Dazed & Confused

6 26
Avatar for sh33la
Written by
2 years ago

I am just an old dog learning new tricks here. I am still finding my way around the communities and their expectations. Of course, I started with the Freewriting Community, as freewriting is something I am somewhat familiar with.

Ok, I thought I was familiar but not too sure anymore. I have been told point blank that the last post submitted to the Freewriting community is not a freewrite.

Being inspired by some canes I had seen earlier, I set the timer, typed, then fixed typo and grammar and then posted. The post was rejected though. Checking the rules, I guess it could be because I did not use one word for the title. Perhaps instead of going with The Magic Wand That Turns Naughty Kids To Good, I should have just gone with "Cane" or "Magic Wand". That could have been mistake number 1.

Going through the community though, I do see more than one word titles and some posts that add to my confusion.

I am not sure why I got the "Text written in bold is not accepted". Is that a generic comment or directed at my post because I can't see anything in bold. Am I missing something?

Anyways, it is a shame because that post was a freewrite. Or at least, my understanding of it. Which is to type what comes to mind against the timer. Though true, I did mess up with the title. So, I accept. My bad.

I am now wondering, does this post go under Freewriting? I am not even sure anymore. But I am going to try posting it there anyways, in the hopes of getting some answers.

So let me apologise upfront if I am being a pain and also say thank you, for taking the time to read.

I am hoping to get some answers because I do like freewriting. It allows my mind to go places that overthinking does not make space for. I love the freedom it gives to an idea or thought, taking me to places that I had forgotten, and sometimes didn't even know existed.

Let's hope this old dog gets a better idea of expectations so she can be part of this community.

The first time, I posted here on read.cash I got two thumbs down. That time I ran for the hills, licking my wounds. Ok, I am being dramatic or maybe not. It did take me two months to step back in.

This time I am staying so I can understand things better of how things work here. If any of you can help me wrap my head around the best way to do this, I would appreciate it.

Lead Image: Photo by Anthony DeRosa from Pexels

6
$ 0.12
$ 0.10 from @Vibration101
$ 0.01 from @sgbonus
$ 0.01 from @Princessbusayo
Avatar for sh33la
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I'm sorry that happened, and I'm looking forward to reading "The Magic Wand" next. I posted 'my first time ever....freewriting' a few days ago and it was literally me typing and putting my thoughts down. there was no flow or organization whatsoever lol, but it was approved?

My understanding of freewriting though is this. Set a timer, write for every second that timer is running, and stop when it stops. I did this with my free write, put a divider, and underneath wrote that I'm finished and how long i set my timer for. I didn't go back and edit grammar or add images like I would to a normal article, I even left the last sentence of my freewrite cut off (which bothers me to no end lol).

I loved this article, I love your style, and I hope you keep posting. I feel like I'm having a conversation with you face to face when I read what you write, and I LOVE THAT! Keep up the good work, I appreciate you! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Vibration101

You learn hehe

My understanding of freewrites are, grab a prompt, set timer and just type like the zombies are going to get you if you stop before the buzzer goes off:D

I do like cleaning it up though before posting - it's like a balance for me. I freewrite to get my thoughts out, and for the reader, it must be worth their time on my freewrite.

But I know many who do it exactly like you - and mid sentence like - whoops, timer went off :D

Thank you so much for this comment. I truly appreciate it. It's encouraging <33

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is no need to post in a community at all since read.cash gave up on it. Some frequently used answers are remembered (in a list) and this means it's click and sent. Click means a moderator can click wrong, too fast or not at all or it ends up with the wrong person. At times one post is added more than once to the same community. Strange since this shouldn't be possible. Be sure to mention the prompt, timer and if it comes to the title it can be a word or more than one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What! They gave up on communities 🤦‍♀️

Oh ok, thank you for clarifying on what could have happened @wakeupkitty I was honestly confused like - it was outright NO hehe I feel better already My goodness, this ego is such a fragile thing ;p

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello ma, I also faced this when I joined. I was confused as to which community would suit my content and until I kept searching and finding my ways through communities, I was able to understand how it is. I think this present post of yours is okay for the community and you can also try out creative writing community too. And most times, some people I have met here do not post in any of the community to avoid such response you got.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wondered about not posting to any community and how it works Thank you Princessbusayo Just gotta keep on typing :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago