difficult and there's no need to throw them into the air and catch them. Keep your kitchen clean and keep in mind everything you bake gluten-free will easily break.

I used a Teflon pan but still use some sunflower oil to bake my pancakes.

  1. Make sure your pan is hot

  2. Put some oil or butter in the pan

  3. Add some dough to it (I use a soup spoon)

  4. Wait till the pancake its surface is dry (you can see the difference) and it no longer sticks to your pan.

  5. Carefully turn it and bake the other side.

Conclusion

I made two thick pancakes and number two broke as I was too hastily in turning it. I baked it further on (the scrambled egg idea) and we tested the taste. It was the typical, dry taste of cornflour but this time without those little hard parts I find back in the cookies. These pancakes are somehow more tasteless. With butter and some sugar, it is good.

I decided to add two packages of vanilla sugar (I will not buy it again after I am out of it) to the dough left and added more water to be able to bake thinner pancakes.

The children tasted more egg as they ate their pancakes with chocolate spread (egg with chocolate doesn't sound like a great combination to me). Next time I try two eggs instead of just one.

The vanilla sugar? We smelled it but couldn't taste it which means it is a useless ingredient to us.

"What is the next pancake dough you'll make" my child wanted to know, "one with the spelled?". No, I made enough pancakes for now. I know it's possible and that's all I wanted to know. It's already pathetic enough I make pancakes, food I don't like. Buttercake or an old fashioned apple pie like my granny made it is most likely more worth the try.

More about health/gluten

Health issues

Gluten

Corn cookies

Chocolate corn cookies

#kittywu #glutenfree #recipe #cornflour #oatmeal #pancakes

2
$ 0.36
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

What does oatmeal milk taste like? Does it have the same texture as milk? That part had me curious

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No it does not if you buy it. Same if it comes to almond milk, soy milk, the hailnutmilk and rice milk. You need to shake those packages. It looks white or a bit yellowish. You think it's a thick but you taste water mainly (we tried out several bought ones). It doesn't make your tea or coffee taste better. I make oatmeal with water. If you add water to it longer ago the porridge tastes great and I cannot say I miss the milk. If you add water and cook it it tastes different. Ricemilk (actually rice water + water added and sugar) is not my kind of drink. I hardly drink a glass of milk anyway, never did. I save the rosewater for the dogs.

$ 0.00
3 years ago