Types, Facts and Benefits of Massage

71 222
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Massage is one of the worlds oldest remedial therapies and its health benefits are endless. There are days especially when we're stressed or our body is in pain that we want to have a good massage.

Have a lie-down.

Can you feel me now?

What is Massage?

Massage is the rubbing and kneading of muscles and joints of the body with the use of hands to bring relaxation and relief of pain and tension.

Massage Therapist is what you called the one who's trained to give you a massage.

Types of Massage

Have you ever been into the Spa and you were asked what kind of massage are you getting? And you were like thinking about it and just say, "Just any massage to make me feel better!" Well, that's me on my first time. I didn't know there are many types of it. Oh well! Here you go for the first-timers, here's to chose from.

Swedish Massage Therapy

This is the type of massage ideal if you have lots of tension, sensitive to touch or new to massage. Swedish massage provides muscle relaxation and best if you're recovering from injury.

Massage Therapist use combination of strokes:

  • Effleurage which is long smooth strokes

  • Petrissage is the kneading and rolling

  • Friction is when they stroke you in small circular motions

  • Supplement and

  • Vibration which is the shaking and rocking strokes

If you're new to massage I suggest you try Swedish Massage first.

Aromatherapy Massage

This is the type of massage ideal in relieving pain and muscle tension, insomnia, boost your mood and reduce depression, stress and anxiety.

Aromatherapy is the type of massage that uses essential oil and is popular nowadays. The scent of the essential oils influence our brain and have been studied that its effective in adjusting person mood.

Let your massage therapist know your preferences and most of the time he/she will decide what's best for you. And please remember to inform your therapist before receiving an aromatherapy massage if you're allergic into some of essential oils or plants so it not cause you skin reaction.

Before receiving an aromatherapy massage, make sure you're not allergic to any of the plants used in the oils, since it may cause a skin reaction.

Shiatsu Massage

This is the type of massage ideal in promoting emotional and physical relaxation, relieving stress, anxiety and depression, relieving headache and reduces muscle tension.

Shiatsu in Japanese means "finger pressure". So this type of massage uses firm pressure to stimulate acupressure points on the body. This finger pressure help regains balance and improves the flow of energy in our body.

Thai Massage

This is the type of massage that improves back pain, reduce anxiety and aligning the energies of our body.

Thai massage is a traditional healing therapy that combines yoga postures, acupressure and the Indian Ayurvedic principles. The therapist will be stretching and twisting you into various positions.

If it's your first time getting a massage don't go for Thai Massage. I'm telling you, the Thai one feels like the therapist is breaking your bone. And stretching sometimes really sore. But afterwards, it will make you feel so much better. And the cracking of neck and body is very satisfying if you're used to it.

Prenatal Massage

This is the type of massage that helps reduce stress, ease muscle tension and pregnancy body pains. Every pregnant woman needs this but not on their first trimester.

Prenatal massage promotes relaxation since women suffer from all sort of pains especially lower back pain and swollen ankles. This is safe and provides amazing relief to pregnant women.

Couples Massage

This is the type of massage that you can do with your partner, family or friends in the same room. Aside from the massage, you can also have access to saunas and other facilities and treatments like manicure and pedicure, facials and body scrubs.

Chair Massage

This is the type of massage you'll want if you're in a rush. It promotes relaxation and helps relieves stress.

A chair massage focuses on your back, neck and shoulder. This is popular in malls and shops too. If you're new in massage then you can try the Chair Massage.

And this is what you called Couple Chair Massage. 😂 My husband is very ticklish so he doesn't like a massage in the spa.

Hot Stone Massage

This is a therapeutic type of massage ideal for those who suffer from muscle pain and tension. It eases the muscle tension, relieves the pain and improves your blood flow using heated stones.

Hot Stone Massage is similar to Swedish only it uses hot stones which are made from basalt.

Please make sure to check on your doctor if you can get a hot stone massage if you have certain medical conditions.

Deep Tissue Massage

This is the type of massage ideal for chronic pain such as injury, soreness or imbalance or lots of muscle tension. It can also help relieve anxiety and tight muscle.

Deep Tissue Massage is more intense than Swedish so you might want to avoid this if you're sensitive to pressure.

Sports Massage

This is the type of massage ideal for treating injuries, enhancing athletes performance, improve flexibility and for faster recovery.

Sports massage strokes are normally faster than the Swedish massage. The therapist may also do some pressure point therapy, friction, compression and joint mobilization.

Massage Facts

  • Did you know that 1-hour massage has the same effect as 7-8 hour of sleep on our body?

  • Did you know that touch is the first sense to develop in the humans and one of the last one to fade?

  • Did you know that Office Workers who get a massage are more alert and perform better than those who are not?

  • Did you know that experts estimate that stress is responsible for 80-90% of disease and that stress can be relieved through relaxation massage therapy?

  • Did you know that massage improves the health of our body's largest organ which is the skin?

  • Did you know that the human body has approximately 5 million touch receptors with more than 3000 in a single fingertip?

Did you know that? Now you know.

Benefits of Massage

So let us try to enumerate some of the massage benefits:

  • It helps to relieve pain

  • It gives you better sleep

  • It helps improve posture

  • It helps to promote healing

  • It helps remove toxins in our body

  • It keeps our muscle healthy

  • It enhances blood circulation

  • It improves flexibility

  • It strengthens our immune system

  • It improves our mood

  • It alleviates back pain

  • It reduces carpal tunnel syndrome

And so on.

This is what we normally do with my office mates before getting a massage. Soak your feet in water to clean it up. I get it twice a month before when I was working. It helps my back pain sitting on the chair for hours and it rubs my stress away.

I love getting a massage. Maybe it started with my parents. When we were young and sick my Mama will massage our back with vicks or coconut oil. We have our traditional massage its called "hilot". And whenever we're not right we just go get a massage/hilot and we're better the next day!

When I get my first massage in Thailand I was like, Oh my goodness gracious, I wanna take her home with me. I love bigger built therapist because I love hard massage. But the stretching at first you want to run because it's just too much for your body most especially if you're not doing exercise, yoga or stretching. So they basically bending you in different positions.

Here's a funny experience. Read this.

The second time I had my massage in Turkey I didn't tell what kind of massage I'm getting and when I get change in their changing room I take off everything and when I was lying down naked with the towel covering me up, I just come to my senses that I was supposed to have my underwear on. So I hurried up before the therapist came to go back to the changing room to put on my undies.

And the most fun part? He's doing a sensual massage! So you better tell the therapist what massage you're getting. And that was my first male therapist. 😅

Here are my tips for you to get the most out of your massage

• Don't eat right before a massage. At least one or a couple of hours and only a light meal.

• Report any discomfort during the massage. You are the boss. Communicate with your therapist, if it's too hard or you want him/her to put more pressure.

• Don't get up as soon as you finish your massage, you will feel dizzy or lightheaded after.

• You have to inform your massage therapist if you are allergic to any oils or lotion before he/she started the massage.

• Drink after the massage. You have to stay hydrated. Most of the spa offers you a cup of tea or water after the service.

And I will end this up with this,

They say you can't buy happiness but then I buy a massage and it's kind of the same thing. And sometimes the most productive thing you can do is to breathe and relax. So breathe deep and relax my dear.

Cheers!

Do you need a massage now and what kind of message would you like?

What's your favourite type of massage?

Have you got any unforgettable massage experience? Comment below!

38
$ 5.71
$ 5.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @RaemaKhan
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
+ 6
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Comments

In my almost 30 years, I've been to a massage only 1-2 times. I don't know why people like massage so much. I always feel stressed and uncomfortable even when thinking about a massage.

$ 0.00
2 months ago

I don’t know why you have such a strange attitude towards massage, but for me it’s really a very good way to relax, relieve body and muscles tension. Now there are different types of massage. Maybe you should try something new? You might be interested in erotic massage https://sweettouch.fr/info/couple-massage. At this link you can learn more about couples massage, so if you have a partner you don't mind spending time with this way, it could also be a great idea for a date.

$ 0.00
2 months ago

Personally, I don't like going to massage. Now I better understand the benefits of massage and what my body and mind get through massage. I like the way you write, I laughed when I read the part about underwear :D :D :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i love your stories that you share...i almost fell off my chair laughing about the underwear! 🤣🤣🤣

besides that, it's a great article! maybe i'll stick with swedish massage when i get one...Lol!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

🙈🙈🙈 I told you, you have to tell them what kind of massage you're getting! And don't take off your pants! 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you give the best advice! 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't like massages ;;-;; the few times i tried, i got a fever the days after. I exercise but my body doesn't like massages, i guess

$ 0.01
3 years ago

My first time in our traditional hilot with our neighbour, my body turned purple-black the next morning. And my body was so sore. Our body has different reaction and maybe not just the right massage for you that's why you didn't like it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh that happened to me too. There was a local old man that did hilot whenever we weren't feeling well but the next day i just end up bruised and more sick than i originally was. I can't understand why old people love massages so much til now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My husband massages me and he works perfectly well for me, and we also have a hand massager at home, better known as Ceragem, which is filled with jade

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I heard that before. I only have foot massage but I would love to have a chair massage. Haha husbands and wife are our special therapist lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm sorry I don't have time to go for massages, because they are really relaxing. I was only on a facial massage once, and I was thrilled. I had a severe headache then which simply disappeared due to the massage.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

That's nice to know! A good massage can make as so much better and relieves whatever pain we are experiencing maybe not the brokenhearted one haha. Sometimes we have to pamper ourselves right?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Even those with a broken heart can be distracted a bit .... In any case, there are no side effects :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I need a massage too to relax 😌

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like the way you talk about massage and it is important to relax muscles and get out stress from human body. I recently was in hydro massage pool and 20 minutes of that therapy was like a haven. I was in sauna too, but I can hold in there for 20 minutes, I think I would melt or stop breathing.. One of that two. Thank you for this article. Remind me about mine therapy. I should try hand massage.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me, i had hilot po before, kc puro lmig na po ang ktwan q dati kya lging msama po ang pkramdam q n guess i needed one again po, lol, i prefer soft massage o hilot po but my aunt who do that for me po before do a have hilot po sa akin, same with my brother but after that, mganda n mgaan na po pkramdam q

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Ako lagi ring lamigin kaya lagi akong nagpapahilot o kaya lagi akong may lamig kasi lagi akong nagpapahilot haha. Masarap ang hilot sa atin. Lalo na yung matatanda. Ang galing humagod!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Opo, mskit po sa likod kpag puro lamig na po ung likod nyo, prang ang bigat, ngaun po, hinahanap-hanap na po ng ktwan q ung hilot, aq po dati puro lmig dhil sa akin po nktambay ung electric fan po sa work dhil mainit po dun n ntutuyuan po aq ng pwis kc dati, pg sobra na po pla ung lamig sa katawan eh mgkakasakit din po pla kau

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I loved it! Good work! Bless up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Massages are a part of my life.At least once a year I treat myself with 10 massages in a row..I always go to a swedish massage.After these masagess my body is reborn and my skin is silky.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

That's very nice to know that you love massage like I do and that's true your body feels like its been reborn! And you feel like a totally new person! Cheers to that!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I only tried the chair massage, when the virus is over I will go to the spa, I want to pamper myself sometimes 🤣

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes! You should and you deserve it. Pero ying chair massage talaga ansarap!!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo yun lang na try ko lage chair massage eh, nakaka antok yun bhe haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your massage experiences are hilarious. I also remembered my childhood, when we used to go to my mother with pain, she used to massage us with Vicks or oil. I had a massage in my pregnancy but in the last few months. But my husband gives a great massage until he has learned something.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha, you're the only one who reads that dear. I will never forget that. I'm so embarrassed. 😅 See they do the Vicks and oil massage too! That's very nice to know! I never had a massage while pregnant because of my high-risk pregnancy but I have my brothers to give me one! My husband very good at massage too learn some technique in Thailand. Maybe if I get the opportunity I will learn the proper Thai Massage.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have heard somewhere Thia massage is more effective when it comes to reducing the stress. I would love to do this Thai massage.👍👍👍

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you dear. What kind of massage you have in Nepal?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When I go to the hairdresser to have my haircut which costs around $1.1, the barber gives me an extra good massage which is so enjoyable.🤣🤣🤣🤣 Head massage with loud neck cracks by the barber is so pleasant to do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You got yourself a bargain!!! 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Naku hilot hilot lang samin, mahal pa spa kasi. Gusto ko sana yung Couple Massage kaso wala nga pala akong jowa, couple sana 🙁🙁😕

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hahaha.. Bhe yung sa mall na massage chair talo talo na yun! 😅 saka ka na magcouple at baka dumami kayo! 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahahahaha, yon lang. Tiis nalang muna na magisa ano, haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't tried that because I easily feel ticklish. But I got a 'granny massage' every time I'm sick, and I always laugh everytime she gives me a massage because it feels so ticklish 😅

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Very like my husband that's why it makes me mad everytime I TOUCH no pressure yet he already reacting like a worm 😂 Masarap hilot ng matanda sa Batangas hahanap hanapin!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Grabe yung last massage ko. Sakit ng katawan ko 🤣🤣 hard massage yun

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Nafeel ko yun! Tunog pa lang tunog masakit na madam😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga hard 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was at a relax massage a month ago. Relax massage is a gentle, pleasant, manual massage which, by uniting the flow of energy, achieves relaxation of the organism.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have never been in a spa massage,mga hilot hilot lang sa bahay, hehehe.. Though na try ko na yun massage chair sa mall..

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha, the massage chair is the best and mura pa! Sanay kasi ako kakadala sakin ni mama ko sa manghihilot at albularyo. Saka tapal tapal bhe hihi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True, yung tapal tapal talaga yun nagdadala dun😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've neven been into a spa. Whwever I feel a body pain or muscle pain, I will just take a med or sometimes I'll jusy shrugg it off.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Salame I can understand that because you're still young. When you get on our age 🙈 you would want massage not just tablets.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ive only had a massage by my wife, but hoping I would go for professional body massaging someday. It relaxes ones muscle and makes you feel relaxed.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes, because the ambience and the aroma in the spa are very relaxing and they play this background music as if it's hypnotizing you. Try it dear when you can!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would like a couple massage with my wife :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've always wanted to go to a spa for a professional massage, I'm very curious about it. Excellent topic dear friend, besides being informative it is very pleasant to read.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Please take the opportunity when you can and get yourself a good massage. You deserve it! 😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Someday I'll do it, it's one of my to-do's on my bucket list 😎✅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My dear, I read your post regarding the family. I pray for healing and safety of everyone. I'm very pleased to see you! It's really nice to have virtual friends. Are you ok, yourself?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, kami hindi na nagbabayad para magpa massage hahaha basta kahit kanino lang dito sa kasama sa bahay😆 minsan nga yung mga tatay nagpapatapak sa likod para makapagmassage😆 also, thanks for this now I know that there's a lot of types of massage

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Wala din ditong malapit kaya binilhan na lang ako ng panghilot ako na lang daw maghilot sa sarili ko muna 😂 Totoo yang tapak tapak. Kumikitang kabuhayan din yan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha yes okay din yang binibiling panghilot😆 hahaha yes po mga bata dati tinatapakan lang likod ng tatay nila para magpamasahe😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What round up... Its really a complete guide

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I will bet that you never have a massage before because you also are ticklish? 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've never been to a massage. I'm just lazy. But that's why I took my mom to many massages because of her bone pain.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Oh dear, really? I can't believe that. You should try it, you have to pamper yourself as well. Yes, my Mum had massage as well after her leg surgery. And when her legs are swollen I love to give it a rub. Please try getting a massage Snezana dear. You will love it!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh dear, really? I can't believe that. You should try it, you have to pamper yourself as well. Yes, my Mum had massage as well after her leg surgery. And when her legs are swollen I love to give it a rub. Please try getting a massage Snezana dear. You will love it!

Haha, I can never please myself. I just please children, mom and my children. I know that massage is beneficial.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just one time :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did not think that there are so many types of massages.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you so much for your generous tip. I appreciate it! 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did not think that there are so many types of massages

I'm surprised too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, yes me too when I had my first. And I just want a massage. So there you go you learn some. That's not all @telesfor there are more of it and mostly different countries also have different version and specialities. Thank you for your comment. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have to give it a try. I have never had a massage before.

I like your photos 🤩

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Common @telesfor! You too haven't tried it? Please do, thank me later. But don't go for Thai massage or curse me for it haha.Try Swedish first.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have been to Thailand, but I have not tried Thai Massage😄

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seriously? Whereabouts? Bangkok? Pattaya? Haha.. They have the happy ending massage. I was laughing everytime I see that. 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have been to several places. In Krabi, in Bangkok in Chiang Rai in Ayutthaya in Sukhothai but no massage.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I never heard of those places before. I should have a look. I can't believe there's no massage there. 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago