Cabbage

4 37
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago
Topics: Health, Food, 2023, January, Lifestyle, ...

My first thought is: I don't like cabbage. Cabbage is not easy to digest and it makes my intestines hurt.

As a child, we ate only 5 types of cabbage: sauerkraut (made in a Cologne pot or from the barrel), red cabbage (with or without pieces of apple), cauliflower, farmer's cabbage (a type of cabbage I have never seen in any other country than the Netherlands. When translated, it turns out to be a different type of cabbage) and Brussels sprouts.

Sauerkraut and kale are eaten in winter. Cabbage is boiled and mixed through mashed potatoes. This along with bacon and smoked sausage is one of the stamppots eaten in the Netherlands.

I never liked red cabbage. One of the housekeepers cooked it until the colour was out. As a child, I found it an unappetising morsel. I have eaten it at most 10 times since then (maybe less times).

Brussels sprouts are also among the winter vegetables. They say you have to love them. I especially do with applesauce (with some cinnamon).

Cauliflower I buy a bit more often but not excessively often either. The green leaves and stems are also good to eat. So don't throw them away. Cauliflower cooked with some nutmeg on top is how we used to eat it at home. I also like to eat it with a yellow curry sauce or with a cheese sauce. Cauliflower cooked soft (or steamed) is much tastier and easier to digest.

I also like sauerkraut raw, straight from the barrel. I don't rinse it first. Many do before boiling it and mashing it with some black pepper balls. But if sauerkraut is not sour, can't you just as well eat ordinary cabbage?

People used to say that children were born into their favourite food. With me then, that would be farmer's cabbage. So I was found in the farmer's cabbage (no, not brought by the stork). Farmer's cabbage I hardly ever eat anymore. I don't see it very often.

When it comes to stew, you can also make a tasty winter stew from Brussels sprouts, cauliflower leaves and boiled or raw endive with boiled potatoes.

#food #kittywu #life #cabbage #freewrite

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @MicroReylatos
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago
Topics: Health, Food, 2023, January, Lifestyle, ...

Comments

Imagining you lying on a blanket of cauliflowers made me very funny, lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It felt to me it was more like been hidden in the crop. 😥

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Like something unknown or something lost rather?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The way they told it it feels more like I was hidden inside of the crop 😥

$ 0.00
1 year ago