Tipping

41 95
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

A gratuity which we normally called a tip is a sum of money given by a customer or client to a certain service they have performed in addition to the basic price of the service.

Do you give tip when you order food for delivery or any service provided to you? I want to share my experience when I was helping out in delivering food in our local Chinese and Indian Shop.

Delivering food is loads of fun and when I get tips, Im over the moon. It wasn't that hard, they gave us the customer's order and we deliver it to their house. I enjoyed it as I love to smile and when I ring the bell I have my big smile ready to greet them, and of course with their food in my hand. I had so many crazy and scary experiences in delivery.

There is no such thing as a small tip. A tip is a tip, a delivery driver will appreciate it. To be honest, I was hopeful that customers will give me tip. Not all customer give tips. And the fact that tips are not mandatory so everyone should be grateful for any amount of tips they've received.

What is the tip for me?

For me, people give tips because I did my job and they are happy with my service. And some customers are just really lovely people with a good generous heart. Did you know that a delivery driver based on my experience got paid £20(which goes for petrol) delivering from 4:30 pm -11:30 pm? What they get after is the delivery charge plus the tips. So the tips are really helpful to make up their money for that night. Some workers rely on tips because they don't get much wage.

What did I realize in delivering?

I thought if I deliver to big houses, I'll get more tip but I was wrong. Those with money won't give away a penny. Delivering to a big house doesn't mean they will give you a tip because they are rich.

I deliver in this big beautiful house with a big smile on my face, a woman so elegant looking come to the door with the money on her hand asking me how much it is. So I told her how much her bill was and she gave me the money, saw that there's a 20p excess, and she took it from my hand.

While most of our customers will say keep the change, some will wait for their 10p change. And that's no problem as I know we all have our reasons why we tip or don't tip.

Generous people live in humble homes. Those you thought won't give you tip most of the times are the one who gives.

I will not forget an elderly woman who gave me a pound tip for a £5 order and told me, "I'm sorry for that tip, I'm on a budget". My heart was so touched by her gesture. She is on a tight budget but still spares a pound to give. Some people who don't have much always give more. That's very true.

Since we have many regular customers, I met many generous people who are very nice to give tip. To be honest most of them give tip or tell me to keep "this for yourself". Some nights I made a £15 tip which is big money for me.

I don't forget to say "thank you with a big smile".

As I say it earlier on when delivering I was hopeful that customers can give me tips because it made me feel like I did a good job and that's their way to show that they appreciate it, that they acknowledge it, especially when I'm delivering in the pouring rain or some freezing nights and even walking up to the top of the apartment where they live to deliver food. Seriously, sometimes I have to walk up to the top floor of the building and sometimes I don't get a tip. Sometimes I feel bad about it too.

Do I tip?

Yes. Why? Because it makes me happy to give. That's my way of appreciation. That's my way of saying thank you. And giving doesn't have a price on it. Give what you are willing to give. I experienced the joy of receiving tips and I know how good it feels and I witness peoples faces when they received tips. A little bit extra won't make us skint and that tips can make someone's day. And the truth that no one has ever become poor by giving. You should see the spark in their eyes when you give tips. The giver is the happiest more than the receiver.

I've been to other countries and I can say that they also looking forward to a tip. If you dine in a restaurant or get a massage. And I always tip. If I'm with my sister (accountant) she always computes 20% of our bill and that's how much we are going to tip. My husband and Mum whenever they receive such service always give tips. Mum said "give tip, be generous" that's how her granny raised her.

Why people don't give tips?

Well, I know for a fact that people have not much to spare. And I know people because they working hard for that money won't just give it away.

  • In Japan, tipping is considered rude. Their culture is firmly rooted in hard work, respect and dignity. Good service is a standard so tips are considered unnecessary.

How about you, do you give tips? Why or why not?

If you are giving from the heart, that is you expressing love.

Thank you so much for reading.

Lead Image Source

Meme's Source

36
$ 4.79
$ 4.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @bheng620
$ 0.06 from @Telesfor
+ 6
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Comments

Me po before, i used to give tip to the fastfood mom n i went to eat it, it may be a small amount but it's my way of saying thank u for he or she's assistance or help or service to us that time po, 'coz i know who it feels po to work in that kind of place or how that job is po.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most of the time we tip here but the thing is, most delivery guys kind of feel entitled with the tips and that kind of makes it hard to tell of they really deserve it or not at times

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't give tips madam kasi di naman ako nagbabayad ng pinamili namin. But if ever I will also do that lalo na pag sobrang bait at attentive sayo yong crew or whatever. Basta ba may extra money bbgay natin yan.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Yes, true! Tayo rin naman gaganahan kung titipan tayo diba. 😅 lalo na yung robot na green!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, tumpak na tumpak yan, nasan na ba yung robot na green yum, a.k.a RUSTY.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nun nag work ako as a service crew before, naexperience ko din un kung sino pa un mapepera sila pa in di nagbibigay ng tip, pero un di nmn tlaga mapera sila un madalas magsabi ng "keep the change iha"

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Oh diba, nakakatuwa ring isipin kung sino pang wala sila ang marunong mgbigay sa kapwa.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Di ako masyado nag titip madam eh. Siguro 1 pesos to 5 pesos lng, pero sobrang friendly ko sa mga service crew. Yung ibang tao kase, minamaliit nila ang mga service crew na para bang binili nila pagkatao nila. Mapag mataas talaga 🙄🙅‍♀️

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Sometimes mas edukado pa sila less customer. Wala sa liit o laki pag pinagsama sama yang 5 pesos malaki na rin.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Totoo naman madam. makikita mo talaga ang tunay na ugali ng isang tao kung pano niya tratohin ang mga service crew sa restaurants. 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wala po akong malaking pang tip pero kapagay mga nakikita ko po akong pulubi ay hinahatian ko ng pagkain ko, minsan na din po kasi akong naloko ng mga nanlilimos eh. At salamat po sa laging pag bisita at sa tip na binibigay niyo sa mga sunusulat ko hehe natutuwa po talaga ako kapag may nakaka appreciate ng ginagawa ko🤭💖💖💖💖

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I'm just like you I used to pack foods or biscuits when going to work kasi lagi kong nadadaanan mga bata sa kalsada, at ganyan din ako nagsimula nakakatuwa pag may nagbabasa ng sinulat. Kung wala lng akong homeschooled ngayon may time ako palaging magbasa. Pasensya na ha kung minsan lng ako makapagbasa ng article mo. Just keep writing! Aja!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hala okay lang po haha madalang din po akong mag published at start na nga po ulit ang pasukan😆

Laban lang po talaga 2 1/2 years nalang graduate nako hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In fact, the practices of giving tips (and also their amount) vary from country to country. Tips are a nice gesture, but by no means mandatory.However, in this way, you can best express your satisfaction and gratitude. Yes,I give tips too.Almost everywhere I have to pay something.Even in the stores where I am buying foods.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Yes, giving tips vary from country to country. Some countries like Japan considered it rude. And thank you for sharing your tipping experience it's very nice to know. More blessings to come.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course I give tips,what's better than giving tips?

  • giving bigger tips 🥰😍
$ 0.05
3 years ago

And it feels so good right! Cheers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed! Thank you momma

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Generous people live in humble homes. Those you thought won't give you tips most of the time are the ones who give.

Indeed. I also experience that, and I am happy that even though they are not rich they chose to give.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

They are the greatest eye opener. Like don't judge the book by its cover.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, indeed. Thanks for the upvote! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always give bigger tips and I love it. I feel wonderful after that!

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Yes, dear! It's really a wonderful feeling. 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same here. I would also do tip whenever I have lil coz I know how hard their job is. There was a time when I had to call for albertos coz I got so hungry around 12 mid and all of a sudden theres heavy rain. I really did not expect for my order to arrive but the delivery boy really went through making sure my pizza would delivered. I was so thankful by that time as its hard to focus on your job when you are hungry.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

That's very nice to know. And for me they really deserve a tip.

Just letting you know that your comment was in spam comment. I don't know why.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ive also noticed this when I tried to comment on a differe t article. But I seldom comment and of course its not gonna be the same words :( would u know where can I possibly check on this?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm being more happy that the more you give, the more you receive.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you and I believe in that as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Have you already tipped in Bitcoin Cash? This website may be helpful. https://gifts.bitcoin.com

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you @Telesfor! I could try that next time. I never did before. Bookmarked!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My daughter works in a cafe because she has to pay for her studies. I heard from her that tips are given by those who have little ... rich people rarely. I give voltage here on the platform, when I have it in stock ... when the robot rewards me. I feel nice.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you for sharing dear. And that I believe that people who have little gives more than the rich most of the time.

I wonder why your comment marked as spam. Do you know that dear?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't have much, you know that momma! Haha! But I do tip them, from 5 pesos to 30 pesos, I'm happy seeing them happy too for that small amount. I can see happiness in their eyes while saying " Thank you so much, ma'am"

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Yes! I know basta may tip konting extra pag pinagsama sama lalaki rin. 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everytime na may order ako sa shopee at parating na diko nakakalimutan mag add ng 100 pang tip sakanila, para pang meryenda narin. Also lagi ako nagsasabi ng “thankyou po, ingat”. Super nakakagaan kasi sa loob ❤️

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Diba ansarap sa pakiramdam. Nakakatuwa. God bless you more. Tapos alam natin na pagod din yung tao. 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Top it top 🔛

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, i do tips, when i have of course, but i like to give tips in apreciation :D Excelent post 😁

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you dear. Thank you for the tip! 🥰

$ 0.05
3 years ago

your very welcome 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago