Fun Things to do in an Airport

5 34
Avatar for so
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Blogging

The biggest mistake I ever made was booking my flight last minute! It was six days to Christmas and most flights were fully booked. I had been in the UK for one year and didn't want to overstay my visa.


Twelve months before, I had booked a one-way ticket to England. It was my first time flying out of my country, so I had no idea booking a return ticket was the cheaper option. Sigh! I ended up paying close to ₤800 for a one-way ticket. This could have been avoided if I only listened to the travel consultant.


Now you know why I got myself into this situation. This was the cheapest airline, but it came at a cost. I had to stay at the airport for seven good hours. one... two... three... four... five... six... seven... a lot right? I wasn't about to get frustrated, so I figured out fun things to do during a layover. Here we go:

  1. Planespotting - Watching planes land and take-off is an interesting affair. Try it the next time you are stuck in an airport.

  2. Photography - Airports have interesting scenes that shouldn't go uncaptured. 

  3. Hobbies - Unless your hobby is something that can't be done in public, stopovers can be perfect for engaging in them. A lot of people read, write, vlog, or knit. I witnessed someone making a bracelet using yarn and it seemed fun.

  4. People watching - If you're bored and have nothing to do, just sit and observe people. It might give you your next blog post on people's behavior 😂.

  5. Duty-free - Stretch your legs by walking through duty-free. It's okay even if you don't have money. No one will compel you to buy anything. 

  6. Food courts - An Irish proverb says laughter is the brightest where food is best. Go for it! Spend some time drinking or eating your favorite food at the restaurants or food courts.

  7. Catch up with family and friends - Utilize the airport's wifi to catch up with your loved ones. The options are limitless. Email, WhatsApp, Snapchat, Zoom, the list is endless.

  8. Sleep - Catching some forty winks is not always a bad idea. Just make sure you set an alarm or ask a well-meaning person to wake you up. 

Hope you had fun reading this. Have a wonderful time 🤗

5
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @lagrapefruit
Avatar for so
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Blogging

Comments

really good tips, I've also left bookings for last minute once and instantly regretted it. This article is really really good. id like to read more from you as time passes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great tips and welcome! I always find traveling to be intimidating hehe but I think that's because I don't do it often. :)

Once Upon A Spunky Developer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for reading and leaving a sweet comment. Traveling can be intimidating, but it brings the best in us. Try it during low season when there's few people and fair prices

$ 0.00
User's avatar so
2 years ago

You're right! I'll give that a shot. I'm about ready to see something new. To change things up a bit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm happy for you 😉

$ 0.01
User's avatar so
2 years ago