A Troublesome Monday

0 11
Avatar for sgbonus
3 years ago

Good Day Guys

Let me share with you a quick recap regarding my day, every time it's my day off I usually sleep for long periods of time so when it comes to the next day, I usually stay up late so when it comes to the next day I usually sleep late already and when I wake up I'm sleep deprived. This was exactly what happened during my Monday. When I woke up I finished my article then I got ready for work. Before going to work I took a photo. I noticed that the cats that are staying in our compound are sunbathing. I then drove myself to work. Surprisingly, when I got there I was 10 minutes earlier than usual.

When I got to our department, one of my colleagues asked me to put her in the traction machine because her neck was hurting. So I set her up for 15 minutes. While waiting for it to finish I went to the computer and wrote all our patient's names for this week. When I finished writing, we had 3 expected patients. I then texted one of the doctors to ask what shall we do with the 2 patients. The other patient we had to wait for the other doctor who usually does rounds every day during the morning. After, that I heard the machine buzz and turned it off, and told her to get up when she's ready because she might feel dizzy after that. I then helped my other colleague stabilize her while doing the stretches.

Finally, the doctor replied and told us what to do, We then got ready by donning our PPE's before going up. We didn't wait anymore for our other doctor.

Up to now the elevator still doesn't work. I really feel bad for all the senior citizens and the transport aides who have to go through the stairs or ramps. Our department is located in the basement of the building. We then went up to the highest floor and started treating.

We got to patient 1 and he was our jolly patient. When we tried talking to him, his speech worsened because it became more slurred. When we treated him Last Saturday, he could say words that we can understand though he was having a difficult time, now you couldn't understand what he's saying. We are also lucky because, despite that, he can still write on the whiteboard. He's actually a stroke patient. While we were waiting for the electrical stimulation to finish. We were just trying to communicate with him. It's so funny that he would try to casually speak to us with the whiteboard asking us different questions. After the stimulation, we had to exercise the weak side to prevent further muscle loss or contractures. He was also able to tolerate long sitting for around 20 minutes. We finally finished him and went to our next patient. We really liked treating this patient because he gives us good vibes.

Patient 2 was just across the room of patient 1. When we entered the room, I really felt bad for him because he looked like he was worsening. We noticed that he was hot when we felt his arm so we decided to take his body temperature with an axillary thermometer. While waiting for it, I was counting his breath. His Body temperature just kept on rising and his breathing pattern was so fast. His body temperature was 38.8 degrees celsius and his breathing was 40 cycles per minute ( The normal is 12-20 CPM). We said to the watcher that we won't be able to treat him in his condition. We then looked for a nurse to endorse the patient regarding his vital signs. I checked my phone and our doctor texted us what to do with the patient

We went to Patient 3 in an upright position, he looked okay until we checked his vital signs. When my colleague got his BP she got 80/50 mmHG. She asked me to retake it just to make sure. When I got it it was really 80/5. So we had to bring down his backrest and put up his feet and do some ankle pumps. After doing that his BP increased to 100/70. We tried putting him up again in an upright position and the BP went down again to 80/50 so we did the ankle pumps again and decided to do the electrical stimulation while he was lying flat. We were trying to ask if he felt dizzy but he shook his head. Our patient doesn't talk. Finally, his BP stabilized after the electrical stimulation. After that, we transferred him to a bedside chair. I was surprised that he could balance on a chair compared to sit dangling where he would push with his strong side making him fall to his weak side. We were monitoring his BP and it was dropping every 5 minutes so we were only able to make him sit for only 10 minutes because it dropped down again to 80/50. We had to do some more ankle pumps before leaving him and we left him with a BP of 100/70. I didn't expect our other patients to be toxic.

When we went down, we noticed that the 8:30 patient of our colleague was still there and it was already 10:30. There was no transport aide trying to get her despite them paging multiple times. I decided to bring her because I felt bad that she has been waiting there for an hour. I had to ask for help in the first 2 ramps because it was really slippery and steep. I had to pass through 8 ramps pushing the patient with the wheelchair and to be honest it was really tiring. I can't imagine the transport aides doing this every day because there's no elevator. Before going to our department, I gathered some towels because we have to pass by the linen room just to go to our department. I did this to kill 2 birds with 1 stone.

When I got back to our department I disinfected. My colleague brought her bearded dragon whose name is Forest. She asked me to handle him for a while, while she had to get their lunch. So while I was holding him I was scared that he might take a dump on me again. It's really funny to look at him because he was still shedding. It looked like he was wearing trousers. I even balanced origami on top of his head.

We then ate lunch, After that, I had to update the nurses regarding the hypotension of patient 3. Then I received a new referral so I had to text the doctor in charge. I was just resting while waiting. I thought that we would start treating the new patient but the doctor never texted us. Finally, it was 5 o clock and I went out. I had to meet my brother because he had to give me a prescription for my mom. I was telling him to start crypto already.

Before going home, I had to buy cat litter because my mom was complaining that the cat was peeing all over our house. I got home then ate a snack before eating dinner. After eating dinner I saw our cat on our couch sleeping, I wish I could sleep like that. After that I was just using my computer, watching anime, and reviewing before I slept. I hope that your Monday went well

Thanks for reading and Stay safe always!

The photos used in this post are owned by me .

EARN BITCOIN CASH BY CREATING AN ACCOUNT HERE AND POSTING

1
$ 0.51
$ 0.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of sgbonus
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sgbonus
3 years ago

Comments