Ducks

17 48
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago


School looks empty.
I helped cleaning up the classroom. In turn, two children sweep the floor, wipe the blackboard, water the plants hand over, and collect schoolbooks for one week. Before a lesson starts the book needed is handed out and so is our notebook for that lesson.
At the end of the lesson, it is collected again. The teacher always gives two notes. One is for doing your work, the other one for neatly writing.
Today she gave us our drawings and notebooks. I had to bring a back along with me. Next school year I will receive new notebooks. The only thing which is mine now is the fountain pain. If you know how to write the school gives you one. I like mine but I wish I could write in green ink instead of blue. The bookshop sells green ink and red. Red is what the teacher uses, no one writes with green.

I slowly walked home.
First I have to pass the house of the bully. There's no need to hurry because I told I will be home later. It's Summer and soon children play outside. I never see the girl with the armor play outside. Sometimes I see her leaving for school in the morning. She visits mine and looks nice but we never talk. I never see her walk home. Perhaps she leaves earlier? With an armor, it isn't easy to move. I don't believe she can turn her head.

The dogs are outside in the garden. Soot grows fast and jumps high. He's a happy dog and starts liking the car too.

My dad says granny is taken to hospital.
I don't think she is that old but she is ill and my father says she can die and I can write her a letter. It is my favorite granny, the one who let me read and plays with me. Sometimes we go feed the ducks but only if she doesn't need the bread for something else.



July 23, 2020
Thursday


A way out



#kittywu #diary #childhood



16
$ 0.32
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

Partings are the most painful ones to deal with. Mostly because of the memories that's left inside our head and the lingering affection that we feel for those who have left this world.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is but she isn't dead yet. Grandpa is but I think she's a fighter plus she has a young son. I don't know who takes care of him. Boarding school perhaps?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, that's good to hear then. Glad to know that she's still OK.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

High amounts of prednisone kept her alive for years including side effects.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It sounds like when I was to school, swept the floor, wipe the blackboard, water the plants, hand out the books and collect them back. Did you need to wash the toilets? We had to, in the morning and before we leave for the day. I am always saddened by news of grandmas or grandpas ill. I miss mine.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, no toilets to clean. Just the own classroom and before the break in the morning the teacher makes coffee. During that time one of us has to guard the class and write down the names of those who speak on the blackboard. A nasty job. The children hate you if you do it and the teacher if you don't do it. After the break, someone needs to do the dishes. Wash all cups, etc. Those teachers are lazy. Perhaps there's someone doing the toilets? They are very clean. If you need to go to the toilet you have to make a necklace with you. One made of large, wooden beads.

I am sorry about your grandparents. My grandfathers live mainly in my mind. My favorite grandmother, I didn't see frequently and at a certain point not at all.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your granny sounds really nice, I hope she was okay. What sort of armor isbtjie girl wearing?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My granny has a rare blood clotting disease. Something like hemophilia but this one shows in women. I don't think there's a cure. They gave her a high amount of prednisone.

I am not sure what the girl has. Something at her neck or back or both. It keeps her head up straight and her upper body is covered by it. It's underneath her clothes. Can't be easy to sleep with it.

It partly reminds me of the harness a schoolmate was wearing after she broke her neck during gymnastics at school. She survived it. In the hospital, there were holes drilled in her head and weights we're attached to it to keep her head in position. As she came out of hospital she had an armor too and started instantly with the gym again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think that last girl was seriously trying to see how far her luck would go. Such invasive surgery, protective armor and she still went back to the gym immediately?

Her poor neck just have been wondering why it had to serve her.

Most of these genetic diseases affecting blood have no cure. It must have been hard for her to live like that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

About the luck... She was doing gymnastics at a high level I believe next to the school. The accident was her fault - if it was someone's fault at all - she had too much confidence. I saw her fall. We used a door to put her on. It must have been a nightmare for the teacher. What I do not understand is the teacher allowed her after the surgery to join the lessons, I assume her parents knew it too. I never understood why she started so early again, perhaps to fight the fear?

For that other girl, it must have been hard. I doubt she had many friends. Her mother was nice and I think I once or twice spoke to her at her home. It must be hard to sit, walk, sleep with it. The thing is Ican not remember I saw her at school. Perhaps a whole day was too much for her. 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That green ink catches my attention, that you are always unique. I love your articles from title to content, always unique. The title of your articles always playing my mind.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You like green ink too? I started writing with it. The teacher wasn't happy with it but could not forbid it either. She could read it and I had a nice handwriting.

It's hard to find a catching title and I like to keep it short and simple. The title I add at the end. It was ducks or grandma but grandma will most likely be used later.

Interesting to hear the titles play with your mind. You give me something to think about. Thank you. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago