The Girl, The Swamp, and The Blackened Tree

25 37
Avatar for snapping.turtle
2 years ago

There was a girl standing at the gate of a cemetery. She said that she wanted to walk away from that place, but she just couldn't. Her body would not move. So the girl, without any other choice, carried her quivering self and her heavy feet inside

With her feet as her guide in a dim foggy place, she clasped her heart tight. Her eyes widened and her ears heightened. She jumped at the slightest movement around her.

The girl stopped when in front of her stood a dead tree. Leaves were none of its blackened arms. The girl's foot tried to take a step back. She tried and tried, but her foot would not. All the more, the girl shivered. With no other choice, she had to step one forward.

She sang a song only herself could hear. To blur the ghosts kept running around her head. To shut the howls and whistles of the wind blowing and passing by. To lift her spirit from the ghouls created by her mind.

She summoned courage little by little. Her song, she sang it louder and louder. Each dreaded step sent her to the blackened tree, closer and closer. Her heart she clasped, tighter and tighter.

Another step and she was freed with the haunting of the blackened tree. She dared not look back, in herself she celebrated with glee.

Her revelry was short. Beyond the rows of tombs, a dead swamp to her awaits. Thickened by mud, blackened like the tree. Her hands, and her skin, crippled with the cold. But her mind pushed her, cheered her, things will be done soon.

Below the waters, a grave of a thousand beings. Their mourning and weeping bubbled out until the surface of the swamp. Condemned, their hands chained by the jury of the mud. Until eternity, their weary souls were sentenced to drown.

The girl stood still by the edge of the water. She questioned herself, why am I here? Her once restless heart, pounding like a drum. Slower and slower, the beating went lighter and lighter.

Her hands, once cold, were getting warmer and warmer. Her dread was fading, like the night taking over the light. The girl in her baffled state could almost taste peace. The swamp before her, beckoning, welcoming, inviting her in.

With her eyes forward, she took one step to the water. The moaning, and weeping echoed, deafening, more like rejoicing. The mud, as if alive, creeping to her skin. Covering, engulfing, taking over what was left of her.

The wind howled once more, it was threatening and screaming. To the girl’s long hair, it was hurling and pulling. To the girl's unmoving eyes, the wind rammed itself. Wailing, smashing, waking the girl from perilous dreaming.

What are you doing?
Stop!
Wake up, child.
Stop now!
Hear me, child.
No more, step no more.
Child…

"Silly girl, stop it at once!" roared the blackened tree. Its shout hovered over the voices of the swamp. The blackened tree shook its creaking arms. Reaching out for the wind to carry out its words.

The blackened tree whipped the wind with its arms. Strong enough it formed blades in the air. Sharp enough, it travelled past the tombs, past the ghost, past everything else.Β 

Unto the swamp, and unto the girl, the blades cut through her thin skin. Bleeding and hurting, the blades stirred the girl to her stolen senses. Gasping and clawing, she tried to rid herself from the devious mud.

The girl with all her might ran faster than she could. Stumbling and falling didn't matter, she did what she could. Unto the blackened tree, she knew it could be her refuge. The girl had fallen, as the wind stopped its howling.

Hello, everyone.

I'm back again after our internet connection went on vacation for one and a half days. I was thankful it was back yesterday afternoon.

I am very grateful of you being here. Thank you for reading my rather unusual and most times silly articles. Thank you so much. See you again next time. Have a good day.

All images and words in this article are mine.

9
$ 4.95
$ 4.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 6
Sponsors of snapping.turtle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for snapping.turtle
2 years ago

Comments

Aray, cge takbo lang nabparang wala ng bukas.. Pati ako napagod e😊 kahingalπŸ˜…

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you po for reading 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This seems like a dream within a dream. Got me reading to the end.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ahihi thanks po for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can run....but you cannot hide πŸ˜‰

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes! No one can hide from the haunting of the swamp.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your really cool in writing. I myself cant do it. But Im trying. I am now your fan my lovely turtle :-)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you, thank you! You can try writing fiction, little by little. I will support you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you always.you never failed to support me :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The story is sooo good. I usually read huxia stories cause it facinates me the term reincarnation and have been finding ways to read other stories and this is one of my cup of tea. I love it and I became a fan instantly! Im also writing stories and poems and I hope to get a critic at my work. ❀

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much for reading. It really makes me smile like this 😊

I will go over and read your work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey, you can't fool us. Well, at least not me. That's not the tree we are all looking forward to reading about.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha I literally LOL'ed at this. Taympers, I'm on it πŸ˜‚

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ok. But don't laugh too long. We're waiting. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ P.S. No pressure, ya? But get on it already. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought no pressure 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really, no pressure. Writing should be fun and enjoyable. But we're waiting cause reading should be too. Bwahahaha...LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll just pretend I didn't read that πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice story, but did the story of guardian thingy ended already?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks, thanks! The Golden Dragon is still in the oven, cooking pa hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, okay I thought I missed something as I haven't see you in my notifications for a while haha I thought na skip ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ate you are really good in writing πŸ€—πŸ€—. I am speechless. I've learned new words too.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Aww, thank you so much! It really makes me happy when people appreciates my writing 😊😊 😊

Thank you, thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your fiction stories are always amazing. πŸ’—πŸ‘

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you, thank you for reading. You have no idea how much I appreciate it 😊😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome! It's worth our time to read πŸ’—

$ 0.00
2 years ago