Chocolate corn cookies (gluten-free)

1 36

Gluten. If your intestines are killing you or you like to try a gluten-free diet follow me. It's not as hard as it sounds and those who do not suffer from problematic intestines can eat the same as you do. Please, do keep in mind that other flour than wheat flour contains carbohydrates, can even contain way more than you are used to eating it is good for you.

My first try with homemade, gluten-free corn cookies I already published. After that, I searched between my recipes to find a difference between the old fashioned cookies (wheat flour) and gluten-free cookies (no wheat flour but: corn flour, rice flour, buckwheat flour, or for example spelledflour instead). If it comes to the number of ingredients there's hardly any difference. The amount of sugar, type of sugar can make a difference, milk (or water) instead of egg but that's basically it.

Baked basic corn cookies

Cookies are originally made out of butter, salt, wheat flour, and sugar. You mix the ingredients, knead it, and bake them in the middle of the oven at 175°C for about 12-25 minutes.

The ingredients used:

  • 125 grams of real butter (made of cow milk)

  • salt (1/2-1 teaspoon)

  • 1 egg (medium)

  • 4 tablespoons real cocoa

  • 75 grams of sugar

  • 250 grams of cornflour

    (No baking said or baking powder)

With a fork (later a spoon) I mixed it all. Do it carefully. Cocoa can irritate your throat, it floats through the air. You can try to mix it with the egg first if you like.

After it was mixed (spoon, fork) I kneaded it a bit (with one hand only to keep one hand clean) and made a ball out of it. The ball is dark but I used a flashlight to take this photo. Your dough needs to taste like cocoa! Dark chocolate, not too sweet.

A close up of the dough. As you can see it glows and the structure isn't fine. The bigger parts in the cornflour cause this. Those parts you will find back in the cookies as well but my children like them a lot (never thought the youngest would).

I use baking paper to cover whatever I use to bake on. I don't like dirty things nor cleaning and scrubbing besides I can use the paper again (more cookies, cake, or pizza).

Make balls out of the dough.

I cut it into four parts. Each 1/4 is good for 6 cookies (yes, you counted well I ate from the dough and I made them bigger, not thinner).

Press with a fork on it. It keeps your hands clean and gives some pattern but you can use a cup, glass, or your hand as well.

The cookies are baked for 20 minutes in a traditional oven with only heat at the bottom!

Temperature: 175°C

I switched the oven off as the baking time was over and let the tray inside.

For these cookies, I used more salt than in my first recipe because I wanted them to taste more like "sprits" (shortbread) which indeed has the same amount of ingredients just a different flour is used.

No matter the fact you use real butter and egg, corn cookies aren't fat but dry. You won't choke in it but need to get used to the taste. Because my flour isn't very fine I bought a different brand to try out or see if I can mix it with something else.

With us, cornflour is about two to five times more expensive than wheat flour. The price of spelled flour is about six times more. I try to find rice flour but could not find it yet. Neither buckwheat flour. If you cannot eat everything the costs of food will rise unless you delete other items from your shopping list.

Gluten intolerance is mainly an issue with people who eat a lot of food prepared out of wheat/grew up with it.

Gluten are proteins which make your food sticky and baking easier.

Informative for you

Home made chocolate butter

Health issue

Gluten

Corn cookies gluten-free

#kittywu #recipe #glutenfree #chocolatecookies #homemade

4
$ 0.59
$ 0.59 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

Oh mama😂. Looks like someone is baking for the kids. I don't really have a problem with gluten. Is gluten healthy or not?

$ 0.00
3 years ago