A Glimpse of the Province Life

13 44

This happened on the weekend of February and since I don't have many pictures of the area I will be sharing a short story.

Saturday morning, it was supposed to be a small walking exercise for us with my wife as we talked about eating at a nearby ( 20 mins walk carinderia ) in our place.

As we started walking, as usual, we talk about our plans in life and possible steps that we need to do to improve our relationship and the future of our child which is normal for couples to talk about.

While we were eating we heard a familiar sound calling us and as we search where it was we knew that it was Tatay Lando (April's father) calling her granddaughter. He was selling some of his harvested sweet potatoes in the area and the eatery where we are eating is one of his regulars.

After some chit-chats, we decided to join Tatay in going to his sibling's place as it was a "walking distance" ( 15+ mins walk again) and we have talked about visiting them before but never had the chance as we do not know the way to get there from our place.

In my almost 2 months of stay in the province, I am getting used to seeing pineapples and coconut trees that are within reach. What peeked on my attention are the mahogany trees that is surrounding our pathway.

It was a sight and the peaceful vibes that it gives is something that I appreciate. Though at the back of my mind some horror stories pop up like a ghost may show up or a character from a serial killer series may be hiding waiting for prey. Such scenery isn't that available from my place as farmlands and other agricultural areas are changed into residential houses.

Though it was 7 or 8 already in the morning, heat from the sun isn't that hurtful to the skin most because the breeze coming from the wind is helping out in maintaining the coolness.

We arrived at April's aunts' and uncles' place and immediately our daughter was kidnapped by them. It was expected as they are always waiting for us and asking April why there's no new video uploaded on Facebook relating to our child. For more than 2 hours we stayed and had talks with everyone until the sky gets dim and a few drops of rain started to fall.

Before it gets heavy we bid goodbye and left the place and while walking the sun shows itself again making light into our paths.

While we are walking I noticed that the coconuts in the area are not as tall as I was expecting. The usual trees that I saw back then were at least 2-story buildings or more but this one isn't that high and if I would try I cab climb it. Aaron mentioned that there were 2 variants of coconut trees planted before, the first one is the one that I am familiar with and the other is the one currently planted. The high ones were cut down to give way to such trees. I said that the reason why the trees are small is that the old trees cursed the land making the new breeds smaller. I forgot the reason why they were replaced btw as I was focused on justifying my claim that there's a curse in the area.

As we go and walk our way back to our home some of the carabaos are blocking the way. Though they are tied with the rope still something is telling me that they are dangerous and my hunch is correct while passing the area one of the carabaos that we saw started to sound like an agitated old man depending on his place. Afraid of something that happen, I tried to search for an alternative way to cross but there was none as there were pineapple plants blocking the way. Good thing Aaron's familiar with handling such a beast and he immediately shooed away the carabao.

When we arrived home, we took a small bite showered a little bit to remove some of the dirt that we accumulated along the way, and talk about how slow pacing our life is right now. Compared to how our life before near the metro area I realized that the place that we are in right now is a great place to start a small family. Without the gadgets and noises, folks can enjoy and pass their days enjoying the company of everyone and enjoying nature which we plan to do in the next few days as we will go on a picnic on my rest day

.

9
$ 3.30
$ 3.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.03 from @Cleophia2
+ 6

Comments

Province life is really priceless. I love seeing the greenery views in there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woww I have never seen pineapple and coconut trees yet I am inspired by the beauty of your locality.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iba talaga sa province kaya karamihan na gusto mag paghinga mula sa city life ay dumadayo pa sa iba't ibang province.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga medyo yung convenience lang na mayroon tayo from the city di natin makukuha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

super nice! sarap talaga pag andaming coconut trees

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Look at that. What a good life in the Province. Sang Province po ito kuya? Ang ganda nung sceneries. Wait, guess ko sa Quezon po ba to? Hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mali ka dito lang sa San Pablo ito. haha sarap buhay dito kesa sa Binan wala lang masakyan na trike.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What I loved about province life is that fruits are free hehe. Guava, coconut and many more, and yeah I agreed with Ms. @Lhes Marites chronicles is heat. 😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yung marites chronicles di ko pa naman na e experience sa ngayon. Minsanan lang ako makalabas ng bahay. Free ang pinya sa amin ngayon pag may harvest ang inlaws ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

With those mahogany and coconuts trees your place reminds me of my home.

It is really nice to settle in country side, the only thing I hate are the " Marites". Sobrang lala

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow ang ganda ng area sa niyogan. Maganda talaga pag sa province nakatira, mas peaceful ang paligid at fresh lahat ng makikita.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

totoo yan kaya okay na okay ang lagay namin now dito sa area, di naman nakakapag sisi na umalis sa city gawa ng benefits nito.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

what a beautiful life in the province. if ever the provinces have higher wage, then i know people will not go to manila to work. there's so much wonderful in the province.

$ 0.00
1 year ago