Celebrating the 87th Birthday of our Grandpa

4 35
Avatar for sgbonus
3 years ago
Topics: Philippines, Diary, Life, Blog

Good day, guys!

This January 11, 2021, was an important day for our family because it's my grandpa's 87th Birthday.

We're really lucky that he is still alive despite what happened to him last year wherein he was confined because he had difficulty in breathing. When they rushed him they put him in the COVID19 ICU ward while waiting for his swab test results. Thankfully he was negative. But he still stayed in the ICU for how many days. Eventually, he was able to recover, but I noticed that he tires out easily.


Our grandpas' name is Ricardo but we call him Papa for short. Ever since I was a kid he was the one I've been looking up to because of his work habits and how he thinks. He has problems with his eyes wherein his left eye is completely blind and he could only see a pinhole in his right eye. But that didn't stop him from texting, sending emails, and using youtube for his pastime. He may be almost blind but he still has a big heart. He is very generous to all of us, especially the grandchildren. He always reminds us to pray.




He is usually the one telling a lot of stories whenever we have a gather and he would talk about how difficult life was when he was growing up. He would tell us different kinds of stories about the war, how he used to butcher animals when he was a kid when driving a truck when he was 12 years old and how his college life went. He is also our drinking body, where we would drink with him during some events. I remember how strong of a drinker he was when I accompanied him with his other Friends. You would see his other friends drunk and he wasn't yet but it's also hard to take care of him when he gets drunk because he's heavy and he has difficulty seeing at the same time. But those are all worth it because I was able to bond with him.

He loves my grandma and he would always think about her and how she feels. I'm thankful that both of my grandparents on my mother's side is still alive. I couldn't imagine my life without them.


When we celebrated it wasn't as flashy compared to before. We just had a simple dinner with pancit, chicken, rice cake, and sansrival.

This is my really cool and loving Grandpa!

I only got a few at first but eventually, I went back for seconds.


Whoever made this rice cake did a great job because it was delicious. I also loved the sansrival, it wasn't too sweet. I ate 2 slices of it. I heard that my grandpa ate 3 slices. He loved it!

After eating, We were just catching up with my cousins and watching their dogs. There will be another party on the evening of January 12 to celebrate both birthdays of my grandpa and cousins which is on the 13th.


This is one of my favorite photos that I took of him. Happy Birthday, Papa! Thank you so much for always being there for us. May God continue to bless you and give you more years to come. I Love you so much!

Thanks for reading and Stay safe always!

The photos used in this post are owned by me .

EARN BITCOIN CASH BY CREATING AN ACCOUNT HERE AND POSTING


6
$ 3.32
$ 2.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.03 from @Jeaneth
Sponsors of sgbonus
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sgbonus
3 years ago
Topics: Philippines, Diary, Life, Blog

Comments

Happy birthday to your grandpa

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. Your grandpa is still looking good and strong. Happy birthday to your grandpa! ❤🎂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gosh, another year has passed. I can remember your grandfather's last birthday. All the best for your birthday.🎂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it's as if time flies so fast. Thank you so much! Stay safe always!

$ 0.00
3 years ago