What I Invest In & Why - Amateur Investing #15

12 129
Avatar for scottcbusiness
Written by
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
2 years ago

Time for another update on my investment portfolio and my passive income journey. In this episode, I cover my regular monthly update and cover what I invest in and why. This is amateur investing at its finest!

*Disclaimer: This is not financial advice and is purely for entertainment purposes. All my stock information is 100% accurate, but my crypto data may or may not be simulated*

 

I share everything so you can follow everything I’m doing with 100% transparency. The point of doing all this is to show you that it’s possible and provide some sort of framework that can be followed. This isn’t financial advice, and you shouldn’t exactly replicate my investing. What you should do is figure out what works best for you and stick to the basics of dollar-cost averaging, investing in good assets, avoid liabilities, compounding interest, be frugal, buy low, and sell high.

 

I cover my rules for investing here: https://lbry.tv/@ScottCBusiness:4/Investing:d

Here is the breakdown for my investing and budgeting templates: https://odysee.com/@ScottCBusiness:4/If-You-Want-To-Save-Money:7

Investing Spreadsheet Template Link: https://ufile.io/71mgq19h

Income Tracking Spreadsheet Template Link: https://ufile.io/frde28j9

Budgeting Spreadsheet Template Link: https://ufile.io/5bc6sxor

Dividend Stocks Vs Growth Stock: I invest in dividend stocks because they are typically much safer. I focus on very conservative stocks and aim for an average 5% yield for very realistic and practical returns that are consistent. I pick high quality companies and ETFs in mostly insurance, banking, real estate, and utilities to focus my wealth growth in safe sectors with some diversification. I invest all my dividends and compound my interest by buying more stocks and building up my passive income to eventually cover all of my expenses. So far it can cover my cell phone and 1 utility bill every month.

 

Crypto Vs Stocks: I see crypto as a solution to many things. Bitcoin is an improved version of gold in a digital form. Ethereum offers me access to decentralized finance and coins like DASH or BCH offer me digital cash alternatives that allow me to pay for the majority of my expenses. Dividend stocks are a great way to retire in 10 years or less if I can save and invest at least 65% of my income. However, I believe that cryptocurrency may afford me the ability to retire significantly sooner and I am young enough to play with some risk. Ironically, I invest in cryptocurrencies that are considered fairly safe and conservative now.

 

Growth Crypto Vs Passive Crypto: I earned passive income from lending, real estate, staking, and more with cryptocurrency. It was earning me a lot more income than my stocks were in comparison to my original contributions, but given I believe we are in a very bullish year, I have switched my focus mainly into growth cryptocurrencies by just buying and holding.

 

Below I will list everything for the monthly report:

I cover the recent stock buys I went through, share my portfolio breakdown updates, and share my thoughts on the current market. I continue to rebalance my stocks for the best yield and consolidating them down to my best stocks. I am currently making about $116.85 a month from passive income mostly from stock dividends and some from music royalties

 

My portfolio is roughly rounded to about 85% crypto, 14% stocks, and less than 1% in precious metals. I continue to invest in cryptocurrency even through these bearish times with my focus on the long term wealth and the halving cycle run up later this year.

 

My total annual projected income from passive sources is $1,402.19. $1,284.16 of those yearly profits are coming from stock dividends, about $41.64 came from cryptocurrency staking, I already earned about $16 from my RealT crypto tokenized real estate before I sold it, and $60.99 from music royalties. In my last update, my total portfolio value was $204,054.91 CAD. My current portfolio value with all my investments is $210,455.84 CAD. This is up about $6,400 from last month’s total value. I won’t be investing anymore money into crypto this month as I plan to start maxing out my TSFA for my dividends.

 

I earned $68.02 CAD from stock dividends, $0 CAD from crypto real estate, and $4.45 CAD from my last month of staking Hive and MTR staking on Den.Social. In total, I have earned about $320.35 CAD from crypto and $821.35 CAD from stock dividends.

 

I’ve kept my Bitcoin ETFs and will just hold through the dip. Currently, they are still way down with my eye on later this year to sell them.

My portfolio in terms of sector breakdown is now 14% Utilities, 21% Insurance, 20% Banking, 20% Real Estate, and 25% into general ETFs. I’ve gotten it close to the perfect balance with what I’ve been aiming for. I haven’t made any important changes since the last update. My goal is to average about a 5% yield on my portfolio and I’m currently at an average yield of 4.99%.

 

I am currently down -37.39% on 4,300 worth of growth stocks and up 13.81% on my $28,953 worth of dividend stocks including dividends with all income being reinvested and compounding interest.

 

For crypto, I will not be investing anymore this month. My breakdown is now 1% LBC, 5% DASH, 3% BCH, 2% LTC, 51% ETH, and 38% BTC. This is allegedly valued at $1161,600 CAD at the time of writing this. I’ve been going all-in on BTC & ETH as I truly believe the next 4 months will be life-changing and I’m aligning my financials accordingly.

 

Was this helpful for you? What stocks do you invest in? Do you prefer growth investing or building passive income? Do you invest in cryptocurrencies that pay out regularly? Let me know what you think about this in the comments below and don’t forget to subscribe!

 

This is a LBRY first video meaning it shows up on LBRY before it gets published anywhere else. If you’re not on LBRY, sign up and get started here: https://lbry.tv/$/invite/@ScottCBusiness:4

28
$ 14.18
$ 14.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
$ 0.05 from @Cineholic
+ 1
Sponsors of scottcbusiness
empty
Avatar for scottcbusiness
Written by
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
2 years ago

Comments

Nice passive income sir! I am looking into investing in stock market also for additional passive income. I have already started in crypto already so I wanna explore stocks also soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good day sir.😊 As for me, I really don't know much about investing or something about investments. But I might be interested to learn tho, after reading this article of yours, it quite help me understand a bit about it. Hopefully, can try it out soon, if ever chance came through, and if I'm ready too. Thanks a lot for sharing this to us, especially to me, as a newbie..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be my sponsor sir🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I can invest in stock market, you are having a great and decent passive income!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Invest cryptocurrency?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice one dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know much about investments because I tell to myself I am not that type of person. But as I have read your article it quite interesting to invest. So I will be making myself familiar to investments and would probably invest whenever I am ready. Thanks for sharing this article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I invest in Jollibee stocks and it was all red for quite sometime. But today brings good news and I can finally sell with a profit. 😁🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Invest crypto ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've invested in BCH. Yeah, obviously this article is useful for me. At first you said it is about entertainment. But this article and the video you made will help many others to gain faith and become a investor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's mostly a disclaimer haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
2 years ago

I understand, 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago