A 30 Minute Nighmare

0 22
Avatar for sgbonus
2 years ago

Good Day Guys

What's the worse thing that could ever happen when you're keeping exotic pets? Let me share with you what happened with one of my cousins' tarantul which my brother's taking care of while my cousin went home to the States. This is a Psalmopoeus irminia which is also known as “Venezuelan sun tiger” or “Sun tiger”. Last Thursday, we tried pairing this tarantula with the male. We're actually not sure if it was gravid.

Last Night, while my brother was checking all the tarantulas. He noticed that the tarantula was not inside its enclosure. We double-checked and it ESCAPED! We were all in panic mode. We were looking for it. My brother was scared because there were a lot of crevices inside my room, it may have gone there. It's an arboreal species so it may have gone through some of the cracks in our ceiling I was also scared because it was lost inside my room. I was already thinking about where should I sleep, what if it's hiding beneath my clothes and it would suddenly pop out when I pull out a shirt. I heard the bites of these are really painful.

We were all in an adrenaline rush looking for the tarantula. We also video called my cousin about the tarantula. We were informing him about it. He even thought that it was an April Fool's joke but it wasn't. He was waiting for us to say April fools at the end of our statement but we were panicking. He told us good luck in looking for it. My brother was even saying that it hopes that it wasn't gravid because it might eat its egg sac if we don't find it. I also can't imagine waking up and seeing a lot of baby tarantulas in my room. We were looking thoroughly for the tarantula. I even checked all the pairs of my shoes just in case. I can't imagine putting on a shoe and finding a very defensive tarantula biting my foot. Finally, my brother saw a leg in between the shelf and the wall and we were hoping that it was the one.

My shelf was full of enclosures of tarantulas and books so we had to remove the other enclosures so we will be able to move the shelf. The shelf was really heavy but we were able to move it. When we looked closer we confirmed that it was the tarantula. Finally, after 30 minutes of looking for it, we finally found it. We don't what time it escaped. I'm just glad that we were able to find it.

Just look how big it is.

Now here comes the tricky part, capturing it. My brother got a catch cup and a straw to poke it with. He told me to cover the bottom with a notebook just in case it tries to run down the hole. These species are also bolty and they jump which is scary. We're thankful that it was peaceful when it was going inside the cup. Finally, we caught it and placed it back inside its enclosure. We were wondering how the hell did it escape because it the enclosure had tape on it. This tarantula must really be strong that it was able to lift the glass up to escape. My brother taped it with packing tape right now and placed books on top of it just in case it will try to escape again. I was really tired and drained after this incident.

Let me also share with you guys a quick recap on what happened during my day, I woke up to finish my article and I thought that I had a patient at 8:30. I asked my mom to bring me to their place and I saw the sister of my patient and she said that there's no treatment today. I misinterpreted the message that she sent me. I felt so ashamed. A good thing was my mom was still there so I rode with her. I asked her if we could go to the store and buy some chicken feed. We went to the store where we usually buy our eggs and bought chicken feed.


I bought chicken feed because I was running out of food for my cockroaches. As soon as I placed some inside their bin they all started gathering around and eating. Can you see the baby Dubias?

I was also checking the status of my ants. I noticed that they started building tunnels already which is a good thing. It was really amusing to watch them move dirt. I also offered them a Dubia on top of their rock so they have food.

It was also feeding day for the other tarantulas and scorpion. . My brother usually gets dubias from my bin to feed them. Here are some of my photos while my brother was feeding them.


After that, we had to go upstairs and eat lunch with my whole family to celebrate Easter Sunday. I was really full after eating lunch because there was a lot of food. These are the parents of our cat Yoda. I noticed that Shaka, the white cat is pregnant again.


I then visited my girlfriend and I was wondering what was inside the box in front of their house and it was kittens. They looked really cute. Her sister is taking care of them.

When I got home I checked on my ants again and saw that they dragged the cockroach down the rock.


While I was using my computer Yoda was just there on top and he eventually slept. I hope that you had a wonderful day!

Thanks for reading and Stay safe always!

The photos used in this post are owned by me .

EARN BITCOIN CASH BY CREATING AN ACCOUNT HERE AND POSTING

3
$ 3.44
$ 3.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @chrishoffman
Sponsors of sgbonus
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sgbonus
2 years ago

Comments