Warning!!! Parents, be careful!

19 42
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Last night, my daughter almost struck by our wardrobe.

We all have our own tv to watch our program. And while me and my Mum in the living room watching the news my daughter was in her room watching cartoons. When suddenly we heard a big bang! But because of it usually happens when she's dropping some toys I didn't rush up. Then she came out in a hurry and look terrified don't know what to say but able to tell me "It falls!" in a shaky tone. Wondering what she's talking about, I went to the room and check it out only to see the state of it.

The first thing I did was to run to Tia and hug her check if there is something wrong and ask if she gets hurt. She just cried don't want to say anything. But I don't see any bruise, nothing.

Then I showed Mum the room. The wardrobe fall. And that luckily upon falling its doors opens and stop it from falling in the ground. But all the boxes at the top has fallen. Every box is heavy as they are full of documents and other stuff.

And she was watching just beside it. She's so lucky that I can't stop saying "Thank you Lord for protecting my child!"

We still are puzzled what happened for she doesn't want to say anything. So I'm thinking she hides in the wardrobe like how she's playing earlier on and must trigger the wardrobe to fall or the boxes are too heavy and tilted to its fall while my daughter trying to get out from the wardrobe.

Here's the room with the wardrobe still in it. We got scared of what had happened so we take off the boxes on the top and we will take this wardrobe out of the room. She said she won't hide or play inside the wardrobe anymore.

My daughter is now without a trace of shock and already back in her room watching her program.

I wrote this so you fellow parents are cautious of the environment on where your child is in even if it's in the comfort of your home. Most of the child accident happened inside their house. From small burn, bruises, trips and falls to worst thing like choking, suffocation, poisoning or drowning.

I remembered watching the news about a 1-year-old baby was strangled to death by a blind cord. That's the reason why I don't let my child play with our blinds while up in the coach. It is really scary.

My nephew when he's barely a year old suddenly grab the electric kettle cord and the boiling water pour on top of him. The scar still there and he's now 11.

My other nephew while playing with tweezers suddenly stick the tweezers in the power socket causing it to spark and short circuit. The tweezer was burnt and luckily nothing happened to him only a bit of shock.

I know we can't watch our children all the time. Just seconds that you turn around and sometimes something already happened. But hopefully, this serves as a warning. Check things that have a potential of falling and places with locks that they might suddenly try to hide. Always keep dangerous things up, the washing powder and medication tablets. My daughter took some of my pills on the thought it is some sort of sweets and it's my fault.

And don't be too confident that your child won't do this or touch that because they don't usually do it. Always treat everything with caution. An accident does happen in a snap! Please be warned.

Thank you.

@tired_momma

17
$ 0.02
$ 0.01 from @Snezana28
$ 0.01 from @PVMihalache
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Comments

Thanks to God and nothing happened to her. Although it was traumatic, at least she learned something and decided to be careful next time, not to play in the wardrobe.

I'm very attentive to my children, I want to always keep an eye on them. Maybe I'm just thinking so advance, that if I'm not giving attention to them something bad will happen. But we can't always put our time and attention 24/7, but we can make our environment, or places hazard-free. Thanks for sharing this with us, all parents and carers of children must be mindful of this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It makes me paranoid. But we really can't look after them all the time because we have loads to do as well. But at least if you know where they are and see what they're doing you're at least being at ease. Thank you mommy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Besides the fact you most likely didn't build it together in a proper way, these type of wardrobes is not build to play in, at, climb on, or swing at the doors. Perhaps it is a good idea to watch television together, share and enjoy life as a family, discuss what you watch. This is part of raising children too. We have one tv and watch together if we watch at all. No problem since everything is a rehearsal 24/7.

Good Tia decided not to play in the wardrobe anymore.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah dear, I know. We usually watch her cartoon in the morning but when the news is on she goes to her playroom to watch her own. And yes she said she won't hide in there again but she did again lol. Thank you dear 😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Totally agreed.... We should always be watchful about children as they are highly curious and they can never be neglected

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And there are really times you're just there beside them and still you really can't watch them enough. Seconds out of sight and on silence, that's the time we run! And surprise!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it's very hard to child-proof your living area...so many common hazards that get overlooked. good advice!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And I thought I'm not on this stage anymore for she's 4. But then again I'm 30 still tripping and falling 😆 But they're kids they don't see danger. I learned to stop saying be careful instead I say be safe. Does it make sense?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

children are very curious and it is in their nature, I remember when my daughter was small, about 10 months old, she was obsessed with trying to eat a small stone

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My daughter never ever put anything on her mouth just for that one time that she took my pill and almost empty a whole pack and the horror of our face trying to phone the GP. Luckily didn't do it any harm. But it really works us up. And that's true their always curious! A bit scary have to watch them 24/7

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yap, must think like they think and predict everything

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is very useful advice to protect children from unexpected happenings. For some, there will no be explanation, and children safety is on first place!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not easy dear but have to do what we have to do. Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome and keep posting good stuff..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your advice.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago