My Windows 11 Upgrade Adventure

9 43
Avatar for turuncu
2 years ago
Topics: Review

I've been trying to upgrade my computer to Windows 11 for a few days now. Unfortunately, Windows 11 installation was not supported because my computer did not have a TPM chip and my processor was old.

After researching, I was able to bypass the TPM warning. I have successfully upgraded to Windows 11 after accepting the disclaimer that Windows is not responsible for any problems with my computer.

There is no problem for now. It's a bit like Mac OS. Colored folders and many file icons have changed. There are actually a lot of changes.

If you're open to changes and your computer supports it, I'd recommend upgrading. I had to install an application from the windows market to make the taskbar transparent. I guess Windows wanted to offer this feature for a fee. But of course there are different applications. Also I haven't been able to reduce the taskbar size yet.

To perform the upgrade, I edited the appraiserres.dll file with notepad, thanks to a few videos I watched. If anyone wants, I can send the appraiserres.dll file. However, I did the editing myself, as I thought it would be safest to edit it ourselves.

1) First I copied the Windows 11 installation iso to the flash drive.

2) I deleted the appraiserres.dll file in the source folder in the flash memory. And I copied the appraiserres.dll file I edited into the sources folder on the flash memory.

3) I started the upgrade by clicking on the setup file. We are presented with three options.

a) Upgrade keeping all files and settings,

b) Installing Windows while preserving files,

c) Do a clean install by deleting everything on the disk.

I chose the top option. I didn't want to reconfigure everything from scratch.

There was no problem after the upgrade. However, several upgrade attempts failed because Hyper-V was enabled in the bios settings. After disabling Hyper-V by going into bios settings, a successful upgrade took place.

If your computer is new, it probably already supports Windows 11. However, if you have an old computer like me, if TPM 2.0 is not available, you can upgrade to Windows 11 using this method.

In addition, it is not necessary to throw the Windows 11 ISO file to the flash memory. But this is how I did a clean install if the upgrade failed. If you want, you can perform the upgrade by clicking the Setup file after extracting the contents of the ISO file. Of course, if you do not have a TPM 2.0 compatible computer, you will need to replace the appraiserres.dll file.

This is not a how-to article. I just wanted to share this adventure with you. But I still think it will work for you. If you can't edit the appraiserres.dll file yourself, I can upload it and send you the link if you want. This upgrade was not successful the first time. In fact, even a successful upgrade can take 30-60 minutes. I also did a lot of research to understand what was preventing the upgrade. It may be due to software or hardware incompatibility. The reason for my problem was Hyper-V enabled on Bios. Each unsuccessful attempt took at least half an hour unless I disabled Hyper-V. If you want to upgrade your computer to Windows 11, it will save you time to start the upgrade by deactivating Hyper-V if Hyper-V is enabled. Happy evening to all of you guys.

7
$ 8.54
$ 8.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @idiosyncratic
$ 0.01 from @Khing14
+ 2
Avatar for turuncu
2 years ago
Topics: Review

Comments

My country is so bad,,, that I see you as better than Bill gates right now... I don't understand half the stuff there.. tpm,,, hyper v,,, dll... I've read like three times now to see if I can get some things from context,,, but all I can only get the most basic point which is that you managed to use a new os on an old machine that didn't support it... You're a genius man!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually, what I want to emphasize here is our work to achieve what we are interested in, what we want to do. And that we should never give up...

It has nothing to do with genius. There are many articles and videos on the subject on the Internet. I learned from there too. I wanted to share my experience in case it helps upgrading old computers like me that do not support Windows 11 to Windows 11. The most important detail is the appraiserres.dll file. There are certainly other methods. But this method worked for me. There are also articles on editing regedit but that didn't work for me. I didn't write anything about it. Instead of writing a how-to article, I wanted to share my experience as it is.

It is difficult for me to explain how you can edit the appraiserres.dll file with this article. You can learn about it by watching one of the videos. If you are planning to upgrade to Windows 11 and you couldn't edit the appraiserres.dll file, I can upload and send the file I used myself. However, you must first download and extract the Windows 11 ISO file from the Microsoft site. In the installation files, enter the folder named sources. You will see the appraiserres.dll file in that folder. When you have made the necessary adjustments in the file, you can double-click the setup.exe file and start the upgrade. If you want to edit the file yourself, open the file with notepad. Search for TPM from the Find file menu. Delete the 2 and 3 line TPM commands that appear. Just don't delete the 5 lines that say "TpmVersion". If it doesn't work, you can use the file in the link. This is the file I edited myself. https://e1.pcloud.link/publink/show?code=XZR49JZwKBYXQirtRVsoahV1QpYQSLYXTBy

By the way, welcome to read.cash. I hope you add color and strength to the platform in your useful articles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you the information it's such a big help to us like students. It is great article.. Im newbie here :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you like it. I wanted to share my experience. I'm still a beginner for a year, my friend. Being a beginner is more fun. No problem. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeahhh I'm also a beginner here for 3 days i think hihi nive to meet u here 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not really updated with what's going on with the version of windows these days. If it's not because of your post, I haven't known that there's a Windows 11 already. Thanks by the way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never heard of these types of problems in the upgrade of Windows 7 to Windows 10. But it is also an interesting situation that Windows 11 compulsives TPM 2.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Manyvthanks for sharing this..makes me interested with the version of windowd I have in my pc

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome. I was thinking that I could automatically upgrade the new Windows version. That's why I didn't pay much attention to it. However, I think the new version of Windows is only for new generation computers. It does not offer support for older computers. Actually, my Laptop has pretty powerful hardware. I guess Windows is targeting computers with next generation processors and TPM chip. It looks like all new generation computers will have TPM. Because I predict that most computers will come with Windows 11 in the near future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago