Success and In Progress

39 53
Avatar for snapping.turtle
2 years ago

Good evening, ladies, and gentlemen.

I'm here to present to you my successes in life. Although, thinking about it, I can't think of any.

I think everything about me is all in progress. The cross stitch project that I started ten years ago is still in progress. Hey, it's twelve pages long and I'm halfway there. Yeah, excuses, excuses.

A fiction story that I've been meaning to finish and planned to self-publish is still in progress. Hey, it's hard to write a story.

I always have to remind myself to show, not tell. I have to word everything that I imagined. Okay, not everything, reading ten adjectives in a row is a headache. And the hardest part for me is writing a realistic dialogue. You have to be the character, feel what they feel. And when you're at it, out of nowhere there's, Mom, can I use this glass? Mom, can I borrow your pencil? Mom, there's something on the floor! See, it's hard.

Don't look at me like that, I'm not a published author. But when I finally finish it, I'll be one haha. But..it will be self published, mind you. It means that it'll be just the minimum number of copies just so I can display it on my shelf to remind myself of the sweat and blood I poured into it. Hah! Gotcha!

Thinking about it, my definition of success is something that was done and you're happy about it. You jump for joy or maybe it is a source of your relief. My definition of it is something that you have been doing for a long time and finishing it is an achievement.

It might be the reason why I don't see things as a success. I'm really good at hoarding in-progress stuff. Even myself is in progress. Wait, I read that somewhere. If my memory serves me right, it was an article by @zellypearl Yup, I was right, it's here You Are A Work In Progress. Hah! I'm not getting senile yet.

Although, there are things that were a relief that I could consider a success. And things that are a success but are still in progress. Let me name a few.

Passed an ordeal

I have mentioned in one of my articles that I have Placenta Previa in my second pregnancy. Why was it an ordeal? Because it was so damn hard.

It was fine in the first three months, but come the last six months. I had to lie down all day. Any sudden movements or even stress would cause bleeding, it can even result to premature labor. I was scared the whole time, not for myself but for my child.

I have talked to her a million times, even plead to her that if she could just hold on a little longer. We just have to finish the 8th month and she will be ready.

How I asked God a million times to spare my child. Especially during my bleeding moments. Especially during those days when my baby would not move. Dagnamit, it scared the shit out of me. It felt like being sucked in a blackhole while also pleading to my child to move.

By God's grace, we passed the ordeal. It was a success for both of us, surviving together the difficult nine months.

Heaving a sigh as a skill

You do that in front of my mom, she'll whack your behind.

As a child, we were being disciplined by whacking. Not doing what was told? Whack. Throw a hissy fit? Whack. Grumble when she's lecturing? Whack. Talk back? Whack. Disrespect them in any way? That's a big whack.

But I don't do whacking. I don't know why, even in my highest point of anger I just can't. But having to deal with a rather curious child while having my patience and my temper in check, I successfully mastered a skill. That's right, heaving a sigh.

Just the other day, I told my eldest daughter to keep quiet because her little sister was sleeping. Instead of just zipping it like I asked, I was bombarded with questions pertaining to what if she needed to sneeze, what if she needed to do this and to do that. My goodness, I just told her to keep it down.

Now this is where my skill comes in handy. I heave a sigh, and it's done. She would move and continue with whatever she's doing.

I guess it all started when she began testing her boundaries. During those times I would tell her that I'm not gonna hear anymore excuses followed by a sigh. Later on, it became just a sigh, she already knew what it meant.

Little endeavors done are successes too

In this platform, aside from RR, we are here for the community too. As what @HappyBoy has stated in his entry, it is a success for him for every meaningful comments, upvotes and appreciation he got from his articles is a success. Well, I couldn't agree more.

I have the same sentiment when someone really enjoys reading my articles. I write things in a weird way, that's how I enjoy writing. It's really a boost of my confidence when someone actually likes it.

The very important success to me is being able to get by the day without major problems. Being complete in one roof every sleeping and waking moments. Being healthy and away from illness in these uncertain times.

How about you, would you like to share your successes in life?

This is my entry of the weekly writing prompt Success.

If you have successes in mind that you'd like to share, come, join. All you need to do is

  1. Write it in your own words (that covers 100% original). Make sure it's 600 words too for RR's sake.

  2. Submit it to PromptlyJonica, this is a community. I forgot, you have to join the community first before you can submit.

  3. Enjoy!

I'm getting lazy in adding the links of my previous articles. It's so hard to type in a small phone.

But if you enjoyed my article, you are very much welcome to visit my humble profile. This little turtle has a lot of candies.

All words and images are mine.

Thank you, thank you for reading. Smile and have a great day.

11
$ 11.16
$ 10.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.08 from @HappyBoy
+ 11
Sponsors of snapping.turtle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for snapping.turtle
2 years ago

Comments

I love your confidence in writing and I can perceive your expression in the context of what you've written. I wish I'm such a good writer as you. I'm learning anyway, thumbs-up πŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a child i was always told not to sigh, i got scolded. numerous times just buy sighing... My 3rd and last pregnancy is placenta previa case, so it automatically cs.. Thank God everything went well.. We survived our ordeal

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Same as me, sighing in front of a parent is a sure whack in the butt hahaha.

Mine was emergency CS, my child wants to get out earlier than the scheduled operation. My goodness, I thought I wont be experiencing labor because my OB scheduled the CS early. But she was earlier LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So excited to see the crazy worldπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are so brave my lovely turtle. Those difficulties with your pregnancy that time is really a success. You fight it together with your baby.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I love that sigh! Am so glad your second pregnancy turned out okay in the end, that must have been so scary, well you are a success in many ways, and yes for me to a success if someone likes what we write!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am thankful that it turned out fine and done at last. It was a great relief to me when my doctor told me that they got her while I was half concious in the operating room.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I can imagine the relief when you actually saw her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats for getting through a difficult pregnancy! That sigh is like my mom's glare and those eyes were magnified by the glasses she wore lol!

Coming here every day is a success for me :D After work and in the middle of work, I check this site and noise. It's a productive distraction. I'm doing things and I'm happy :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for dropping by. Oh yeah, some moms glare, my husband calls it "the glare of death" or "courting death" hahaha. I do that too, but not as effective as the sigh.

I like that productive distraction. Unlike FB and Twitter diba, distracted ka pero wala namang balik. At least dito meron.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May baby kana pala? I thought you are still a student and single? Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha hindi ba halata? Parang bata magsalita, 'no? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's not my point oy. Hehe. It's not what you think πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I know :P (walang emoji sa pc)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I liked reading your success in progress;) Your daughter is like my son always inquisitive, hehe! It must have been very hard to have a placenta previa. And your cross stitch project in progress reminds me of my granny square's crochet quilt, eight years and "in progress", haha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha I guess I'm not the only one who have handcraft laying around that is still in progress.

I guess most children are like that. They love to ask questions, even to us the answers are obvious. But they ask it anyway.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, my son now is a teen, and he keeps been inquisitive, hehe. But I love that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your unfinished cross-stitch reminded me of a similar project I have started on a rug maybe 30 plus years ago. It's half-finished and now nowhere in sight. It's been lost in ally moving around.

God's grace is amazing. Glad to hear of your miracle child. God is great.

You're right that being healthy is a success. Getting through the day is a success. Me being able to read and finish article is a success.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Mine is just inside the box, waiting...waiting...waiting for me to pick it up again πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved reading this. Medyo napatawa din ako. Kulit ng babies kasi curious pa nga naman sila. Haha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha curious cat e. Nakakatawa na nakakainis. Pag may bata ka sa bahay kailangan mo ng maraming patience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Ako di pa ready, kaya ayoko mun. Teka alaws pa pla jowa lol!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha okay lang yan, darating din yan si jowa. Basta enjoy mo muna ang pagiging single. Hindi na yan babalik pag double na at may bubwit pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. I love your child already because I seem to be the inquisitive type too. I mean why on earth does she have to keep quiet or keep it low?πŸ˜ΉπŸ˜‚πŸ€·β€β™€οΈ But that heave of sigh was a big relief when she understood it hahaha, that was more like a sign or body language lol.

Whack whack whack hahaha. Seems your mom did a lot of whacking lol.

As for your baby, I am so thankful to God that she made it past that panicking stage, and you both were in good health. She did really listen and hung in there, didn't she? What's a nice success story and thanks for the honour of mention.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

In the olden days, that's how they do disipline, whacking. Sounds barbaric, but it works. You'll straigten up in no time πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

I am really thankful that she listened to me ang hung on for nine months. I am also thankful to God that nothing bad happened to us during those times. It was truly a success.

As both of my children, this little one is already showing attitude that is the same as her older sister. In a couple of years I'll be dealing with two 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And here I thought you're only a teenager..sorry I never read your past articles about you having difficult pregnancy.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha I sound so childish, noona? It was all good. I thank God that it's done and we did got through it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess little kids are like that, always inquisitive. You answer one then comes another hehe. I can imagine how adorable your daughter is with those questions and reasoning. And it's also amazing that she get what you meant when you sigh. Brilliant kid she must be!

And yes, we are all a work in progress - towards success :) All the best by the way on that fiction writing you're on toπŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much po for dropping by.

We taught her to reason out and ask questions. But sometimes it is really over the top I need to summon the power of sigh πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure :) She's a smart kid for applying what you've taught her and also understanding what your sigh meantπŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the Mention Turtle πŸ™πŸ’š. I can imagine the kind of kind it is trying to concentrate on writing and having an inquisitive kid around asking various questions and reasonsπŸ˜‚. Getting the work done even with the distraction is a Success.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You're welcome, Valour 😊 I like what you said there. For someone who appreciates your work is a success in your part. Hahaha you're right, getting things done despite the distraction is a success

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Instead of just zipping it like I asked, I was bombarded with questions pertaining to what if she needed to sneeze, what if she needed to do this and to do that. My goodness, I just told her to keep it down. - aigoooo this is just too cute to handle. I mean, yeah she needs to keep quite but I just find it too cute how she reason out the needs to do things while keeping it quite. I really find it cute. πŸ₯°

But yes, even small things we completely done for a day is consider a success. Hopefully you will be able to publish your book soonest. ☺️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha jusko, makakalbo ka talaga sa kanya e. Sobrang kulit. We taught her that she can reason out naman. Pero grabe, hindi nauubos ang tanong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabeee yung mind niya talaga, ang lawak. Feeling ko naiinis ka na natatawa nalang sa kanya. Ang cute. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, nakakainis na nakakatawa. Minsan wala na akong maisagot, napapabuntong-hininga na lang ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heavy sigh nalang talaga. Pero you got the best daughters. πŸ’—

Stay safe po kayo lahat. πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Just the other day, I told my eldest daughter to keep quiet because her little sister was sleeping. Instead of just zipping it like I asked, I was bombarded with questions pertaining to what if she needed to sneeze, what if she needed to do this and to do that. My goodness, I just told her to keep it down."

I am sorry I couldn't help but to laugh so hard upon reading this HAHAAHAH. Your kid is so cute , a great way to test your temper too. Hopefully ma published mo na yung ginagawa mong book πŸ€—

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yun nga sabi ko sa noise, I need that bottomless patience and temper hahaha.

I am hoping that next year matapos ko na siya. I consider it as an achievement for myself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago