Corn cookies (gluten free)

4 47

In Surinam they are well-known and for sure more countries have their own recipe if it comes to corn cookies or food made out of cornflour. If your intestines do not tolerate a certain food you better stop consuming it. Once gluten is deleted from the menu it doesn't mean there's nothing left to eat. Actually, there's plenty of food, tasty food. There's no need to stick to the eating habits of our ancestors or to join the bad food habits of other nations. There's a life without the pizza hut, Macdonald, Dominos, and twice a bread meal a day. To those who are used to eat wheat the message is easy: eat rice or corn or buckwheat instead. Change your habit and start discovering some other tastes.

We made corn cookies.

It was the first time. The cornflour wasn't the one that was advised. We bought a big bag of flour that wasn't as fine as the one suggested but I can't be picky. I buy what is available and can afford it.

These cookies are made out of flour and you need an oven! It's a sweet cookie. One you can eat just so or with your cup of tea or coffee. Since I have nothing to compare with I have no idea if the cookies are what they should look like besides I did change the recipe (I skipped some ingredients).

Corn flour

Ingredients

125 grams of real butter (room temperature)

100 grams of sugar (I used about 80 grams)

1 egg (medium size, room temperature)

A bit salt

250 grams of cornflour

1 tablespoon vanilla extract (I didn't use it)

Sugar sprinkles (I did not use it)

Sugar

You can use scales, a beer like this one, or use the old fashioned method of cups and spoons. If the taste of the dough is fine, your product will taste good too (unless it's burned by your oven). Simply stick to the rule dough for cookies should be kneaded and you must be able to make a ball out of it. It's no problem is this dough is a little bit sticky. Cornflour is not the same as wheat flour.

How to make the dough?

Add all ingredients into a bowl.

Cornflour, sugar, butter, salt, and one egg.

With a knife, I cut the butter into small pieces. It's the best method and the easiest way to get a smooth dough.

I bought the butter and kept it on the table till the next day. It wasn't soft yet (no fridge).

Tip: Wash your hands and knead the dough further with cold hands preferable one hand. This way you keep one hand clean to add some ingredients, take a spoon, or open your tap.

After you kneaded the dough and made a ball out of it let it rest at a cool place for at least a few minutes.

If you add spices it's better to let it rest for at least one hour or make the dough one day ahead.

Out of this dough, 12 balls are made. With a fork, I pressed on the top. I did not add sugar sprinkles because I don't like its taste plus breaking a tooth on a cookie is no fun either.

Oven: 175°C (just shove it in the middle)

Baking time: 15-20 minutes (it depends on your oven. I only have one with a heath underneath. The baking time for cookies is usually between 12-15 minutes).

After the baking time is over you need to take the tray out of the oven and wait till the cookies are cold. Do not move them if they are hot they are soft and easily fall apart.

The cookies tasted fine but I found them too sweet and to thick. Next time I'll make 24 cookies and them thinner as well.

I need to get used to the little hard parts in the cookie (due to the cornflour used).

We will make this dough again but change the recipe. This cookie has something in common with "sprits" (translation should be: shortbread but sprits are different) and therefore I like to add more salt and try it out with cocoa as well.

Who knows it even tastes better with some spices.

More about gluten

Health issues

Gluten

#kittywu #recipe #glutenfree #cornflour

6
$ 1.08
$ 1.08 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

I learnt it from you thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for this! I'm in the UK where we don't eat a huge amount of corn-based food, but I have always enjoyed it when I've tried it (for example corn tortillas). However I think everything corn that I've tried has been savoury rather than sweet. I like baking though so maybe I'll try something like these cookies.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Let me know if you tried it. A finer cornflour for sure will make it taste better but it's all a question of what you are used to too.

Today or tomorrow I'll try with cocoa or some spices (good for the December month).

Happy baking. 🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago