You Don't Want to Hurt Your Kid's Feelings. But….

10 34

While I am working last night and listening to some Youtube videos, I stumbled upon a video titled: What's the most painful thing you've been told?

when you keep criticizing your kids they don’t stop loving you, they stop loving themselves

A comment from the post struck me and made me think for a while.

Our little one is a year old right now, and if you ask me, she is such a sweet girl. She has her moments of being cranky and fussy, but I always try to see the good in her.

I am bad with verbal communication, and more often than not if I open my mouth and say words I am too tactful and don't recognize others. I always think that I am being nice when in reality, it may come across as hurtful or insensitive.

Don’t compare one child to another.

We hate to be compared to other people, but there are times wherein what we hate is being passed on to our children without us knowing we are doing it. When you compare one child to another, you are comparing their differences and not understanding that what works for one may not work for the other. As someone who studied Psychology, we are being thought about the multiple intelligences a person has. One can be good with something but falls short in a different field. We are all different and that’s what makes us special. For example, one may be very good at Mathematics but not that great at English. We need to understand that everyone has their own version of intelligence and we need to appreciate each other’s differences.

I had been compared with my siblings and that left a bad experience for me growing up.

Don’t label a child as good or bad.

You never know what they are capable of, and the only way to find out is by giving them a chance. I know it for a fact as I was once labeled as a "problem child" back in the day. I was always in the computer shop playing computer games and if not, I am in the arcade just waiting for the time to pass. I was never interested in school or anything that had to do with academics.

I lack focus and motivation. My parents were worried about my future as they thought that I will end up being just another person who has nothing to show for their life.

Stop nitpicking every little thing they do.

Yes, they are kids. They will make mistakes and you have to keep in mind that they are still learning. You have to give them a chance to grow, otherwise, they will not be able to learn from their mistakes.

Kids are not just smaller adults; they are different people who need to be treated with respect and kindness. It is important to remember that you were once a kid too, and if you did not have someone who treated you well then maybe that is why you are the way you are. Having said this, do not forget that kids need guidance and discipline. They need to be taught how to behave, how to think, and how to treat others. They are still developing as human beings and they need guidance.

9
$ 2.47
$ 2.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.05 from @sj0820
+ 4

Comments

Bro you stopped writing articles? We are waiting for more

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey. I had been away for quite some time here due to some busyness in life and stuff with Hive hahah but I will be back in the nxt few days. Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment this is appreciated!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

welcome! BTW what is your hive id and what you do there ?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is the thing that I don't want my child to feel; being compared to other kids. I know naman kasi na iba iba ang mga bata. Unfortunate lang dahil minsan may mga toxic oldees sa paligid naming dalawa pero kapag nagba bond kaming dalawa I always tell him gaano sya ka unique and if he's not good at a certain thing, that's fine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have chill parents. Never experienced being compared to. One thing that remember insisting us to study study and study. Thank God we turned out good kids.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is the right move. You know that, sometimes parents are very extreme in keeping their children away from an environment that can't educate them properly. But, being too tight isn't a good thing either.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You know what, I am just so happy that my parents raised us without comparing us to other kids. Or yung maliitin kami at i-down. They never did that. Maybe it's also the reason bakit sobrang laki rin ng respeto at takot namin sa kanila. I promised to myself na ganun din ang way ng pagpapalaki ko sa mga magiging anak ko soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dami ko na ring nasalihang mga parenting webinar before. Yeah, I agree sa mga binanggit mo kuya. Although wala pa kong anak, pero napag practisan ko na yunh bunso kong kapaatid since ang sobrang laki ng age gap namin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Evolution of parents hehe. Well in the time that I'll becomes one. The thing that for sure is never give feeling of what I was in younger days. Drama din kasi childhood ko eh. Comparison and pressure that's the thing will surely avoid

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everyone is unique and had strength and weaknesess and yeah level of intelliegence too as what in Gardner's theory says. Yet comparing children was really something that always happened. It could be good if you are the one who excel but if not? Wala nganga na😂, confidence was lost.

Hehe , when I was still a teen people in our brgy often says " ako daw pinakapangit" sa mga anak ng parents ko,lol😂. So I never see myself na maganda ako😂, kaya buti na lng nagandahan sa akin asawa ko.

But seriously, those negative words really had a big impact!

$ 0.00
1 year ago