The confidence we once had

0 35
Avatar for sweetnurse
2 years ago

What if I told you that school can make us fool? The toxic culture saying, "Go to school, get a high grades, graduate, then have a professional job". When I was a kid, the teachers were asking "what do you want to be when you grow up?" Then I will say, "I want to be a lawyer" because that's what my parents wanted me to be and as a 5 year-old kid, everything that my mom or dad tells me I will obey. But at that time, what I actually want is to just be a kid. Playing, talking, experience weird things, and just want love and attention.

Then I'm now at my 20 years of age thinking what I really wanted to do and what I really wanted to be. We live in the world where people believe becoming an engineer, doctor, teacher, lawyer, businessman and other professional jobs can earn you lots of dollars, which is true... but how 'bout what we really want? What about our talents and other skills? Can those talents and skills cannot lead us to wealth? What about those kids who are not academically intelligent? What if they excel at different stuffs? Like dancing, singing, writing, sketching, protography or even creating things with those what you called "useless crafts?"

This afternoon, my sister suddenly asked me, "What do you want to do in the future? Are you just going, ya' know, to be in a hospital all your life? Saving people and stuffs? Studying different diseases all night?" Then I answered, "Yeah, I guess? I don't know I'm not sure either".

I said that because I cannot vision what future aheads me. There's a lot of possibilities. Thinking that I'm just a mere 2nd year college student and I might not pass the board exam or I might not graduate. Hopes I will tho' hahah. But what I'm actually saying is, there are numerous expectations we have in ourselves but when we did not achieve those expectations, we'll just end up hurting ourselves with failures and some of us might be stuck and do not know how to start over again. We are afraid to set expectations to ourselves because we doubt ourselves that we can do it.

Our brain changes over time. It changes whenever we see some incredible stuffs or whenever we heard different opinions from others or maybe now, that you're reading this, I might change your mind...

So, let's go back to our topic. What if I told you that school can make us fool? Educating children to get a high-paid salary professional jobs. Waking up in the morning, go to the office and type to computer all day, then sign bunch of papers. You did not even have a proper lunch. I am not saying that you should not pursue those kind of jobs if you really want it. What I want to say is explore life, write an article like what I'm doing right now, audition to a show if you want to sing or dance or act, paint your art in canvas or maybe sketch your mom, or take pictures while you travel. Do what you love, do what you really want. Pursue your life. And as what they always say, "Live your life to the fullest".

I asked my 4 year-old cousin the same question my teacher asked me when I was a kid, "What do you want to be when you grow up?" Then he said, "I want to be an astronaut", he said that with glee in his eyes like he was already imagining that he is an astronaut. My cousin is not going to school yet due to pandemic. And I asked his mom and dad if they already ask the same question or did they told him to become like this or to become like that. And they replied, "No".

You see, when that kid grow up and graduated with the state of innocence, he will probably change his mind immediately to another dream or job he wants because he might say that "Nah, that's too impossible for me to become an astronaut. They are too genius and I have a straight C's in my grades". School with bunch of bully kids around, some teachers who will mocked you and pull you down with your dreams, neighbors who do the talks or worse even your family thinks that you cannot do it. That sucks.

They can limit our capabilities because we already surrender that confidence we once had... They forbid a bird who wants to swim.

And to answer my sister question, I just don't want to be a nurse, honestly. I mean, I want to be a registered nurse in the future but I have lot of things that I want to do... Like now, when I entered read.cash, it opens my mind of how cryptocurrency works although I do not have that enough knowledge but I'm in the process of still learning, I want to invest in the world of crypto but I'm still saving and giving my best to earn. I also want to publish a book someday maybe about medical stuffs or how life works, something like that. I also want to be a doctor or invent a cure for cancer. I also want to travel the world while riding a helicopter. I want to go to Nepal and climb the Mt. Everest. I want to be someone that no one expects me that I will become. It's always a matter of choice. And maybe tomorrow, or the day after tomorrow, I'll discover things again and have a new dream.

"Do not be afraid if you set an impossible goal to yourself, be afraid if you limit yourself to set that impossible goal" - sweetnurse

2
$ 0.79
$ 0.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @ZehraSky
Sponsors of sweetnurse
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sweetnurse
2 years ago

Comments