My Mum Got her First Dose of COVID-19 Vaccine

39 81
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago
Topics: COVID-19, Experience

The first people who are offered the COVID-19 vaccine are those most at risk from complications of the COVID-19. This includes older adults in care homes, frontline health and social care workers and the over 80s.

They require two doses of the same vaccine to give them the best protection. You'll be given a record card after your first dose wherein the name of the vaccine given to you and your second appointment is written on. But in Mum's card the second appointment date, is not filled. The clinic will phone us for the next appointment.

What are the side effects?

Vaccines can cause side effects like all medicines. Not everyone experiences it but most of these are mild and short term. You still need to have the second dose even if you have symptoms after taking the first dose. This will give you the best protection against the COVID-19 virus.

Common side effects include:

  • headache

  • feeling tired

  • mild flu-like symptoms

  • heavy feeling and tenderness in the arm where you get the jab

You can rest and take paracetamol to help make you feel better as advised.

Will the vaccine protect her?

The vaccine has been tested in several different countries in more than 20,000 people and shown to be safe. The COVID-19 vaccine has been shown to reduce the chance of you suffering from the COVID-19 disease.

It will take a few weeks for our body to build up protection from the vaccine. No vaccine is completely effective, like all medicines so it's our responsibility to take the recommended and extra precaution to avoid any infection. We still might get the COVID-19 despite having the vaccine but it would be less severe.

People can believe what they want to believe. COVID-19 spreads through droplets which we breathed out from our nose or mouth when we speak or cough. We can also pick the virus by touching our eyes, nose and mouth with contaminated objects. The vaccine is here to help protect us, most especially those most vulnerable. You cannot catch COVID -19 from the vaccine but it is possible that you have caught the virus and not realise you have the symptoms until after you're given the vaccine.

Mum didn't experience anything wrong with her after taking the vaccine. No soreness or headache, there's nothing. She's perfectly fine. And it gives her peace of mind of catching the virus although there's still the possibility of getting it, we know that she's still protected.

Mum said,

"Vaccine didn't do me any harm."

I know that some of you or maybe most of you are against the vaccine. I can understand my Mum in law why she's great about the vaccine. She was born in 1933 at those time there are these diseases polio, whooping cough and others. Her brother got polio that didn't make his life easy up to these days. There's no vaccine at that time. Her son, my brother in law always experience whooping cough that upsets her. Then vaccine was made those days and from then on they have the ways to stop polio and other disease. They save lives.

Then The Queen got her COVID-19 vaccine as well before she gets her. Maybe to show people her confidence regarding the vaccine.

If the vaccine is available in your country, will you take it?

Well, that's completely up to you. We respect each other's belief. Keep safe and healthy everyone.

15
$ 0.77
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Rutkowski
$ 0.10 from @bheng620
+ 7
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago
Topics: COVID-19, Experience

Comments

Have you read what you wrote? It may reduce but the fact is no one knows it for sure. The vaccine is mainly tested on healthy people who are not infected yet. Healthy people and it's given to the unhealthy first, the elderly. I hope it all works out fine for your mother and the care takers. I think it's too early to go for it, the results are not that positive, it's about guessing, hoping, you still need a face mask, keep distance, and are positive after vaccination.

With us they want to skip the second vaccination for the time being to realize more people can have the first one.

They will not give you a card or so you are vaccinated.

🍀👍

$ 0.10
3 years ago

Thank you Rusty!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me toss my 2 cents. Not surprisingly majority of the people are brainwashed sheep in the world today. I personally thought that people who are into cryptocurrency are more 'awake' than those people who are not. But sadly that is not the case. This is my take, and I have sleepless hours digging truths anywhere: There is no virus, there is no covid-19, it' all a scam. Do you think a piece of fabric or cloth mask will block the virus, if indeed this is real? Just spray an insect killer in the air, and I will tell you, you can really smell it despite your n95 mask wrapped on your face. Please stop watching television - pandemic is on the tv. Isn't it? And importantly Vaxx is another scam, since there is no killer virus. And stop arguing about the brands/manufacturers, all of them is funded by 1 or 2 persons only. In other words it has the same ingredients, more or less! Vaccine is intended for another purpose under the cover of virus eradication. Watch out for covid-21 another scam.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As to what I have read in newspapers, vaccine will be available here in the Philippines by early March. And we have 2 vaccines, according to the news. One is Pfizer and the other one is Sinovac. Pfizer will be distributed to Manila, Cebu and Davao because according to them, Pfizer is "maselan" so it needs to be put in cold storage always. And the said places have large cold storage. Then the rest of the places will have sinovac. I am not confident with the Sinovac because i have read so many news about the side effects and some of the patient died after taking the vaccine. And I am confused why would our government purchase two kinds of vaccine. I am not sure if I will take the sinovac let's just see what will happen next. By the way, this is damelindz momshie, i created this new account because rusty never visited my old account for 1 month already, so I decided to abandoned it..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think the vaccine here will be available by feb but people are advertising the Pfizer made one. It does feel safer than the sinovac but the priority list of politicians first then the elderly and the children. And i have no idea how they'll distribute the vaccines too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Vaccine is available in my country too.But my husband,my mum and I decided that we will not take it yet.So far,too little testing of this vaccine has been done.I read articles on internet and listen to some experts who learn on vaccines how they do not recommended vaccination,then you do not know what should be done or what should not be done.I hope that in a few months we will have clearer results and thoughts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The vaccine is currently available in my country for anyone who wants to receive it voluntarily. I have not yet decided if I want to receive her.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Marija dear, how are you? No matter what, keep safe and healthy dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm fine, darling. Thank you for asking. How are you and your family? We take care, but a few of our close relatives and friends were infected with Covid 19, but luckily, everyone is fine now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

While I applaud researchers for a very fast delivery of the vaccine, my parents are both sick with covid-19 at this moment, my mother has just completed radiation treatments for cancer, she also has COPD and other health problems, my father had a bad heart attack which left him with only 44% of heart functioning, as a smoker for over 30 years he has COPD and requires oxygen constantly.

I just don't trust the vaccination, we are often times to quick to put our trust in mankind and find out 10 years down the road that they were wrong about chemicals and you are left in a worse condition than before, we have more than enough unfortunate results from vaccinations that have been studied under lab conditions for 10 years, it is really hard to perceive what may or may not come about in the short term to long term from these vaccinations that were developed in merely months.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also received my first dose of the COVID vaccine two days ago. I do not feel any side effects. I believe that it is very important to build collective immunity.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

That's good to know. When are you getting your next dose?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. It's free? Dito sa pinas, may presyo eh. Bakit kami pagbabayarin eh ang mga chinese nga nagdala ng covid dito. Tapos si digong, china ng china. 🥴 Hahaaay. Nakaka frustrate ang gobyerno.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

We're lucky here that it's free but still not available for everyone as I don't think they have enough vaccine. How much they say it will cost in there?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The price isn't known yet to the public but for sure, it's gonna be pricey. Madami mangurakot eh. Tubo ng tubo yan. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Our bodies respond differently and for me, I'm still doubtful of it... It might do good for some but there are others who reportedly died after having a dose of the vaccine.. So i guess it depends how our body will respond to it.. But i'm happy to hear that your mum is doing fine.. Keep safe always 😘

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you for your lovely comment and I do understand how you feel about the vaccine. And you are right that it's up to our body how it will react as our body are all different. You too love, keep safe and healthy. Cheers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For now, I have no intention of getting vaccinated, if we are all conditioned to have to, then I will choose Chinese.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I understand. Keep safe and healthy dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi mama? As always I wish you well and greet the devine in you. I hope you will monitor your mom (vitals, behaviour etc) like a well studied trade. Before you get the vaccine yourself.

Bless up!

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Yes, we do. Thank you for that. Blessings back to you dear. Cheers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's good po n hope your Mother in law po is doing good na po n will really be safe against the covid19 virus po n yes, my Mom n I will take the shot o vaccine po n hopefully it will be free po like Pres. Duterte said

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you Bheng. Where have you've been? I haven't see you lately, and maybe because I'm too busy too. I hope you're doing well. Keep safe and healthy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome n salamat po ulit lalo na po sa upvote, God bless po, just been in a muni-muni sa isang tabi po for a week before, thinking of everything but now it's over n active here again, doing good n thanks po for asking, keep safe n healthy din po sa inyo jn n good morning po :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a good thing your mom is safe🤗

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you dear. Keep safe as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am distrustful of the vaccine. I don't even know which one to choose. I read different experiences. Both positive and negative. We were supposed to register at the school by January 17, however, none of the employees applied.I wish your mom all the best and be healthy!

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you, dear and I completely understand you. And you too, keep safe and healthy. 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The vaccine is also available in my country and is free. I filled out the form and am waiting for a call.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

It took weeks for Mum to get an appointment. And I'm glad it's free as well. I wish you get the call sooner. Keep safe and I wish you all the best dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

While I applaud researchers for a very fast delivery of the vaccine, my parents are both sick with covid-19 at this moment, my mother has just completed radiation treatments for cancer, she also has copd and other health problems, my father had a bad heart attack which left him with only 44% of heart functioning, as a smoker for over 30 years he has copd and requires oxygen constantly.

I just don't trust the vaccination, we are often times to quick to put our trust in mankind and find out 10 years down the road that they were wrong about chemicals and you are left in a worse condition than before, we have more than enough unfortunate results from vaccinations that have been studied under lab conditions for 10 years, it is really hard to perceive what may or may not come about in the short term to long term from these vaccinations that were developed in merely months.

I wish the best to your mother as well as anyone else that has had or will receive these vaccinations.

$ 0.10
3 years ago

I'm sorry to hear that. That's a heartbreaking and tough time for you and the family. I wish for their immediate recovery.

I understand what you mean as my husband stand his ground that he's not taking the vaccine and don't trust it. But my Mum does trust the vaccine coz she's getting every flu jab. And didn't do her any harm.

Thank you for sharing and I wish you all the best and prayers for your parents for their speedy recovery. Everything will be fine.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my country, the vaccine will first be given to health workers, residents of social institutions for the elderly, then people over 65, as well as those who work with them, the chronically ill and employees in important services. I am glad that your mother passed without complications .

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Same here my dear only as over 80s not over 65 then after them the next age group but only if we have enough vaccine. Are they already giving the vaccines?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, 50,000 people have been vaccinated so far. My mother also applied, she is waiting for a call, she belongs to this older group.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Best wishes to your mum my dear. We need protection in this serious time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My best wishes for your mum ❤ Someday the vaccine will get here, i hope 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you, dear. And haha those emojis made me laugh, I'm sorry. 😂😂😂 I say let's hope for that! 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha it's ok, at this point it is funny hahah, thank you for your best wishes 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago