My Favourite Charity Shop

48 66
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

I love bargains and I love going to charity shops. If you think charity shops only sell used clothes and shoes then you are wrong. They sell everything. And there's also brand new, some with tags or unused items in the shop. And I'm a pretty good bargain hunter and always find value in this shop. I save money and glad to know that by buying stuff I also able to help the charity.

I buy second-hand items even clothes. I don't have sensitive skin. And I don't have an issue with wearing used clothes. I was used to it when I was young. My clothes are my sister's clothes. Hahaha. And I know how to wash clothes properly before using them. Even in the Philippines, we have what we call Ukay-Ukay and I love that place.

Why should you shop in Charity Shops?

Photo Credit

Because you'll be helping a good cause.

And if you want to give further support then you can donate your unwanted items. Each year, charity shops in the UK raise around £300 million for a variety of causes, funding things like children in need, medical research, education, hospice care, overseas aid, families and veterans in need and much more good causes.

It's easy to donate. Things that people would throw away can be used to raise money for a good cause instead.

People bring donations to the shop and the charity sell them. Donations could be anything usable and in good condition like:

  • Clothes Men's, women or kids)

  • Shoes

  • Toys

  • Accessories

  • Curtains

  • Bags

  • Furniture

  • Books etc.

Barnardo's (Believe in Children)

Photo Credit

My favourite Charity Shop!

Barnardo's support and protect children and young people facing a wide range of issues, from drug misuse to disability, from sexual abuse to domestic violence.

The founder, Thomas Barnardo, believe that with the right help, children can change their lives and achieve their potential.

Over 150 years ago, Barnardo is supporting children in need of help – regardless of their circumstances, gender, race, disability or behaviour.

I've been to different charity shops and I love them all but I must admit some shops sells stuff with an unbelievable price tag. But here in Bernardo's, I always got a good bargain!

These are some of the things I bought in the shop. The Nike shoes I got it brand new with tags and only paid £6 for them. That's a bargain! The same goes with the bag. And those emojis I got 4 of them all came from the charity shop.

And all of my books came from Barnardos. I normally pay just £1 and on some days 3 for £1. And it's a great deal!

Look at some of these books. I love old books and especially poetry books. One of my favourites is the Ella Wheeler Wilcox Poems. Her words are tremendous.

And most of my kid's books are from Barnardo's charity shop as well. These books cost a fortune if Im going to buy them at their regular price even at a discounted price. But I only pay a pound or 3 for £1 for them!

We also bought a nice drawer from that shop, a new tennis racket, a roller skates also new and many more. Like, we can buy brand new things in the shop but why would I spent a fortune if I can get in a charity shop for a cheaper price? And Im always proud to show to my husband when I got things I wanted and tell him the price I paid for it compare to the price I will pay in the high-end shop. 😁

And I also donate some unused or unwanted items. From time to time I will ask my kids, Tia and Jigz to check their stuff and if they have clothes, shoes or toys that don't fit (too small now) or they don't use then I wash it/clean it and bring it to the charity shop so others make use of it. I only give those that have plenty of life. Where others can still use and enjoy it.

Tia and Jigz have plenty of clothes that don't fit them anymore so instead of throwing them in the skip I'd rather donate them to the charity. I think that's a good thing to do.

How about you, are you also a bargain hunter? Have you ever been to Charity Shop/Thrift Shop/Ukay-Ukay? Do you have your favourite shop? Let's hear it!

Thank you for reading!

19
$ 9.28
$ 8.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @D.B.Cooper
$ 0.11 from @Idksamad7869
+ 12
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Comments

I am so a little bargain hunter 😅 It's good that you are donating those to charity instead of throwing.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Haha, that's okay I know a lot of people just like you. Won't even buy cheap. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Appricate your thinking. You give me good direction to but stuff . Today i would find any charity shop , because here is very difficult to find it. Already we buying stuff so better we should buy from that shop or mal who supports charity foundation. Indeed i want to make a small charity where we collect money to help needy people. Rectly one of my universitymate need money to pay her fee so we make a compain so we collect money for needy people

$ 0.10
2 years ago

That's very kind of yous to help your mate. That's a very nice thing to do dear.❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for your words . Yeah sure i would do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God bless you po sainyo ma'am 😇keep safe ❤️adik ako sa ukay ukay kasi mura kaso dun Naman lagi nauubos allowance ko😂

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Okay lang atleast marami kang mabibili kesa sa mga mall haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa mall kasi Ang mamahal,kadalasan madali pa masira haha😂yess to ukay ukay❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the first time i will get to here about Charity Shops. It's nice that apart from getting goods at a cheap cost ,I'm also helping. I will check google to see if i can find any close by

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes, and it's nice to know that we don't need to pay a fortune for things in the charity shop unlike if we're going to buy them anywhere else. Yes , check it maybe you have it there in your place as well!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kindness overload talaga to si Ma'am..👏👏👏

Sana may makapag.isip din niyan dito sa Pinas..Para naman kahit papano may nabili ka, may naibigay ka pa sa iba..

God bless you Ma'am.😇

Keep safe!🤗❤️

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Maganda yan sa Pinas maraming magdodonate at marami ring matutulungan. Basta yung ibibigay namn magagamit din ng iba. Salamat madam, keep safe din palagi. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's a good activity. here, we only get to donate when it's in an emergency situation since donating them on any other days takes your donated stuff to an ukay ukay. it's pretty unfir when your goal is to help orz

$ 0.10
2 years ago

That's the thing, they use it for personal gains most of the time. That's why when I was there we used to donate things personally, yung magbalot balot ng groceries and give directly to affected families hindi yung padadaanin pa sa iba tapos di naman makakarating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true. as much as possible we do that too kasi nakakalungkot talaga when other people just take good stuff you want to give

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great. Help people in difficult situation and God will help you. Gold bless you.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

We never go poor by giving. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like thrift shopping too, it's easier to find quality clothes that isn't going to break the bank.

What is the proper way to wash the used clothes?

$ 0.10
2 years ago

That's true! And the used clothes I always soaked in good detergent powder and leave it under the sun. Even in stains just leave your clothes under the sun and it works like magic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You've got a good heart, am sure they will really appreciate what you did and I also do....you have inspired me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay bet ko to. Parang ukay-ukay pero with a cause. Nakabili ka ng branded in cheaper price then nakatulong ka pa. sana meron din dito sa pinas na malapit sa amin.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes Gracee ukay ukay kasi natin selling lang talaga! Sana meron din nga tayo siguradong dudumugin din :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tama ka jan. dudumugin yun ng mga buyers then mga donors. :) Sana magkaroon ng madaming ganyan dito sa atin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Suki ako sa ukay ukay hahahha. Pagalingan ng pagpili at paglaba lang talaga yan.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Ibabad mo lang sa powder tapos sa araw matanggal lahat ng dumi at bacteria sa damit. Halukay ube lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yasyaysaz

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ukay ukay lng sikat dito madam. Sa ibang bansa talaga uso yung mga bargain. Kahit mga furnitures, dini display sa labas. Hehe

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Uu madam, hilig ko sa ganyan pati mga aparador tapos andaming ang gaganda! 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Furnitures are your safe haven noh? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been to ukay ukay. Specilaly now that there ia Japan surplus in our area. The prices are pricey though but the quality is good. But I minimize visiting ukay ukay stores because I have to target an amount for my daughters tuition fee. 😁 Baka kasi di ko mapigilan e.. 🤣

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Nakakaadik naman talaga tapos makakita ka pa ng gusto mo 🤣 ayon ubos biyaya!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not bad madam... mostly pa naman sa bargain ay mga orig...minsan hndi pa gamit.. Mganda dn yang naisip mo donate nlng kesa itapon.. dto boss ko minsan nagtatapon ako ang nasasayangan.. minsan pinamimigay sa relatives

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Madam kung di lang gahaman tong custom natin, sa Pinas ko to ipapadala. Sayang ang gaganda pa naman saka napakamura! Tueing umuuwi lang ako nagdadala ng gamit never na naulit padala ko kasi bayad na dito pagbabayarin ka pa don same amount ng binayaran mo dito saklap

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahal ba magpa package? Dto halos HK$1k yung pinakamalaki. . magpapackage nga ako this month rh. Iuwi ko ibang gamit ko pra hndi hassle sa pag uwi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice post I loved your article I support always

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes you do. Thank you as always dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been to Ukay ukay but never a charity shop. Sana meron dito nito. But the prices are really affordable. Imagine a nike shoes brand new for only £6 or 400php? And then the books, 3 for 68 pesos. Not bad. It really is a good buy.

Our tita in hongkong always send boxes full of different stuff, we sell them too for 5, 10, or 20 pesos mostly. Then, some, we just gave away.

You're really kind tired_momma. But I think, even if you call yourself tiredmomma, you have a very high energy as Tia. ☺️☺️☺️

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Grabe yung tuwa ko sa Nike shoes kasi pricey naman talaga sya tapos £6 ko lang nabili brand new pa! 😁 Naku Camille kailangan di ako nauubusan ng energy at etog si Tia at Jigz nangangain ng lakas. 😂

Thank you bhe. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super sulit tlg yung Nike shoes. Pero bet ko din yung emoji throw pillows. Ang cute siguro nila kapag pinagsama sama. Hehehe... Nakaka good vibes yung emoji pillows. Hahaha.

Ay. Kapag may Kids na tlg iba na dpat ang energy level ng mommy ano. Hehehe. Pero priceless din naman yung happiness na nabibigay nila. 😍😍😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really love your kindness heart ma. God will continue to bless you ma. Good habit you have cultivated.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

It's just that instead of throwing it away and if it's still in good condition I would love to see it in others possession to use. That would be lovely. Thank you for your nice words Gaftek.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is really true, you are welcome ma.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How I wish meron din ganito sa Pinas so that you can donate thru buying items in the shop or giving in whatever you can..

This sure is a very good place to buy things for balik-bayan boxes, ang gaganda nman ng mga items..

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes, we only have ukay ukay just for selling but not as a charity shop. It would be great if we have too so if there are people in need or emergency you can turn other's donations into cash or groceries.

Yes Graeden, and very cheap!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Momma you really kind hearted to give is just an easy thing, but prefer keeping it duo it isn't useful for them. Am really motivated I too must reach to other people needs with some of what I just kept that aren't useful for me again.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you, Adereign. They say charity starts at home and that's what we are doing and should not end there. We will not become broke by giving. On the contrary, we invite more things, more blessings to come our way by doing so. Pass on to others stuff that you no longer use and someone out there might be wishing for it to have. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago