Unsolved Mystery: Death of Elisa Lam

25 81
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

While browsing the Netflix I saw this on the trending page "CRIME SCENE The Vanishing at the Cecil Hotel" which sounds familiar to me. I can't remember how so I play it and then I realize it's her, the girl in the elevator which go viral in 2013 as she went missing at the Cecil Hotel and the shocking find of her body.

Elisa Lam Story

Credit: Netflix/LAPD

Elisa was 21 years old when she disappeared in 2013 at the Cecil Hotel in downtown Los Angeles. She is a Canadian student and travelling alone across the US at the time.

She was reported missing by her family when they find it strange when they didn't hear anything from her. So the police investigate.

Strange Behavior at the Elevator

The last moments that Elisa Lam was seen alive was caught at the CCTV footage at the hotel's elevator which was released by LA police. You will see in the video that Elisa steps in and out and keep checking the hallways and did it several times as if someone in there.

One last time, you will see her standing outside the elevator as if she was talking to someone unseen and making these creepy hand gestures. And that's the last time she was seen alive, she was never seen again.

Her Body Was Found

Credit: Reuters

Finally, her body was found 19 days after she was reported missing. This was after guests in the hotel complained about the low water pressure and the foul smell and weird taste of the water. The hotel manager told the maintenance.

The hotel maintenance checked the water tank at the roof and saw Elisa's body floating. The police arrived at the scene. She still has the same clothes when she was missing and all her belongings were inside the tank. Her body was in decomposition state

The Infamous Cecil Hotel

Credit: AFP-Getty

The Cecil Hotel was not a typical hotel. It has already had a bad reputation before Elisa's death. It has a history of suicides, overdoses, and several killers had stayed in this hotel.

And the fact that it was in the centre of downtown LA which has a massive homelessness problem. People are living on the streets. The police looking at this angle as well.

My questions before was:

How did she get into the tank?

Is there someone outside the elevator?

What is that weird hand gestures mean?

Is supernatural have to do with her death?

Did she do it herself because she's hallucinating, the fact that she has bipolar disorder?

And thinking that some guests in the hotel drink water and use the water from the tank with her decomposing body is really disturbing.

CRIME SCENE The Vanishing at the Cecil Hotel is available to watch now on Netflix.

This is a docuseries with four episodes. I haven't seen it yet. Maybe I will tonight. What's new, any updates? I don't really know if they will find the truth about her death but everyone wants to know,

What really happened to Elisa Lam?

Thank you for reading.

Tell me, have you already seen this on Netflix, what's new?

Cheers!

Created by: @christabella

15
$ 7.69
$ 6.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @idiosyncratic
$ 0.10 from @Omar
+ 9
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Comments

That so sad story sis πŸ’”πŸ˜₯ There is still a lot to do from right of female. Now a days it is unbearable to go outside at late at night anywhere. That's make me so sad when I read or listen such a sadness

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't even been watching murder documentaries these days :"" don't even have the time but tell me what happened!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I won't spoil you, but the documentary will say it all. I have already watched the four episodes of the documentary, ate. It's worth the watch, but I don't think the ending would satisfy you πŸ˜‚πŸ˜ basta panoorin mo ate. Hihi

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Sige thank you, I will watch it now. So wala talagang ending, speculations pa rin? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

May ending ate, kaso marami pa ring questions sa ending. Gawan mo ng article ate after mo panoorin ha. Hihi 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just watched a lot of videos about this the other day, I actually remember it happening, I live on the otherside of the country but the whole situation was pretty weird, I mean, finding her in the water supply after around 21 days, could you imagine? People literally drunk and bathed in bodily fluids, ugh... sad thing is, only her an the person or persons involved will ever know...

I disagree with suicide, someone killed her and put the body in there. There police should have found the body on day 1, provided they did have a rogue police officer running around the county killing police officers during that time frame as well...

This case caught the world's attention for sure... oh, I do think the video was altered and the police could have done so much more, in all honesty, the killer was probably a worthless drug addict whom hopefully already died a miserable death worse than Elisa or at best, I hope he already used his third strike and is serving life in prison...

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Imagine them police searched the hotel even the roof but didn't bother to check the tank. If they did, there could be more clues.

Yes, I heard about the video being altered. This went viral yes all over the world. Even at work, we all keep talking about it and having our own speculation way back 2013 when she was first reported missing.

You think there's someone behind it while me thinking she's not in the right state of mind at that time and something inside her telling her to go swim. And she went to the roof climb the ladder to the tank, tried to open the hatch and jump coz she thinks that a swimming pool.

Well, I got that idea after watching Columbo, the girl jumps from her balcony (I can't remember what floor) to the pool down in front of his balcony because she thought she feels hot and wants to swim. She even takes off her clothes. Someone told her to do that while on medication.

Elisa's story went viral again this time, still so many speculations and still a mystery.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The psychological variations of the acts we all got in mind are absurd! I think you are squeezing yourself too tight into this corner of suspense. Breathe and let it all be, the universe will direct you better. Your daily routine article was a real treat πŸ˜πŸ˜… on that saving tip....πŸ˜‰πŸ˜…πŸ˜πŸ˜‰

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I'm the type that would rather move on. It's just that it went viral again and my curiousity kicks in again. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very mysterious and passionate, I read that he was not found on his mobile phone .... Some also doubted the autopsy findings because it was not clear whether the girl was raped or not.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I don't think they can see anything with the autopsy after 19 days in the water but still it's really a mystery and I'm also curious about the truth of her death.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello sissy! I do not have seen this episodes on Netflix.I do not have this program.But,while I was reading your article about this girl I became curious what had actually happened to her.How will episodes ends.Please let us know sissy. I watch similar episodes on ID channel.All stories are very sad because always some person died.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Dear, did you get your account sorted? It stills in spam comment. How are you doing? I will watch it tonight and I will tell you but as @jeaneth said, they think it's her bipolar disorder and many more speculations, still a mystery.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sissy they did not replay to me yet.I think I will write them again.Thanks for your support.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I had never read about this story. It's quite disturbing. And that they were drinking and using that stagnant water with a prutefact body is really disturbing. I have read it of other cases of the use of water with corpses inside the tank for public use on the one hand. and on the other hand that nothing is known about death is also much more horrible.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Yes, I couldn't imagine myself. I don't think I will be able to eat after that. It went viral in 2013 and everyone in my work was talking about it. And now it's viral again. But still remains a mystery.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It would be good to know if the authorities discovered anything else ... I don't know how a person with so many emotional problems strays so far from where his family is.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I know, I'll watch it tonight, see what they say. But she has bipolar disorder and on medications as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's quite strange 😢 I have not heard of it before and actually, I have no idea over the reasons behind her attitudes there πŸ˜‘

Really weird...

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Oh my goodness, thank you so much dear for your generous tip! 😍

Did you see her in the elevator and imagine you drinking the tap water from the hotel and find out her dead body was in there. 😱

She gives me creeps.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The case is really sad btw :( I feel pitty for those who drank water at these days :I

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My sister has watched this already and I asked her about it and said that it was just her bipolar disorder. A lot of speculation rose though but I can't enumerate it since I haven't watched it yet. There's a person who was accused of the issue though.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Me too, coz I can remember watching in Columbo, the girl jump from her room to the pool because she's in such state. I think the creepy hand gestures are like she wants to go swimming and was directed by herself in the water tank. And she thought it's a pool. You know something like that. But everyone has their speculations, who knows really what's the truth?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly. It's still a mystery at the end of the day πŸ€·β€β™€οΈπŸ€”

$ 0.00
3 years ago