Car check before leaving

40 79
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

As I woke up I felt nervous. Nervous about my car. Mainly because I was afraid to find a pool of oil underneath it. My car is a Renault Clio and by now 21 years old. It's great for a city but not really meant for driving dirt roads up and down. So far the car didn't let me down just the mechanics did. I can not get rid of the feeling each time I asked for a check-up something new was broke. The great car one mechanic - only two years ago - said about I would have many years of driving pleasure with. It changed into a troubled car, a lemon of a car.

If it comes to cars I might not be a mechanic but I am not an idiot either.
I am able to hear the difference of the motor, I know when a gear is bad and how to check most parts on the list used for the annual test. I do not need a car service for smaller repairs and checking my car before I leave for a long drive or vacation I do myself.



For a 21-year-old Renault, my car is in good shape but there's a noise. I like to know what causes it because it annoys me. After the oil was changed it leaks. Leaking oil isn't something to worry about especially not if it comes to older cars but what eats me is my car never leaked a drop of oil. Why now? Why after the oil was changed? What did this guy do?



As you can see the engine looks fine. It's not the rusty trash I frequently see with cars not even half its age.



I checked all fluids.
Before leaving it's good to know I am able to spray dead insects off the windscreen.



I had a look at the oil level again. Without oil, the motor will get broke which is expensive. Power steering oil and the radiator need to be taken care of too.


All filters need to be clean as well. A dirty filter will not do you any good.

I never use the airconditioning. It's an unhealthy thing and it circulates mold. Mold is bad for health. If you use your airconditioning you need to switch it off the last 15 minutes you are driving and note the difference between the temperature outside and in your car should only be a few degrees Celsius.




My tires are fine. These are meant for summer only. Although most likely I will leave the Clio behind I will not take the winter tires with me on this travel. A journey back home to test and find a different car.


Underneath my car is nothing to complain about. No wet spots and it's not rusty either. Just dirt. I'll drove it to the carwash to clean it. Why? Because I learned if you drive an old car, a rusty or dirty car if you are a woman with children they check your car at each border. This includes drug trained dogs sniffing at you and your stuff. The biggest chance to cross a border is being clean and drive behind a dirty car, if possible a dirty, rusty van.

What to check before you travel by car?
- tires (flat tires are no good plus it costs way more gasoline)
- oil levels and other fluids (some modern cars tell you if you start the car)
- lights/signals (take some extra with you, gas stations sell them but are expensive)
- breaks
- window screen wipers
- safety vests
- first aid kit



I hope to arrive within 24 hours.
I will not stay in a hotel or go to a restaurant and have no idea how the Covid19 situation will be in Germany and Austria. Summer holidays, extra traffic, road works, the weather, accidents, car trouble, tiredness, etc will all influence my journey.
Food and drinks I'll take with me, toilet paper, wipes, gloves, face masks plus two jerry cans. If I don't speed it means I visit a gas station before I leave, one in Germany and one in Austria (the gas station where I fill the jerry cans because this one is the cheapest of all four countries).

#kittywu #carcheck #traveling

38
$ 5.36
$ 4.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 0.01 from @marblely
+ 1
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

Your car is so beautiful. πŸ’ž And this article is very helpful for those who are travel by their car.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's wise to check what you can. You don't need to be a man to do so not a car mechanic. Let's hope it will be a safe and fast journey. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. It will be a safe journey.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice check-up, take care and have a safe travels. Extra careful to avoid Covid-19.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I hope to stay mainly in my car. I can eat, drink and sleep in it. Just stretching legs and see what the options for toilets are. I couldn't figure it out via the internet. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So this was what you meant by traveling. But what did you need help on though?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I leave at the end of my tomorrow. I need some extra sleep. This car needs to be tested at home. It wasn't possible because of the lockdown. I hoped the delay would safe me money but I have a bad feeling the service done only created car trouble. I skip the mowing and will see what to do once I am back. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have to commend your maintenance of the car. 21 years and it still looks clean as new.

Safe trip!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it still does. At times I forget because I only see dirt and sheep poop but look how shiny it actually is and that for a Renault. These cars easily rust. My next one won't be like this. Thanks for the best wishes. πŸ€πŸ‘πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have really maintained your car so well. Very clean interiors and exteriors. I wish you a safe trip ma. I'm anticipating your article on how safe ur trip went ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tomorrow I will pack some more, take an extra nap and I go. Fingers crossed the roads are all mine and at the borders they don't care. I keep you updated if I can. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok. Wishing you a safe trip

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's really recommendable to do this checks before driving. Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is indeed. If I end up on the highway with car trouble at least it's not because of one of these things. I wish I had a simpler car though. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

U'll definitely get a simpler one... Anything can happen, that's God.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Simple cars no longer exist. This 31 year old already has electric windows and lock. The more technology the more can get broke and trouble you will have (plus costs) if one small thing is broke.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope it's enough to get me safe where I need to be and severely I hope too it will easily pass the test. If that is the case I can make someone extremely happy with it. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Have a good and safe travel @wakeupkitty! Take care and come home safe <3 For a 21 year old car, your car looks good, especially the engine. You take care of it very well :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. You will hear me if I arrived. I hope for better wifi. This post I made while standing outside a supermarket. What a life. πŸ€πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You will arrive safely and get back home <3 :) What a life indeed that we depend on a good wifi nowadays. If you don't find one, just chill and relax until you get to wherever there is wifi :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Niceee! Hahaha. I have realized, I never did any car check since the day I learned driving hahahaha I am just so careless hahahaha.. Thank you for this!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If your car still drives you saved yourself a lot of money. Mine seems to eat it. I think this is the last journey I will make with it. I made an appointment for the test but mainly to hear what is wrong with it. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh that's sad but at least always make sure your safe! take care!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How long distance your travel will be? :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will drive about 1745 kilometers.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your 21 years old car i think it's look good. Keep safe always πŸ’Œ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope it will take me where I need to be. Just good looking is not always enough. Keep my fingers crossed. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've had similar issues with mechanics and the promises they give only to find out that in fixing something, they broke something else.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think they do it on purpose to make you come back. I hear it more people say. Once my window wipers stopped. The guy switched something out till the moment a new part arrived. I knew it wasn't the right one because he made a phone call still put it in my car. With that action of him, my car went crazy everything stopped working. I went back he said I had to leave my car behind. It would take him at least 6 weeks to figure out the problem. I told him to take out the new part and put back the old one. Guess what? The problem was solved. It's one year later and I never had that problem again. Most likely the part wasn't pushed right into the socket or fell partly out while driving over bad roads. For sure if I wouldn't have brought up this idea he had charged me with a high bill while fixing what didn't need to be fixed at all.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is a good thing he even listened to you. Some would still advise you against it. I'm happy your car works fine now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A cautious man is worth two, eps and the final wing that would happen to him with the motor oil, I suppose that he was very well greetings and that he does well for Germany and Austria.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have road service and took a travel insurance with car service to be sure. I hope I won't need them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago