How Did You Introduce Cryptocurrency to Family Members?

18 30

According to data on cryptocurrency ownership in the Philippines surveying internet users it reflects that we ranked 10 out of 27 with the countries that are sampled. I can say that it is high compared to the previous years but still, some conservatives still do not believe in the concept of internet money.

Faster Remittance Services

Filipinos may be overseas or within the country find remitting money a hassle at times as they experience multiple issues, fees, and delays. In one of our experiences, as we are waiting for funds from someone outside the country, a family of ours used the default method which is bank transfer.

Bank transfers usually take a day or two and sometimes get delayed if the transaction will fall on a holiday or weekend. I can attest to this one as I am a debt collector since I started working and holidays and weekends mess up my accounting books each time that I need to report the collected amounts that I have accumulated.

As a way to lessen the fees and the downtime, I have asked my friend if there's a remittance center available that converts their money into crypto and luckily there's one in their place. Take note that I am just familiar with BTC, ETH, XRP, and Hive tokens and other cryptos are not on my radar.

Since BTC takes some time to be received and ETH gas fees are sometimes astronomically high. I told my friend to just use XRP for the transaction. Still, they are hesitant to do such as there might be some errors entering the data, etc. but after sending the QR code to where it can be sent after a few seconds I got the money.

Way faster than waiting for the clearing of funds via online banking. Now as his convenience every transaction that we are processing is via XRP as the cost per transfer is less than a dollar too!

The downside of using Crypto

As for me, the downside that I am seeing is the prone to human error especially if information needed is to be entered manually. Each transaction should be checked and double-checked as if it was sent successfully if it was erroneous it cannot be reverted again. ( I do remember sending some funds in error in the past and sad to say I wasn't able to retrieve them anymore. ) As a way to make everything error-free on my side, I do a small number of transactions first to make sure that funds are processed correctly then the big batch is sent after confirmation.

Aside from that, since it is now being regulated identification cards should be given not following the KYC procedure will limit the transactions, especially withdrawals and in a country like ours you need to have a valid ID to get another valid ID, it is a hassle.

Overall I think selling the benefits will help everyone in the faster adoption of crypto. Though it is good to say that they can invest money and it will grow in the future, some people are still skeptical about that and will proceed on just the old age investment paraphernalia.

How about you how did you introduce cryptocurrency to some of your friends?

Photo by Kanchanara on Unsplash

11
$ 2.96
$ 2.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @Eunoia
+ 5

Comments

napost nga po ni mama noon na when i first introduced hive to them they were doubtful to the point na binabantayan din nila ako kung hindi naman ba ako nagpopost ng mga naked pictures hahahaha sobrang tawa ko na lang doon tapos sabi ko nalang i trust myself so let them trust me nalang din po ganoon, tapos ayon ngayon sobrang comfy na tas napagsasabihan ko sila ng mga ganap ganap about the cryptoverse hindi nga lang sila sumasali kasi wala raw time eme

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I try to introduce it to my father but he is skeptical about it and I am not surprised. I do not blame him because I was in the same state when I first heard of crypto. My sister slowly understand the concept though when I introduce her NFTs.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ang hirap minsan iexplain sa kanila haha. Si papa Alam nya crypto kasi Yung boss nya manager sa axie Dati. Ineexplain ko pa sa kanya bakit volatile haha. Yung law of supply and demand Ganon 🤣

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Hahha ayan ang mahirap i explain nga - yung mga trends trends lol basta bumababa tumataas ganern.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it was my brother who introduced me to the crypto space... at first, i thought i was just blogging and earning, I wished he was also able to advise me not to sell my earned btc at that time. that was year 2014

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I wished he was also able to advise me not to sell my earned btc at that time. that was year 2014

Nako sayang nga anu! Mayaman na sana lalo pero wala na tayo magagawa payaman nalang tayo now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahah tama sakit sa heart nalang naiwan hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have experienced the hassle of sending money to the wrong address and it wasn't possible to get it back. That's why am always vigilant when am making a transaction online.

As for my family members, I simply told them I have some free internet money for them, which will require them, having an online wallet, my cousin quickly said, she has a bank account.. I couldn't stop laughing, as it was funny.. And so I started sending them internet money..and that was how they came to knowledge of crypto

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Have experienced the hassle of sending money to the wrong address and it wasn't possible to get it back. That's why am always vigilant when am making a transaction online.

Sorry to hear about the experience. Totoo to, kaya sobrang hirap ako magprocess ng transaction online. Usually pag crypto at may QR code, qr ang gamit ko para surebol na di ako magkamali.

Internet money - mukhang maganda nga yan na info to share. Thanks for sharing!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

lucky us that banks still not so much in strict interm of financials, also the company coin.ph has a great impact talaga sa crypto sa pinas. Most of us doon naka introduce ang crypto eh, the loading and remitance talaga perks of crypto sa atin.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oo ayan pa nako yung coins.ph sobrang saya nyan noon may pa free silang 50 PHP pag na verify ginawang raket ng ibang onliners din as referral.

Sana nga di ganun ka strict ang lahat in the future para mas okay ang adoption rate natin. Ang galing na equalizer for everyone talaga ni crypto.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I actually introduced bch to some members of my family. Ayun ilang months lang sila, then nag quit na haha. That time kasi mga October or November ata mataas pa si bch tas nung nag December, unti unti ng bumaba.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahah nako I can relate there's a ton of folks na we tried to teach pero I stopped na muna. Bear market pa naman, kaya I find some ways to check what I can do to incorporate crypto.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm, I tried to my sister but di niya pinatos re. Busy sa work. Actually si read ang inintroduce ko sa kanya. Diko gaanong pinaliwanag kasi di rin ako maalam mag explain hahahaha.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yung iba ko ding kakilala I tried pero wala eh, sila na ang well off na pamilya na di kailangan ng extra funds.

Pagdating sa mga tokens etc wala din akong idea super noob pa ako kaya I only share kung ano ang alam ko. Pagdating sa investments bala sila dyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

parang maganda nga yang way of transfer, lalo if less ung fee, pwede pa ihold if di naman urgent. my father introduced crypto to us when he discovered noisecash while he's trading with friends, kasi he knows I'm into blogging tapos ayun na, tuloy tuloy na. Ang sister ko naman, part ng course niya is about crypto kaya we talk about it din at home.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow family affair ang crypto knowledge! Ayos yan. Yes maganda ang pag tra transfer din via crypto kaso nga lang volatile sa changes at amount. So dapat agad agad ma convert into fiat para di ganun kaliit ang loss kung bumaba ang presyo. Pero kung tumaas naman ang price jackpot!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana nga noon pa ako nagkainterest nung pinapatype kami ng captcha in exchange for some xrp and when my father taught us about bitcoin hahaha I was in high school back then kaso di ko sineryoso, sayang!

$ 0.00
1 year ago