My Daily Life#13 How I started my week and Setting up a Dubia Colony

0 18
Avatar for sgbonus
3 years ago

Good day guys!

Let me share with you guys what I had to do at 12 in the morning. The night before that my Dubia Cockroach Colony got invaded by red ants. I had to transfer them to another storage box, so I'm going to share with you guys how to set storage space for them.

The first item that you need is a storage box.

I had to make a hole in the lid to produce ventilation. My brother helped me in this process

We heated a knife using our stove

And started cutting it. While cutting it I just hated the smell of burned plastic that's why we did it under an exhaust

We also had a guest who was very curious about what we were doing.

These are the other items that I had to use, a screen mesh, the lid with the hole, and a glue gun.

I use this screen mesh because it is thin enough wherein bugs can't enter through the ventilation.

I then measured the mesh and cut the excess to save it for my other projects.

And started gluing the mesh into the lid using a glue gun.

On my first try, I tried pushing the mesh into the glue from the glue gun and it was too hot so I used a piece of paper to push it down so I won't get burnt.

I also reinforced it by putting glue on top because our cat has the tendency to stay at the mesh of my other storage box.

This is the end product of the lid.

After that, I put the egg crates for them to live in, so it would become a dark place with a lot of hiding spots. On the side of the container, I place a heating mat, just to encourage breeding.

I then put food, water beads, and sometimes the peelings of our fruits.

This is how my colony looks like now, there are nymphs, juveniles, sub-adults and adults. This is how you can differentiate between a female and a male. A male adult has wings. If you look at the photo, below the middle of the photo, that's how a male adult Dubia cockroach looks like.

If you look at the middle, that big black cockroach is the female. I take care of them because they are one of the best protein sources for some of our pets like my brothers' tarantulas. I also prefer taking care of them because they cannot climb smooth edges. They also don't stink. It's just fun to take care of them because I started with only 50 and now I have hundreds of them, I was also able to sell some to my colleague who has a bearded dragon.

After fixing all of that, I tried to go to sleep but I ended up sleeping at around 4 am. I woke up and got ready for work. It just felt so good to look at the sky, clouds, and trees during the morning.

The clouds just looked so amusing while driving myself to work.

Though I was really stupid when I parked. The problem with our car is that it auto-locks itself if the drivers' door closes. I got all my stuff and checked my parking, I forgot to remove the key inside of the car and closed the door and it locked. So I had to call my mom and ask her if she could send the keys to me and she said that she was going out so she'll give them to me later in the day.

We waited again till 9 am before treating patient 1. When we went to patient 1 he said that he wasn't able to sleep last night, and said he still wanted to get treated. He seemed weaker today and we only did 4 rounds of walking. We then went to patient 2 but he just woke up and told us to go back to him later. We were able to treat patient 3, he really wants to go home because he has no cash already. I really felt bad for him and his wife. He just can't go out because his Vitals are really unstable unless they do a HAMA. After that we went down and waited for an hour before going back to patient 2, We were able to treat him and he was able to do 8 steps forward and backward. We then went down and doffed. After that, we ate lunch

After eating lunch, my mom called that they were on their way and I was able to get the car keys.

After that, I checked my email regarding my annual medical checkup, and here are my results. I think I need to change my lifestyle soon before this worsens. I'm really scared of my high uric acid because I already got that twice in a row.

Around 2 pm we treated patient 4 who was a new referral. After his treatment, we went down and disinfected all our equipment and doffed. We then rested till we went out. When I was on my way to the car, the clouds and sky just looked so relaxing to look at.

I then went to gas up because gas prices are going to increase the next day.

It was fairly traffic going home, at least it was moving, compared to getting stuck at one place.

When I got home, I had to clean the bin that the ants attacked. They produced a lot of frass already. You can see that there were dubias that were victims of the ants.

Before going inside our house, I took photos of the sky because the sky was purple.

I then rested and ate dinner. They cooked Steamed Creamy Dory in Light soy sauce.

After eating, I was just playing with Pierre.

Here comes our cat named Yoda. He was trying to hump my brother's foot again.

I just love the way you stare at you when you take photos of him.

I made a mistake and left my door opened. I was smelling pee around my room and I found it, it was on the bag the I use going to work. I know that it is him because his pee had a distinct smell.I was just telling him off and making him feel guilty after that incident.

His face here was like do not disturb me. I hope that you guys had a wonderful day!

Thanks for reading and Stay safe always!

The photos used in this post are owned by me .

EARN BITCOIN CASH BY CREATING AN ACCOUNT HERE AND POSTING

2
$ 5.43
$ 5.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of sgbonus
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sgbonus
3 years ago

Comments