My Sunday Full of Cooking and Listening to Old Good Song

48 67
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Days passed so quickly when it's a holiday for the kids but never to me. As a Mom, cooking is part of the job description I'm responsible to meet after being qualified. And every day seems like in 'Who Wants to be a Millionaire' and consistently being asked this question, "What are you going to cook for today?" That question I have to live by every day. And it's not easy when you cannot get help from the people you're going to feed aside from "Up to you or surprise us!" I thought Im only a mom I didn't think I have to have the magician hat to pull out such a surprise. Surprise everyone, we're on diet today! Some days I want to tell them that.

So today is Sunday and what is it I'm making? Let's have some adobo! So I got a pork belly strip and I will mix some chops as I have a very awkward family. I love a wee bit of fat but my husband doesn't. So we're going to meet halfway.

The secret of a deliciously good Adobo is the marinade. My father taught me that. He is a very good cook. Marinate the pork or chicken or any meat overnight in soy sauce, garlic and pepper. If you are in a hurry and cannot marinate it for long, you just have to cook it longer. Don't forget to add some bay leaf! I sauteed the onion first and then the pork, put a bay leaf and then pour a cup of water and let it cook till the meat is soft.

Then I will have mixed vegetables and brussels sprouts. I usually have some fresh vegetables but in times like this, a frozen one comes in handy as they are ready to boil and I don't need to peel the carrots and most of the vegetables that we like are all inside the bag.

And for dessert, we're having this fruit salad that my kids prepare. This is an easy dessert for it doesn't require any cooking. Just mixing the ingredients:

  • fruit cocktails

  • double cream

  • condensed milk

And put it in the chiller, that would be good enough for a family dessert plus the kids enjoy making it as it's only about pouring and mixing in.

While cooking, the husband decided to check our VCD Player if it's still working and glad it did. This is my Dad in law and according to Mum, Dad loves to play music so loud that the whole Comber can hear it. Dad must be hearing this from his grave. And Mum said he will come to tell us to put the volume up! Haha, I missed Dad so much.

We got loads of Cd's, cassette tapes, DVD's, VHS here, like the really old stuff! Mum said, Dad will always send her to get the latest cd's even if it's far. We have here country music, Irish Dance Music, Mama Mia Soundtrack, The Sound of Music, Dolly Parton, Westlife, Abba, Kenny Rogers, Elvis Presley, Celine Dion and many more.

These are my favourite 'Westlife' songs. Still good as gold.

And while cooking I'm dancing in front of the cooker lol. I even singing then my husband comes telling me that it's going to rain. Cheeky. Then I went up to the house and grab his hand to dance with me. All I can hear is "I can't dance." But we dance still in front of Mum having a good laugh. The kids are watching they must think we're going nuts.

Old song, old music but never gets old and so alive in the listener's heart and memory.

Go back to cooking and glad I finish everything without burning the lot. Presenting Momma's menu for today!

Mashed Potato + Adobo + Mixed Vegetables

Rice + Adobo + Mixed Vegetables

And Fruit Salad for dessert

I think that will keep them happy today. If you want to know why I have to make different food for us, it's because I love to eat with rice and my husband loves his potatoes. Although we can all eat mashed potatoes, I still prefer rice. Funny isn't it?

Well, that's one thing we have to stick in my biracial family. And I'm happy to do my job. Happy Momma and wifey here!

Thank you all for reading.

20
$ 16.44
$ 15.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 16
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Comments

Life is to easy if you are enjoying it. Ang saya ng buhay mo madam parang ndi ka napapagod.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a wonderful family time! Everyone put effort in making the meal plus you were able to dance and sing. That will surely make the food all the more delicious. The energy and emotions we feel affects the taste of what we are cooking.

Speaking of adobo, here's what DTI has to say about that lol! https://www.facebook.com/DTI.Philippines/photos/a.10154499738125116/10159555036585116/

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Haha, I'm glad I didn't burn anything. 🀣 I will check that out. Cheers ArtLee!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really admire your family po ❀. Truueee, rice is lyp pari talaga.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Salamat. Hindi ko talaga kaya ng walang rice. Di ako mabusog! πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sameee poo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Listening old songs those songs have separate place in our heart and no songs can replace with those and you guys enjoyed your sunday having a tasty meal!!!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

You're a music lover too. Do you agree that old songs are the best?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda naman ng family relationship nyo. 😍 I can imagine the laughter on your faces. A meal prepared happily is enjoyable to eat too. 😊

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you Xzeon, ay nakakatuwa kasi di pa kainan namamapak na tong dalawa kong anak. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit naman siguro ako ganun din. 🀣🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wonderful way to spend Sunday with fam.. Khit pla tlga san magpunta hahanaphanapin p din ang kinagisnan lalo na ang foods..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Spending Sunday with the family is all there is to it. How nice that your children help with dessert and your husband with good music. I enjoyed the reading.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you Gertu as much as possible I want the kids to get involved in whatever I do. I want then to learn simple tasks and enjoy them. They are happy to help anyway. I wish you have a lovely Sunday!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you and have a nice Sunday to you too. God bless you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy momma , HappyBoy says hi - your food looks yummy

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Haha thank you HappyBoy! Hope you had a good day too. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My day was hectic. Spent hours in traffic. But finally back in school

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its getting hot in here, cant breath 😍😍 yummy dish, good Sunday for the kids...

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes, lovely day. Thank you King! I hope you had a great Sunday too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was lovely thank you, I wish i had this much to eat as well 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohhh i didn't think adobo could be marinated OnO i should try that next time but i feel you on this when I'm not even a mother yet πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ it's always a question of what to feed the gremlins

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Seriously Hanz? Ay Hanz try it!

Haha, dakilang furnanay ka nga pala, ang hirap ding savutin ng tanong na yan kung ano papakain mo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i didn't knowww, kasi ginigisa namin yung meat then niluluto ng matagal, i really didn't know pwede sya ibabad

I'm also the mother to my sisters since mom has work πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ so ayun pa, the dogs eat anything naman so they're not so stressful to feed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The adobo with mashed potato looks yummy. Nagutom ako haaha. That was a fun peek at your holiday.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha, thank you Pichi! Minsan appreciate ko ang mash pero rice talaga. Di ko feel na busog ako sa spuds. πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha iba pa din ang rice opkors

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uy ang saya vcd! I love mama mia soundtrack and the sound of music.. btw your adobo looks yummmy

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you Eylz! Nakachamba nmn ng lasa. Recently ko lang napanood ang sound of music grabe ganda!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep ganda yan.. never ako nagsawa sa palabas na yan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow momma this is sweet, hope tia help you out in the kitchen

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes and Jigz too. They are the ones responsible for the salad. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's so lovely

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wawo you are good chef. I can imagine and i love to eat . Actually interesting is that you are my type. Listening yo Music is my favorite hobby when ever i study i put headfree in my ears and play the music same thing i do when i go to bed for sleep whiteout music I can not sleep properly

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Oh thank you. I love to eat too but have to cook them lol No one else will. Just be careful not to sleep with a headset on. Music is beneficial to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's say you are listening some old gold song rather than say old good song .. Right now no song is good as like old song.. Lol, i asked the same thing daily 2 time to mom " What are you going to cook today" ..

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Hahaha, edited, cheers! So what did you cook today?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

something like normal food mate..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its not getting better than that !

$ 0.10
2 years ago

So what's the chef PVM make for today?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pork in the oven... with garlic bread and miscellaneous

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The oven is my weakness. I should learn how to cook with it. It's always a fail every time I tried. You really love cooking, all in that's you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow Vcd. I remember my high school days, vcd pa nun uso hehe. Great day, sis! Music, good food and family -priceless!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Food + Music = Sunday Special Ayie! Lalo na sung cassette na inikot ikot ng ballpen. πŸ™ˆπŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uu sis...hay nakakamiss sobra hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Masarap tlga makinig sa old songs every Sunday..ganyan tyo sa pinas.. 😁 I love Westlife, A1, Michael learns to rock, and more..

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Bat di ko mafeel yung ganyan sa mga songs ngayon? Maliban kay Moira huh Love old songs madam!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako nga old songs parin minsan pinapakinggan ko. 🀣 iba tlga batang 90's 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago