Principled Investing – Report #22

12 167
Avatar for scottcbusiness
Written by
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
2 years ago

Time for another update on my investment portfolio and my passive income journey. In this episode, I cover my regular monthly update sharing what I invest in and why. This is amateur investing at its finest!

https://youtu.be/Sutycfpa2f4

I’m back into regularly investing while I focus on maxing out my TSFA. I am currently estimated on average to be making about $263.04 a month from passive income mostly from stock dividends, crypto income, and some from music royalties. This currently covers my portion of the utilities and internet as well as my phone and backup phone bills, rental insurance, and all my monthly subscriptions.

 

My portfolio is about 74% crypto, 16% stocks, less than 1% in precious metals, and 11% in liquid cash. My total annual projected income from passive sources is $3,156.45. $1,879.83 of those yearly profits are coming from stock dividends, about $1,198.42 are coming from cryptocurrency staking, I already earned about $16.38 from my RealT crypto tokenized real estate before I sold it, and $61.83 came from music royalties. My crypto income continues to climb exponentially from the continued topping up of my accounts and compounding the interest I’m earning.

 

In my last update, my total portfolio value was $320,413 CAD. My current portfolio value with all my investments is $266,755. This is down about $53,658 from last month’s total value. My highest portfolio value ever was around $395,000 which is about 33% higher than where I’m at now.

I earned $183.26 CAD from stock dividends, $0 CAD from crypto real estate, and $52.04 CAD from my last month of staking Hive, HBD, TRX, and MTR staking on Den.Social. In the January report I will be covering my ATOM. I’ve been testing earning Tron on Ledger Live, Staking ATOM on Crypto.com, and UST on Anchor Protocol. These were all flops. Ledger live has too many prompts, it’s great for security, but not ideal for regular use. Crypto.com isn’t really that ideal since 99% of it is lending and I figured I might as well stake everything in the same wallet: Trust Wallet. For UST on Anchor, the only reason they can offer 19% is because it’s lending and custodial. I’m not continuing with any of those. In total, I have earned about $556.23 CAD from crypto and $1,730.79 CAD from stock dividends.

 

My portfolio in terms of stock sector breakdown is now 11% Utilities, 18% Insurance, 23% Banking, 18% Real Estate, 2% into an Investment Fund, and 28% into general ETFs. My main purchases were my usual Tangerine investment fund purchase, adding more to my real estate with more Northview stock, and buying more FCCD ETFs for general investing into high Canadian dividend stocks. My goal is to average about a 5% yield on my portfolio and I’m currently at an average yield of 4.85%.

 

For my dividend stocks, I’m up 16.01% on my $41,461 worth of dividend stocks. This is an increase of 7.5% from last month and will likely continue to increase as I continue to add to my TSFA.

 

For crypto, my main breakdown between ETH & BTC is 58% ETH, and 42% BTC. This is allegedly valued at $167,208 CAD at the time of writing this. I’m now separating all of the different categories of crypto I invest in. I have a handful of XMR, RUNE, BNB, and MATIC as my speculative investments. I hold DASH, BCH, and LTC in case I need them for digital cash. Lastly, I also hold HBD, Hive, ATOM, TRX, BLURT, and MTR for staking. I still expect a big run-up to happen soon in 2022 with the update to Eth 2.0.

20
$ 13.12
$ 13.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @trixdawson
$ 0.02 from @foryoubtc09
+ 3
Sponsors of scottcbusiness
empty
Avatar for scottcbusiness
Written by
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
2 years ago

Comments

Thanks for sharing this with us. I was feeling a bit insecure about my finances but now I'm determined to do everything in my power to help myself out!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope your portfolio rise way more higher than what you could ever imagine... While reading I was shocked when you said $263 a month from passive income, lol I didn't expect the amount I saw below it... Is it OK if I call you a whale ?? Lol someday I believe I would be a whale in crypto I don't mind what coin it is

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha I'm no crypto whale, but I'm definitely on my way to becoming financially independent

$ 0.00
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
2 years ago

Hoping to see that happen and I believe it would happen sooner or later

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My journey and experimenting with crypto is just starting ...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Congratulations with your portfolio rising! Well, maybe it's not rising 8n $ value since last time, but it's rising in the amount of crypto. I'm also going to stake some UST with Anchor, I think And what's interesting in this post it's that you mention MTR I didn't know it's possible to stake I thought it is a "dead" currency which is not even displayed at Coingecko Why I continue to post on Den.social is that some day if Ethereum transactions stop being so expensive, maybe I can sell my MTR for few bucks Now I have around 58 MTR

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah it's just not really worth it until ETH gas fees drastically go down, cost like 100$ to withdraw

$ 0.00
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
2 years ago

Yes, but where do you stake it? So MTR now is 0.4 something, so one should have hundreds of MTR at least.. Why do they stick to Ethereum? Why not to make token on some other blockchain?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They probably could do it on their native chain dragonchain

$ 0.00
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
2 years ago

Please let the portfolio Rise please for we the newbies it will really be a great massive deal for us

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's great passive income already but I knew you can double it next monthly update. I think bch will go greener that time hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

wow...i have to learn more for futures investing, following things like this is the best way to rise to success in investing..i want to learn sir

$ 0.01
2 years ago