My OJT Journey

0 19
Avatar for sijey07
1 year ago

On-the-job training is a component of a college curriculum designed to educate and prepare students for their future careers. It is a sort of skill development in which a worker learns how to do the job by doing it. On-the-job training is one approach by which students are exposed to various work situations in order to provide them with the opportunity to use the theories and computations that they have acquired in school. It also assists students in gaining relevant knowledge and skills by allowing them to perform in a real-world situation.

Sponsors of sijey07
empty
empty
empty

On-the-job training is critical not only for teaching students about their chosen career but also for demonstrating the realities of working. Students will be exposed to real-world work linked to the course they are enrolled in. It also allows folks with no prior expertise to work while learning. It also allows trainees to learn more about their chosen industry and put what they've studied in school into practice. It aids in the development of the trainee's interpersonal competence and professionalism. It improves the learners' critical thinking skills and discipline.

Proper on-the-job training aids trainees in their preparation for their future career as professionals. What trainees learnt throughout their on-the-job training can be implemented in the workplace. Trainees will be educated not just academically, but also socially. It will no longer be an issue for them to work and communicate with others. It also allows trainees to immerse themselves in their chosen field and gain experience and knowledge in the industry they are interested in.

Unfortunately, during this pandemic, actual training for the students was prohibited. Since the university wants its students to be safe. Due to that policy, companies didn’t accept trainees because they aren’t entertaining a training virtually. Some companies offered an online training, but I chose to work at the university. Specifically, I was destined to work at CEAFA - Dean’s Office. In this regard, this narrative report will discuss the experience achieved through the on-the-job training program.

Last February 9, 2022, our supervisor calls a meeting in the university. During that day, we are informed on what will be our tasks to do in our destined department. He allows us to select one day to duty in the department in actual, and the remaining two days will be a work from home set up. I chose Tuesday as the day of my duty. But we (me & co-trainee) talk about our first duty, and we attended our first duty on February 14, 2022, since my co-trainee has an event the next day. During my first duty, I am not that happy since I didn’t fulfill to have my on-the-job training in my dream company. But as days goes by, I get over into that dream and start facing the reality and enjoy working on it. During the next and following duties I was able to arrive on time and do every task that asked on me with a smile.

As a trainee in the university CEAFA – Dean’s Office Department I have learned a lot of things. I learned on how to love the work even it is not my dream kind of work. I learned on how to be patient in doing things repeatedly. I learned on how to treat co-employees kindly and with respect as considering them one of my bosses since, they’re higher than me.

The first task that was asked to me was compiling the contract of service of the employees of CEAFA. This task was hard for me since their contract and ID’s were separated and I need to find and to combine them. Also, it took a lot of hours before I finished all of it, since CEAFA department contains a large numbers of employee.

Second task was putting the student number or sr-code of the graduates together with the latest year that they enrolled and graduated in the university. Me and my partner was alternate in doing this task since we only used the huge touch screen monitor inside the office. It causes me a headache at some point because of facing that large monitor for a long time.

During the next duty, we continue doing the graduates thing, which is to put their sr-codes and the latest year that they enrolled and graduated to the university. But this time, we used a small monitor or the computer in the office. Doing the task in this set up is much easier that the last time we did.

The last task was asked by my supervisor, and another professor from CEAFA department. The task that my supervisor asked to me was about the ABET, I did it quickly since it only needs to transfer the content of a file into another file. That’s why another professor approach me and asked for a help in checking the curriculum vitae of the employees in her department.

Thank you for reading this article! God bless you! Keep safe!

2
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @ZehraSky
Sponsors of sijey07
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sijey07
1 year ago

Comments