Things I can Do

3 30
Avatar for thepandagirl
2 years ago

Things I can Do

In my more than two decades of existence, I met a lot of people. I met a lot of talented people - those who have the voice of a nightingale, those who can dance as graceful as the cockatoo. I met awesome artists too which can draw really cool works of arts! And it makes me wonder: what about me? What can I do? Do I have at least one talent that I can be proud of?

I find these questions really depressing. Because no matter how hard I think, I can seem to think of any talent I have. I don't think there's something I'm good at. I'm a bad singer, to the point that you have to omit the word 'singer'. Not only that, I love music a lot, but the feeling is not mutual. I have the worst voice that I was always made fun of whenever I sing on a karaoke. But I'm still courageous enough to sing in front of people and I think that something I'm good at! I am good at embarrassing myself in front of people without being really embarrassed about it. Not anyone can do that.

I'm a terrible dancer. I feel like my body is made of steel whenever I dance. Back in school, my classmates would always tease me whenever we have a performance coming. My teachers find it really hard to teach me the dance steps. There's even an instance that I accidentally hurt my teacher while she's teaching me the correct dance steps and I feel really awful because of that.

I can draw, but I can only draw stick drawings. The drawing that even a preschool kid can do. Looking back, I never experience getting an A+ on my arts classes before. It's probably because my drawings and artworks are just mediocre.

Now this makes me think. I really don't have any talent that I can be proud of.

But I read somewhere before that we all have innate talents in us. We just have to discover and appreciate it. So I thought long and hard about the things I can do, and I came up with these:

I can cook well.

This is probably something I can be very proud of. As a first-born child I was taught that being good at doing household chores is a must and one of those is being able to cook well. At a young age I was taught how to do that. My parents are both good when it comes to cooking, and I got that from them. I can make experiments, and it always turns out great!

With just getting a spoon of food on my mouth, I have the ability to distinguish the ingredients used in a dish and that is something that my sister envy.

Not everyone can be good at cooking, so I think that this is actually a talent. And yes, I am just realizing it now.

I am good at expressing my thoughts through writing.

If you're one of the few people who follows and reads what I write here, you may say that I am not an excellent writer or blogger. Well, I accept that. I am bot as good as the native English speakers, which I'm trying so hard to achieve, but at least I know how to express myself in a language that I don't usually speak.

Not everyone can write, and I think writing and showing what you wrote to the world is something that you need courage to do so. And thinking about it, I think that's a talent too! I'm not a hundred percent sure about this though!

I have an artistic side.

I may not be good at singing nor in dancing, but somehow I have this artistic side in me. I can get to be really creative when it comes to different stuffs, I have a pretty and neat handwriting and I can make beautiful things even out of garbage.

These may not be as special as what others can do, but I am happy because these are the things that I can do and I can be happy whenever I do it.

How about you? What's something you can do nd you are really proud of?

@thepandagirl 🐼

5
$ 19.22
$ 19.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @lagrapefruit
Avatar for thepandagirl
2 years ago

Comments

Hehe I know what you mean, for a long time I didn't know what I was good at, now that I'm older I know that I'm good at pattern recognition. Of course this is something that hardly anyone would know because it isn't a tangible skill. Lol.

Once Upon A Spunky Developer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovely article, like i aways say no one is ordinary, there is always something special inside of us waiting to be brought out. Am pretty sure you have a lot of gifts and talents you are not yet aware of.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How about you? What's something you can do nd you are really proud of?

I have a lot of talents that I could share. I can cram, procrastinate, to be lazy, not do my modules, sleep, watch television hahah just kidding. Sorry if my words thatnI used looks like a drunken boy. I can write (but now good as you), I can trade (not good again), and I can be someone's friend but don't talk about money since I also need it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago