Learn how to be confidently confident

15 58
Avatar for sjbuendia
2 years ago
Topics: Confidence

I always admire someone who exudes confidence and wish I could be like them. I used to have this idea all the time, and I wondered how those folks could be so confident and fearless. They simply state what they want. They don't appear to be considering what they should say. And I told myself,

"How do I act like that?"

"How did I get to be that way?"

Confidence, I've discovered, is a learned skill. It's something you can learn. It makes no difference what you are in life. Anyone can learn to be confident. I'm going to share some strategies that I've utilized to boost my confidence. Don't anticipate too much from these suggestions because they aren't very excellent. But, if it worked for me, I feel it will work for you as well.

I used to have trouble striking up a conversation with strangers. I was simply the most introverted person with a terrible self-esteem. And since that time, I have evolved and matured so much that I feel like I'm a whole different person. I can't tell how much happier I've gotten once you've let go of all your concerns and doubts. It's as though my life was filled with joy and happiness. So, if you want to learn how to be confidently confident, let's get started immediately.

Pursue your dreams

I know how it feels to be sitting at your desk at work and wishing you were someplace else, doing something else, or how it feels to be at home, perhaps just before going to sleep, and daydreaming about what your life could be.

However, you're too terrified to take that first step. Well, that's what you want to do, then that is exactly what you need to do to help you grow your confidence. You'll gain more confidence in yourself if you listen to your desires, trust your instincts, and go for it.

Not simply the kind of confidence you exhibit other people while you're talking to them or doing things, but the kind of confidence you have in yourself and your ability to do the things you want to do. So being able to think of something you want to accomplish and just do it is a very crucial talent to have in life.

Maybe you don't believe you can accomplish it, or you don't think you have the abilities, or you don't think you're good enough. Perhaps you're worried about what others will think of you or how your friends and family will judge you.

Because self-love is all about looking inward and taking care of yourself, you'll eventually have to let go of these explanations, doubts, and excuses. When we allow outside critiques to influence us, even if people haven't actually criticized you, we are worried that they will do so or that they will judge us. Right?

But when you let go of everything and decide, "I'm going to do this," it's a different story. It makes no difference what others believe or say about me. I'm going to take a chance into myself. You've loaded that confidence skill. You're honing your confidence in yourself, knowing that you can do it whether or not others believe in you. And that is extremely significant. So, if something sprang to mind as I said this recommendation, I strongly advise you to pursue it.

Get out of your comfort zone

Image credits to: https://www.inspirationboost.com/twenty-seconds-of-bravery/20-seconds-of-bravery/

All you have to do now is be bold and say, "I'm going to do it." That's all there is to it. You have to do it now that you've volunteered and taken the initiative. But all you need is a little bit of guts to push yourself the edge. You've decided to go ahead and do it.

My YFC leader once told me, "Sj, I think you should do the talk," and I agreed later on. And it'll be you giving the talk in front of fifty people, with a script that you've just partially learned. Because I was already a leader, I had to perform this throughout many services. "Hell, no in my mind." I said when he asked me to do it. But I was too like, "You know Sj, I think you're gonna be really good at this."

And for the entire week coming up to it, I was completely uncomfortable. I felt physically nauseous as I considered giving the talk. It would hit me like a wave of nausea. "Oh, my goodness, I can't do this." Fear gripped me.

I can't tell you how terrified I was. But that was horrifying, to say the least. But I took a risk and went outside of my comfort zone. I've done it before. I did it once more. I repeated the process over and over. And it became simpler with each passing day. My self-assurance grew. And I developed that skill as well as public speaking because I'd never had the opportunity to speak in front of an audience before.

That is why it is critical to venture outside of your comfort zone. Because if you stay in your small bubble all the time, you'll never progress beyond where you are today. Your life will go in the same manner. That's fine if that's what you want. However, if you know you want larger, better things in your life and want to do certain things but are afraid to accomplish them, all you have to do is step outside of your comfort zone and say yes to opportunities that come your way. Look for opportunities to do things that will help you grow outside of your comfort zone.

Learn new skill

My entire life has been devoted to Math. When I was little, I enjoyed playing math games, but I secretly wished to attend MTAP classes and learn a lot. But I was terrified because I worried that I wouldn't be good enough. That's crazy, because you go to a teacher to learn something so you may become better and enjoy a better life, right?

So, I went to MTAP lessons, and it completely altered my life. I've never found anything as enjoyable as Math or MTAP. I've progressed to the point where I've been invited to compete in Mathematical Investigation (MI) competitions.

We cease learning as we become older, and we stop putting ourselves in circumstances where we can learn. Learning new things or even being in circumstances when we are humiliated for fear of being judged, scolded, or appearing ignorant. But learning, on the other hand, is the only way to go through life.

You must continually learn new skills if you want to continue to grow, persevere, and succeed in life. Although you will be forced to remain a newbie throughout the process, don't be frightened to appear foolish. That is the idea, since yes, you may appear foolish at first. But in four months, when you've matured and learnt a lot. You can show off your skills around Christmas and realize you're getting really good at it.

"Wow, how did you learn that?" others will ask.

"I wasn't afraid to look stupid." is what you may tell them later.

So be brave enough to be a beginner!

Conclusion

Confidence helped me do all of these

It was actually a lot of pleasure for me to learn how to be confident. You have the opportunity to try new things and meet new people. Being confident has transformed my life from a shy person to an engaged public speaker.

When I was in high school, it propelled me to greater heights. I was able to partake in MTAP contests despite merely being a regular student. For the previous six years, every MTAP delegate from various levels has been a Special Science Class (SSC) student, but when I arrived, that changed. I challenged the SSC students after speaking with the Grade 7 MTAP coach. That's how I got to MTAP, but how do you think I'd get there if I didn't have confidence?

I would not have been chosen if I had remained silent, because coaches do not select regular students. I'm good in math, but I'll never be discovered if I don't have confidence in myself. Aside from that, I competed in TV broadcasting competitions, declamation, oration, debates, and served as an emcee for some of our school's events.

So I'm not here to brag, but I do want to share this with you because I want you to be as confident as I am. I'm confident you'll shine even brighter than I do. Just always have some courage to pursue your dreams, get out of your comfort zone and learn a new skill.

Lead image credits to thejakartapost.com

This article is free from plagiarism.

10
$ 6.15
$ 5.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Yen
+ 5
Sponsors of sjbuendia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sjbuendia
2 years ago
Topics: Confidence

Comments

Being confident on your works and achievements in a simple way is everything. I mean, I am confident to be this person that I am today, proud of my achievements, but I always keep that confidence in silence to avoid misconceptions - especially coz people might call u "mayabang".

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Opo meron din po kayong punto diyan at when time really comes for some person that they were able to achieve something na for them was too big kaya minsan nagiging mayabang pero that's the struggle din eh, keeping your heads above the water. Pero may times din kasi na yung iba overreacting naman sa ginagawa mu pero whatever it is man, keep living on the things that you think was best pero try to have an open heart also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all nakakaalis sa comfort zone nila hehe.

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Hahaha problema lang sa panic zone tayo napunta... Chos... Kayo din...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Believe me I am happy to hear the way you developed yourself as a confident being.A long time ago I was also a believer that confidence is something which is we get with our birth but later I realised that we can be confident at any time in our life,all we need is the power to be confident.These tips are really helpful.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, confidence actually is not only a skill but sometimes also it is just something that pops out of a person because they believed in themselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm greatful to have a father who thought me how to get rid of stage fear... he once taught me "remember one thing on stage, remind yourself that everybody sitting down there are dumb idiots, then your mind can think whatever you speak is good and your brain will be confident to speak"... it always worked for me lol... confidence is very important, for that, we need to believe strongly that we are good

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, I really agree with you. Mom thou has a different tip, just think nobody is watching. That's all that she said. But like you said, confidence really just comes out if you believe in yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all po talaga confident 🤧 kailan ko kaya magagawa yab 🤧

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Take small steps. Face the mirror and love everything you have, yourself. Have faith in your skills 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako talaga wala akong ganyan, hahaha. Or baka di ko lang pansin..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Meron kaya nang 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, thank you..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Confidence is gained through hard work. You can't be just confident without doing anything. You work hard dear, that's where your confidence comes from.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I also agree with your point. Confidence can be developed or earned in any ways

$ 0.00
2 years ago