547 Leaflets were Distributed: The Town Reacts - What is Bitcoin Cash?

26 720
Avatar for sjbuendia
4 years ago

Part 1

Last night

I couldn't sleep, I was very excited and this is a new experience to me. I haven't tried making projects before, so this one is the first.

How I prepared

Last night, I just get all of my shirts off of the cabinet and choose the best shirt to wear. I want to look good of course, that looks who will convince everybody that I am trustworthy. Then finally, I went to bed around 2 am(Philippine time).

How I started it?

In the morning when I woke up, I realized something very important.

I need to take photos of myself distributing the leaflets and while talking to the people. I can't do it alone so I asked a friend to lend me some hand. At around 11 am, a friend confirmed that he is willing to help me (after asking 15 friends) and that we decided to go by 12 noon.

Before we could meet, my aunt went in our house and I told her about Bitcoin Cash. She was very interested and willing to learn. She just registered before 12 noon in the username Shasha at read.cash.

My friend and I met in some place near my house and then made our way to the town market.

The ride is about 10-15 mins at an average speed of 55km/hr. You can always hear an alarm if the speed reaches 60 km/hr.

My friend Allan sat on a chair and discussed what do we need to do. Before I could start speaking, Allan butted in.

"Ano ang Bitcoin Cash pre?" or in English "What is Bitcoin Cash bro?"

I was totally excited that time and did really forgot that Allan hasn't any idea about it. He just joined me because of boredom. I explained him thoroughly and while I was telling this to him, I could see a smile getting bigger sculpted on his face.

He downloaded local.bitcoin.com wallet and I took a photo of him.

He wants to take a photo with the leaflets.

Allan and I also planned that while I was giving leaflets he should take a picture of it and vice versa. Somehow, this plan didn't work because there were less than enough number of people in the market. So, we couldn't just let them pass us and lost the chance of making them learn about Bitcoin Cash.

Pictures with Stories

Two Kinds of Reaction

The Inquisitive Woman

This was the second woman to receive our leaflets because the first is my aunt. When I have given her this leaflet, she had this look that could cut me in any second.

I just said, "We are spreading the good news Tita."

*Tita- this also refers to aunt but you only don't have any connection. We usually use this word. Like if you buy in the store and the owner was a woman you would say.

"Tita, tagpila ni siya?" in English "Auntie how much is this?" (Little trivia)

So, after I gave her the leaflet, I already left since Allan wasn't with me already. He was busy giving also.

Now after 2 hours, we crossed this store owner again. She was calling us and I was surprised. I did entertain her and while I do, Allan continue what he should do.

She had almost 25 questions and I never stopped answering her. She's asking about deeper understanding of BCH, the price why it can go up (I only put in the leaflet that it can go up because I want to attract them. I also put short definition about BCH because I wish to make more interaction with them.), and how to accept payment in her store and so much more. I was very happy of this and at the end of our conversation she had given her own suggestions on how to make improvements in our(not mine anymore, Allan is involved) project.

Allan giving the leaflets

Everytime we give them leaflets, some don't want to accept it. And this man, was one of the few.

"We do not accept solicitations!", the man said while we were approaching and Allan said with a low voice,

"This is only an information about Bitcoin Cash sir, and we are spreading it. We are not soliciting."

The man hardly staring at the leaflet finally accepted it then we left.

At this time, we had almost given a hundred.

Just pictures

Sorry, it's kinda blur. Allan was in a hurry.

For almost 4 hours of going around the market, we were able to distribute 547 leaflets.

The people in my town after asking what is this and when we say it is Bitcoin Cash, you can see it in their faces that they haven't heard of it. After taking some time and see that almost received the leaflets, we went to plaza to give the remaining 53.

There were no people in the plaza, it is very quite.

Allan and I decided to take a break and bought some snacks.

We both haven't taken our lunch when we left our homes. So we spent our own money to buy this. After discussing how everyone reacts, we are happy and sometimes we laugh because there are a lot of people who say " We don't accept solicitations." (It's how they think of us)

After this, we waited and no people had come in the plaza. Allan kept the leaflets and he is planning to give it in his neighbours when he arrived home.

Overview

We are happy to receive positive reactions and willingness from people. Some have given their suggestions for further improvements which only shows that they are willing to learn and to spread this good news that Bitcoin Cash have brought them after reading the leaflets.

In the part 2 of this article, we will discuss our future plans (what the people in my town suggested) and how we spent your donations.

The project is still open for donations.

Thank you guys :) Your donations made the people in my town learn about Bitcoin Cash.

2
$ 103.50
$ 45.00 from @MarcDeMesel
$ 25.00 from @huckfinne
$ 5.00 from @btcfork
+ 18
Sponsors of sjbuendia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sjbuendia
4 years ago

Comments

I'm in Manila, lets be friends.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

https://mobile.twitter.com/sjbuendia12

We can talk in Twitter sir.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

We will be friends. However, I live in Iloilo City.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Please give people some BCH and teach them how to use it.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thank you... That would be awesome...

$25 × 90% = 22.5 Since 10% goes to read.cash for its development.

$0.50 per people or $0.25 You choose...

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Or $5 to three people and you keep $7.50. $5 is, I think, enough real money that people can exchange it for useful goods and services. That would be fantastic.

$ 0.10
4 years ago

I will... On our next distribution, I will send them your money in BCH... Thanks, it would be a big help. Btw, do you think I should distribute this to store owners for a demo of how to receive bitcoin cash so that they can start accepting bch

$ 0.00
4 years ago

p.s. for the store owners. Some of them probably have smartphones and could run the Bitcoin Cash Register app from bitcoin.com.

I am working on a plan right now to get people together to translate the explanation video for that app:

https://youtu.be/sjChgfXwkjU

It might be helpful if you could look at the Youtube autotranslation for Filipino language and see if it needs any correction.

It would also be great help for locals to have audio track in their native language. Bitcoin.com have indicated that they would be grateful if people could produce such local 'dubbing' for the video, and submit to them so they can publish localized versions in their YT channel.

Maybe someone in your community has the ability to record it, once the Filipino subtitle text has been checked and possibly corrected for accuracy. It does require the audio and voice to be high quality, otherwise it cannot be used. Not everyone's voice is very suitable to this task.

$ 0.00
User's avatar btcfork
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
4 years ago

I will check this one out tomorrow. I am having bad connection here. It takes a very long time to respond.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

No problem! :-)

$ 0.00
User's avatar btcfork
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
4 years ago

I have a little trouble. First, I didn't know how to access the auto translation of YouTube. I searched it on Google and followed their instructions. But it's not working.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I think you need to find a way to get some BCH coming into your local community (spread over people) before it will help store owners.

If there are any people who already sell stuff over the Internet, they can use BCH nearly immediately with sites like OpenBazaar, Haven app etc.

Store owners accepting BCH is easy because they can set up without much trouble or cost at first (could just work off QR codes), and it could help them to advertise your town / region as a friendly destination for Bitcoin Cash users.

Like the BCH City (Townsville) in Australia. I think it will be good to explain to your community that BCH is global, sound money which is not controlled by anyone, and show them examples of how it is starting to be used in places over the world for various things (commerce, charity, people earning a living over the Internet etc).

$ 0.00
User's avatar btcfork
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
4 years ago

Actually, it was on my plan to introduce them OpenBazaar as substitute to Shopee of Philippines. It was also written in my leaflets.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

i want to sell my digital products online such as artwork etc but how can accept BCH in my country coinpayment service is not available

$ 0.00
4 years ago

There are several options for online markets, payment services, plugins for Wordpress, Badger Button, paywalls like satoshiwall.cash .

In last resort you can simply put up a bitcoincash address with your product and people can pay to that address directly.

I would recommend you to ask this question:

i want to sell my digital products online such as artwork etc but how can accept BCH

on the forum https://reddit.com/r/btc

and provide more details about your particular needs. You might be surprised how much information resources you will get.

$ 0.00
User's avatar btcfork
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
4 years ago

thanks for reply

$ 0.00
4 years ago

great work!

one remark: I think you should be honest and also mention in the leaflet that the price can go down, too

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I was also considering that. Tomorrow, I will change it.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Does your town have any pizza places?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

We do have. Why did you ask?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Great effort! Well done!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

One Month in read.cash already <3

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Nice! Time flies!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I haven't noticed this until I explored the articles I made last time. I saw, it was 4 weeks ago.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Great work! Is this leaflet available somewhere?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Just in my town. I made that leaflet. It was translated in our own language. I think you can also make your own.

$ 0.00
4 years ago