One-hour of sleep

2 34
Avatar for sweetnurse
3 years ago

First week of our second semester and I'm already exhausted. Being a nursing student is hard, well, every course were hard. And everyone of us are striving to be at the peak of the mountain.

Today, I do only have one-hour of sleep as my different professors with their designated subjects gave us a lot of homeworks, readings and we have a quiz on our next meeting. I need to admit that it really sucks sometimes but I must be committed on what I am studying right now because I want to save lives, I want to be on that white coat, I want my sympathetic nervous system to function.

Walking at the supermarket, watching television on our living room, jogging on the street, and when my dad drives everywhere, I can hear the siren of ambulance. It makes me sad. And the only thing that I can do is pray for them.

I remember when the first week of our class started. We already had a conflict maybe because we're first years (reasons)? The president of our block asked us to vote on our Anaphy subject, the choices were, first, if we want a six-hours of synchronous class(online) or six-hours of a recorded discussion. I voted for six-hours of a recorded discussion that time because I think it will be an advantage for all of us as we can repeat the video again and again. But one of my blockmates chat on our GC (GroupChat) on messenger, "who's sane person will watch a six-hour recorded video, duh, even on a movie marathon you will feel sleepy". He has a point, I said to myself but I can't understand why would he felt sleepy? That's absurd. I felt the urge to argue with him. So I replied in our GC and type, "what? why will you feel sleepy? Then why did you chose this course?We need to take things seriously here, we are not in middle school anymore".

And then, our adviser break our little argument. She said that, "We, healthcare professionals, should know what we do and why we do it. We even do not have time to cry for those patients who had lost their lives. We need to be responsible, to save lives, and the word "death" should not be on our vocabulary."

Sponsors of sweetnurse
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 0.30
$ 0.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of sweetnurse
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sweetnurse
3 years ago

Comments

I do have a lot of respect for all of our health care workers and medical practitioners. They have such a tough job they have yet I think, they are not getting enough support and benefits that they deserve. But anyway, I love this article of yours! I'll look forward for more of your articles. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I feel grateful that you are one of those caring people who understands the feeling of our healthcare professionals. And I agree that they should get the support that they deserve, I hope one day it will happen. Thank you for looking forward @immaryandmerry and of course, I'll look forward to your great works too <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago