It's time

17 42
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago


The first day of the Summer vacation.
Schools are closed and I have to help clean the house. Cleaning is cleaning. Everything is taken out of the cupboards and has to be cleaned. How can anything get dirty in our house? We always clean. The housekeeper is at home. She has a vacation too. My mother wrote in a booklet about how she has to clean the house. Each thing that needs to be done. She tells me how to do it. Keeps repeating herself and checks the booklet. If the booklet and all the steps to be taken are wrong she rewrites it. It's all handwritten. I know what she wrote but I am not sure others can read it.
I have to unpack the boxes on the ceiling. What is inside needs to be cleaned too. There's a box with her wedding dress. She says I have to wear it when I get married. I won't wear it, it's ugly. I say I don't want that dress and she's angry again. She hits me with her shoe on my head. She never uses her hands. It's a shoe with high heels, a whip, mats beater, or dog leash.


July 25, 2020
Saturday


I wrote a letter to my grandmother in the hospital.
The postman will take it out of the box and my grandmother will read it. I don't know when but she'll know I think of her. I didn't know what to write. I am not good at making up stories. It's better not to tell granny about my mother. She will not believe me no one does. Even if people see it happen they say it's not true or a normal thing to do.
I am not good enough and not sweet enough. Girls need to be sweet and clean and cook and catch spiders. If they don't do that people will not like you and you are not brave. It's written in the poems family, teachers and classmates write in my poetry booklet. Only one poem I like. It's about me sitting between the cabbage, beets and carrots and dad says everything is for sale except me. It's not true I know it's not. My father has nothing for sale, he doesn't work and I am not special to him.

July 26, 2020
Sunday



Say cheese

Ducks

#kittywu #diary #childhood



8
$ 0.27
$ 0.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @bheng620
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

it's a story but sorry but i don't agree with the line 'Girls need to be sweet,clean,cook and catch spiders.....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You don't need to agree with it. This is a kids diary and if you read it well you know this is exactly what the poem says. The poem generations of girls had in their "poetry booklet".

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i know.... bt it's a diary.. poem or anything else.... it's not right... i just wanted to say that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, you mean to say it's not right to brainwash girls with that nonsense. If it comes to that I agree with you. If you think about it it's a very sneaky thing to do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

obviously... no girl... even no one should be treated like this... it's so wrong.... all individual has separate will and it's not write to control their will and put burden on their shoulder that they don't like

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Girls need to be this and that... Nothing frustrates my sister like that stereotype.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It frustrates many. Even me as a mom. You cannot buy a toy car for your kid because it's a girl. My granny hated it too. 4 sons, one daughter they all had to sew, knit, clean, cook. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thumbs up to your grandma. My mom is like that too. That sort of treatment ensures the men are also well-behaved and decent, instead on focusing on the 'lady' and forgetting about the 'gentle' in 'gentlemen'

$ 0.00
3 years ago