How to pass board exams?

1 34
Avatar for sirmagz32
3 years ago

According to Benjamin Franklin “ If you fail to plan you are planning to fail.” It is a famous quotation for Business Management student like me since planning is one the management functions.

Taking national board examination is not that easy. One must be prepared enough because I believe it is not a test of luck and chance. If you want to be a professional especially adding that abbreviations title before or after your name like Dr., Atty., RN, LPT, you must pass that particular examination once. If you failed, don’t worry but you can try it next time.

I took Civil Service Examination - Professional level three times before I passed the exam. The passing rate is 80% and most of the questions cover English and Math subjects. Yes, time was limited during the exam. You are not allowed to bring mobile phones or calculators, so you need to manually compute those problems in Mathematics. Basic grammar, identifying errors, vocabulary and reading comprehension are the coverage in English.

On my first attempt, that was when I was in college, pressured because of my thesis and other requirements needed for our graduation, I only got 60%+ on my average score. Next attempt was taking it online in Civil Service main office in Quezon City when I was working as a call center agent in Alabang. I was tired from work and still unprepared to take the exam. After 3-5 minutes of the online exam, the result will appear in your computer screen if you pass or fail. But then again I failed. Third attempt, this time I had ample time reviewing some lessons I had in high school. I was not working that time and ready to face that exam. Thanks God I took the paper pencil test in Dipolog City last 2014 and I got 81.80% as my average score.

I tried to apply in some government agencies like SSS and GSIS but I never got hired. So I what I did was, during my day offs, I studied again in a nearby college school for me to have Education units. Praise God this time I passed the Teachers board examination by just one take. The passing rate is you need to have an average points of 75% and I got 81%. The agony of waiting for 2 months was not that easy but when the results was released online, it was a mixed of emotion then.

 

I just want to share some tips and things to do before taking board examinations. Taking board examination is a self-test. You are the only one who will answer those questions in a given period of time. Copying or cheating is a big no no. You need to do your part before and during the big day. 

 

1. Resources. Gather all the resources needed. What are those resources by the way? Resources are your books, soft and hard copy reviewers, reading materials and other sources of information needed for you to be prepared during the exam. If you cannot gather all those resources, at least you tried to read some. If you cannot afford to buy reviewers or review in a review center, there are free reviewers online. I did not went to a review center, I only had my self-review sessions during weekends or free time.

2. Review. Review by reading your resources. Don’t be lazy this time. Aim if not to be on top 10 at least your goal is to have a high passing grade. Read and read those resources you have. You can write important infos in a piece of paper and you can post those papers on top or beside your bed for you to remember those info easily. Whether you will have a group review, self-review or you are reviewing in a review center, focus on it and put those important details not just in your mind but also in your heart. 

3. Rest/Relax. Aside from reviewing, our body needs rest. Do not spend all your time reviewing those available resources. Have time to walk, jog outside, play your favorite sports like basketball or badminton or you can stroll around our mother nature. Take time to relax because we are not robots or machines. Reserved more energy for the real battle - examination day. If possible a week or few days before the scheduled day of the exam, put those reviewers away. This time, watch motivational video or you may watch your favorite movies, ask for prayers from your family and friends or you can listen to some inspirational songs. Again, rest.

4. Recharge. What I mean with recharge is we need to charge ourselves again to the true source of wisdom who is God. According to His Scripture in James chapter 1 verse 5 “If any of you lack wisdom, you should ask God who gives generously to all without finding fault and it will be given to you.” Yes have faith that you can make it. Claim the victory and the promises of God that He will give you a bright future. I remember then when I was taking teachers board exam, we were given 15 minutes before taking the next subject, during those free times I used my phone as we were allowed during break time and I listened to my favorite worship songs. Using my headset, I repeatedly listened to “You are my strength” song because that song gave me courage, inspiration and victory.

 

5. Ready. A day before the exam, be ready. You need to prepare those things needed on the exam like your pencil, id, notice of examination and other important things you need to bring. Don’t forget to bring some cholate candies and water or some energy drink for you not be tired and sleepy during the exam. By doing this 5 R’s mntioned: Resources, Review, Rest, Recharge you are now Ready to face the real battle. Do it now for you to savor success tomorrow. Of course we can do all things through Christ who strengthens us.

2
$ 0.07
$ 0.07 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
Sponsors of sirmagz32
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sirmagz32
3 years ago

Comments

Thankyou sir! 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago