Cosmetics

8 60
Avatar for thepandagirl
3 years ago

I was never hook in using makeup and cosmetics before. When I was still young, I had this thought that those ladies who are using makeups are flirt, well of course that is just the mentality of a young kid. When I got into high school, while most of my girl classmates are very interested in makeups, I never had even the slightest interest in it. During the promenade and senior's night, I barely wore a light lipstick and powder.

The very first time that I experienced wearing a full makeup was when I joined a school beauty pageant, and I was really awkward that time, but at the same time I was also totally amazed at how my face can change. The ignorant me was in awe after my pair of brown eyes turned into blue when the makeup artist made me wear contact lenses. I felt like I was an ugly duckling who turned into a beautiful swan. But even that experience never encouraged me to use makeups.

When I got into college, some of my professors told us that we should try to wear at least a light lipstick especially when we are reporting because it will make us look better, and it will also help us to conceive the paleness whenever we feel nervous during presentation of reports. So I started to wear lipstick that time, but I still don't use other cosmetics aside from the light lipstick.

In the later years of my college days, I got broken-hearted because my crush was dating a pretty girl and I pitied myself for being ugly.

One of my classmates who is older than me, told me to make myself beautiful by concealing my pimples with makeup, so that even though my crush won't like me back, at least I was looking better. That's when I started to wear concealer and foundation. I also tried to use eyeliner, and eyeshadows. I learned that it is okay to use makeup after all.

Not only that, but I feel good whenever I look in a mirror and a beautiful image smiles back at me whenever I smiled at it. Though it was just a beautiful image created from the combination of castor oil, beeswax, chemicals, coloring and the corpses of insects.

After I finish drawing on the upper part of my face to make my eyebrows look more defined, applied a concealer to hide the impurities and ugliness caused by pimples and pimple marks and finally applied a foundation and lipstick, I feel like I'm all set to meet the world.

Before, I'm confident to go outside without any coloring on my face, without any touch of drawings, but after being used to wearing makeups I feel like I'm walking outside undressed without any touch of makeup on my face.

Just like me, a lot of women also likes wearing makeups, be it due to the nature of their work, to enhance their beauty or simply to be more confident to face others.

Others condemn those who loves to wear makeup saying that a real beautiful woman doesn't need to add any coloration on her face. Being natural is what matters. But we can't blame those who want to look better and more confident. It is okay and normal for a woman to want to improve her looks and there's definitely nothing wrong with that. What's wrong is when someone is already too focused on her physical looks, usually women who love cosmetics too much has the tendency to waste her money because of what the cosmetic advertisements offer.

The Power of Advertising

The power of advertisements. They make people feel that one product is not enough to be effective. It will be more effective when purchased in a set.

Advertisements usually shows a beautiful woman on the large television screen showing a specific product that she used saying it's pricey or expensive, but she's worth it. A product works best when it is used day and night so instead of just buying one, you have to take two, such as a day cream and a night cream.

The higher the price, doesn't usually mean that it's a higher quality. But that is in contrary to what the advertising field tells people, as a result people who want to be beautiful ends up spending more in the anticipation to look better and more beautiful.

Each of us has a different perspective regarding wearing makeup and cosmetics. But whether someone wears it or not, it is his or her personal decision. We don't condemn those who want to wear it because that's probably what makes them feel better about themselves.

Like I mentioned at the beginning of the article, I was also hooked in the use of makeups. I find it very interesting specially the fact that it can conceal my insecurities because of my face. But something happened several months ago which made me realize that makeup is not all that matters. I realized that not wearing makeup all the time is actually good. I want to be remembered as the girl with a pretty eyes and not as the girl looks like "dead" because her face is always covered with concealer and foundation. Furthermore, I still have a lot of impurities in my skin, but I learned to be more confident about it. But of course, I still use a light lipstick, a pinkish one and because I have very thin eyebrows, I still use an eyebrow pencil to make it more defined, but that's all. I'm confident about not wearing it at all, but I am also confident when I am wearing it because I try to wear it with dignity and I wear it just to enhance my natural features.

Safety Tips the Use of Cosmetics and Makeups

1. Makeups can harbor harmful bacteria, so it is important to replenish it every four months.

2. After buying a new mascara, it is advisable to discard the old brush.

3. Before applying makeup, it is important to wash the hands first.

4. If the makeup calls for water, use water​—don't use saliva or other mediums.

5. Makeup tools and brushes should be cleaned once a week.

6. Sharpening the pencils such as the eye pencils removes bacteria lurking on it. Pencil sharpeners must be cleaned with cotton and alcohol

7. Containers must always be closed tightly to prevent contamination.

8. Sharing is caring, but do not share cosmetics with others as it can lead to contamination.

9. Do not use makeups or cosmetics on injured or irritated skin.

10. Keep makeups away from children.

8
$ 18.32
$ 18.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @lagrapefruit
+ 1
Avatar for thepandagirl
3 years ago

Comments

I got loads of them!!!! But to tell you the truth every time I put makeup on, I look stupid. πŸ˜… Make up doesn't really suits me or I'm not putting it right. If I put eyeliner on, I end up looking like a panda! 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe you're putting on too much πŸ˜… Just try to a a bit to highlight your natural features and don't imitate what they show on vlogs because in my experience it doesn't always work the same.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🀣🀣🀣 you cracked me up!

I'm the same way as you.

My sister seems to understand make up better than me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your article reminded me so much of what I think about makeup too. Lol.

It's cool when makeup enhances but not cool when it over powers your unique features.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

That's why it is important to put on just enough to highlight the natural features of our face. Others looks completely change when they use makeup and I think that is amazing. But I can't do it on my face hehe

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Let me tell you this dear, I love watching makeup tutorials, I bought everything on their video and follow their tutorial which I ends up a clown. 🀣 I appreciate people who love to put makeup on because that's a skill! Some good that you will never recognize them before and after.

Me, I'm hopeless! Can't even find a lipstick that suits me. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaah so true.

I feel like I look like I have a black eye when I put on purple eye shadow. πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🀣🀣🀣 Same!

$ 0.00
3 years ago