Say No to The Things That Don’t Matter ( A Personal Reflection )

6 31

Saying No is hard, though it is a two-letter word it holds a heavy weight for everyone. It also holds true to the things that do not matter to us.

Each time that we say yes to something we say no to other things.

Have you ever felt that you have less time in a day to do all the things that you do?

I always have that dilemma as I try to juggle being a corporate slave, a father, a blogger, a reader, a runner, etc. There are times wherein I find it hard to determine which to be prioritized as I feel that everything is set in prio one. Everything is a priority thus I need to say yes to all.

But one thing I realized is I should not say yes to all and here’s why.

I am working at night and trying to become a content creator after work. In my wee hours, I visit discord to chitchat with some friends. There are times wherein I take my lunch early and hit the sack to somehow rest my mind. Lastly, I spend time reading manga if I am bored.

On my end, I find it “productive” because I can do multiple things at once but am I really being productive as such?

When I say yes to saying yes to chitchatting I say no to working with the reconciliation of books that I am handling.

Each time that I hit the manga streaming site, I say no to other things that I should prioritize.

And so on and so forth, so we go back to each time that we say yes to something. We say no to other things.

What Are The Things That Matter to You?

This has been boggling on my mind from the start of this book. Setting the right priorities and targets. True enough, I have some list that should be prioritized on default but they are not set in stone thus more often than not it is discarded along the way.

Here’s mine in order:

  • Family

  • Finances

  • Leisure

So on this list, I set family as my main priority, second to finances and last is leisure. Family is a no-brainer choice as some of us tend to drop everything each time our family is involved.

Finances and leisure times interchange with one another at times and my most used and abused reasoning is I always work hard so a short break from everything is a must.

We are not rich, I can say that we are getting by on a daily basis without getting hungry. Though my goal is to be free financially my work will not get me there.

Being a corporate warrior will not make you rich. It can bring food to the table and sometimes good food. So this is why I hustle and at times I fail to do such.

Outside the working environment, I am lazy. Do you ever feel that you do not have the energy to do things anymore after work? That is what I am experiencing, and to destress I read manga or even watch some animes. I play at times and usually spend five to six hours a day playing. Statistics on my phone show that I have more or less forty to fifty hours of screen time per week. Almost the same as my time at work.

Do you see where I am headed?

Leisure becomes a priority, then family and last finances. I had some instances wherein my wife said that I am more into my device rather than having time with them which is disheartening to hear. I just excused myself that I am researching and all but it was a bad act on my part.

After realizing what I did, I apologized and promised that will do better this time. Right now, I cut my leisure time and allotted hours after work to take care of them.

8
$ 6.70
$ 6.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
+ 5

Comments

I'm still in the process of saying no hehe. Especially with friends and other relatives.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

yang mga friends talaga ang pasira sa buhay charrr!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Guilty here.. I often play on my phone instead of working. However, I spent those time worthily blogging and interacting. But I sometimes tend to put my health at stake because of such

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Guilty here.. I often play on my phone instead of workin

haha ang boring naman kasi minsan pag nasa work. Nakakaumay needed ng distraction sa stress.

I spent those time worthily blogging and interacting.

Ito madalas kinakatamaran ko gawin lately, sana I can work it out ang hirap kasi talaga kailangan ng matindihang will power.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I learned the art of saying no when I was in senior high school. Saying no sometimes is difficult when there is a heavy weigh of consequences.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I learned the art of saying no when I was in senior high school.

NAOL. Ang hirap ng na train ka to please other people, yung expectation to deliver sa kanila was crazy. Conditioning palang nuong bata is a mess. O dapat ang sagot lang ay "opo" mga ganun pag nag no ka rude na agad.

Pag naman panay yes ka na abuso naman hahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago