It's you whom I've been praying for (short story)

9 27
Avatar for sweetnurse
3 years ago

I suddenly remembered the days when you were following me around, the days when we accidentally bumped into each other in an unexpected place, the days when you were waiting at the side of the street to make sure that I’ll be having a safe ride on my way home. It was always like that. And that was enough for me.

You were not that tall, you are not that handsome, you have a pale-white skin but I do not care about your appearance because your bright smile was enough for me to have a beautiful start of the day.

Church Day. I was wearing a blue conservative dress ending below my knees and I paired it with my white flat shoes. When I’m walking to take a seat, I instantly felt nervous yet I don’t know why. Because, usually, when I’m going to Church my emotions was always been excited. And then, fortuitously, I looked at the side where all the boy members were seated. I saw you. I saw your black mesmerizing eyes looking intently at me. And then, you smiled. You smiled like it was the best moment that you had. And it was for me too.

2 years had passed and we still don’t have a progress. I rejected all my suitors ‘coz I think that I’ll be cheating on you if I gave them a chance. Even if we don’t talk, even if I don’t have any confirmation if you have feelings for me too. I’m committing myself to you. Crazy right? But that’s me.

It was Church Day again. I walked silently to take a seat. I bowed my head and closed my eyes. At that moment, I prayed again, I silently prayed to God if it’s you whom He bestow for me.

One afternoon, after my classes you were sitting at the bench and you are talking happily with someone over your phone. I felt jealous. I started to think if you already had someone and I am just expecting that you had feelings for me too.

I was so unsure. And that sight was the cause of my sleepless night. I’m thinking of you again and again. I don’t know how do boys think. Did I just assume? That’s what I’ve been thinking for. Maybe… maybe I did and I admit it.

It was Church Day again and this time I promised to myself that I would not take a glance on you even if I already saw you on my peripheral view. I decided to forget about you. I decided to stop my heart to beat for you. Maybe you’re not the one for me. Maybe…

One year ago,

Senior High. I moved to a school with a one-hour drive. It was quite exciting. I colored my hair with a light brown and it looks good on my appearance as I have a white skin. My features got more defined and within that one-year that I tried to avoid you I think my feelings for you was gone. I was happy. I am contented with my friends who were always there to entertained me.

I’ve changed, I must say. I learned to hang-out with my friends. Most of the time, we were partying at our house or on their house. It was great. I became sociable. I am now a member of different clubs and I’m the president of few of those clubs. And my time were always spent in studying or bonding with my friends.

It was my birthday. I invited my friends to come over at my house. My friend, Liz, introduced his cousin, Drake, and so I welcomed him. My friends and I decided to have a movie marathon. I am at the kitchen preparing the snacks that they want to eat while my friends were at my room probably choosing a romantic movie in the Netflix.

“Hey,” I slightly jumped as I got surprised with the sudden approach. I turned my head, only seeing Drake. Of course, it was Drake because he only had the deep voice among us because we’re all girls except him.

“Uh, hello, what’s up?”, I response and don’t know what to say anymore.

“Uhhmm, do you mind?”, he’s pertaining to the boxes of pizza and bags of chips that I am preparing.

“Yeah, sure”, I said.

“So,,, you’re at the Science Club right?”

“Yes, actually I am almost a member of all the clubs”, I boast.

“Hahaha really? That’s awesome, I just saw you once at the Science Club”, he said smiling at me

“Oh, are you a member too? How come I don’t know you”

“Nope, I just saw you walking at the door entrance of the Science Club, sorry for the confusing words hahaha”

“So, what club do you belong?”

“I’m in the Sports Club, a basketball player” he said that like a proud man hahaha seriously this guy is so cool, I thought to myself and he seems jolly too.

For the past few weeks, after that conversation, we’re finally going out. I gave Drake a chance and this time I’m not thinking about the guy who made my high hopes.

My relationship with Drake, I should say that it is great. I mean, of course, there were flaws. We were at an argument once but it was no big deal. We rarely had a fight and the reason was just sometimes he were late to pick me up because of his training or whenever I am just not in the mood because the red flag is raising. That’s just it. He never made me cry at least once. And he always makes me feel that I am his priority. He introduced me with his whole family and his family were so warmth. And I did the same too because we want to have a blessing of our families. I like the feeling. No, I love the feeling.

Drake is a very matured man especially when handling things. And I admire him because of that. He’s one in a million.

Four years had passed, me and drake is now in our third-year college in the same University. And I am not expecting that I will see you again. Late afternoon, I’m on my way at the Main Library then you walked passed through me. I bet you did not saw me ‘coz you are busy with your phone, texting. There was this feeling again. I felt nervous.

Then, the first semester exams got started. I got busy reviewing a lot of books and Drake got busy too with his studies and training. We don’t have time to see each other. But it was alright for me.

I am at my way home walking at the side of the street because Drake has a 7pm class. I saw you, once again.

I saw you sitting at your usual bench. And you looked like you are waiting for someone. Then, I got startled when you glanced at my side. And you walked towards my direction. When you are in front of me you suddenly get my bag in my right hand. And I got surprised again with your sudden gesture. And then you talked. You talked to me for the first time.

“Hi, it’s been awhile since I last saw you”, that’s what he said. I don’t know what to reply because it feels awkward. Then, he started to walk so I followed him. I did not talk and he just kept glancing at me until we stopped in front of our gate.

When I opened our gate, I got shocked again because I saw my dad and mom looking like they expected us to be there. And I got confused because they let him in. What is happening here?! I think my brain will explode in no time. They are at the living room and I’m looking questioningly at my parents.

“Sweet, come here”, my mom patted the seat beside her.

“What is happening here? Why is he here? Do you know him?”, I asked them while sitting at the couch.

“Well, ehem”, my dad coughed to get started. “When you were at your middle school, Aaron asked for our permission to court you when you’re at your right age. And so, we appreciate his effort to ask us first before you. But your mom and I did not expect that you will get a guy in your sweet sixteen. However, we saw that you’re so happy with Drake and I just want you to know that we’ll respect your decision of whom you will choose between them”. My brain cells were not functioning.

“Jane, I am in love with you and I know that you knew that so I hope you will give me a chance”, Aaron carefully said.

“What? What are you talking about? I never knew that you love me”, I said casually

“I followed you around, I was waiting at the bench to made sure that you will get home safe, I was glancing at you at the church, I was smiling at you… So, I thought you knew”, he said

“For two years, I’ve been waiting for you to just at least talked to me but it never came from your mouth. And in that afternoon, I saw you talking happily with your phone and I thought you already had someone but now I realized how immature I was. I’ve changed. I’ve changed together with Drake. We’ve changed together. I loved you Aaron, but that was just in the past.”

I am at the church and Drake is with me. I bowed and pray to God, “God, thank you for giving him to me.”

Sponsors of sweetnurse
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 4.51
$ 4.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @icary
Sponsors of sweetnurse
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sweetnurse
3 years ago

Comments

You did great in narrating the story. Hope to read more. I was like reading a wattpad stories. keep writing :) by the way I am a new user here in read.cash

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am very pleased with your remark. Welcome here in read.cash😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for welcoming me. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love the narration and the last part of the story, more stories please. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would gladly to do so. Thank you for appreciating my story💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am now your subscriber, will wait for your new stories💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I subscribed on your account too😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you po😢❤🙇‍♀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago