Earn Passive Income From Staking Your Crypto

41 218
Avatar for scottcbusiness
Written by
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
3 years ago

There are many different cryptocurrencies that are stakeable allowing you to earn passive interest with which you can then reinvest back into them to compound interest. I personally stick to BTMX, TRX, and Hive when I’m staking, let me explain why.

While there are many cryptocurrencies you can stake, there are few that have performed very well over a long period of time whereas BTMX and TRX have continued to appreciate in value from when I originally bought them and have yielded very high returns.

Tron – 7.30% APR

TRX yields me an average of 7% or more depending on the super representatives you vote for. This is a great yield and because TRX is widely used and has a lot of use cases for passive income and gambling, I feel it will be safe to continue earning more with my ~$500 investment. I don’t like Justin Sun and how he ruined Steemit and bought up DLive and continued its poor practices, but luckily the token isn’t directly affected by his actions and many in the community also do not support him and while still supporting the tokenomics and vision behind Tron. It’s a bit complex or rather the UI is though. Essentially the process you need to take is staking your Tron via freezing it, then voting for super representatives that offer the highest APR or whatever you’re looking for, and then claiming that regularly and repeating this process.

Note that Tron you freeze will be locked in for 72 hours, but after that, you can unfreeze it and do whatever you want. You also want to stake enough to cover your transaction costs and that way you will spend nothing on gas fees.

 

Hive – 3.4% Staking APR + 4.9% Curation APR

The Hive I have was duplicated over from my Steem account and given I can earn 3.4% APR just from leaving my Hive powered up, it’s a great way to passively earn. On top of that, any curation I do earns me about 4.9% APR too. The great thing is that my Hive power is also set to auto claim every 2-3 hours which effectively compounds interest at a much faster rate. So, while you do have to wait 13 weeks to fully powerdown and unstake your Hive, you will earn a fairly decent payout very passively. You don’t have to wait the entire 13 weeks though as you get 1/13th of your powering down funds each week for 13 weeks until you’ve claimed all of it. While Hive pays a much lower APR and has more restrictions around unstaking compared to the other two coins, the compounding effect and boost to my curation is definitely worth it given I regularly post on Hive. I may have treated it differently if I wasn’t using Hive, however I recommend everyone use it. You can also take advantage of communities on Hive to earn more on a second layer like LeoFinance which I discussed in my previous video and blog post.

You can also setup auto claim via many different projects, here is one - https://peakd.com/autoclaim/@hive.autoclaim/userguide

 

BitMax – 21% APR

BTMX is the exchange token for BitMax that you are able to “subscribe” to the platform in order to earn from their exchange’s fee-sharing program where you get a percentage of the fees earned from trades on the platform for that day which averages out to about a 20% APR which is very high. They pay out in USDT which means you have to trade that back into BTMX and subscribe it to continue reinvesting and compounding earnings, but you earn quite a bit. I’ve already earned $70 from my $500 investment which is phenomenal. You do need at least $5 worth of crypto to trade, so you do have to wait until you have enough to then buy BTMX or you can pay a large fee to convert any crypto of any amount into BTMX. This isn’t worth the fee unless you convert “dust” which are tiny values that you could otherwise do nothing with.

 

There are many other places you can stake, but the safest way to stake is anywhere that you have full control of the private keys and usually that’s on a separate wallet not connected to any exchange. So in this case, BTMX isn’t perfect, but with a crazy high APR, it’s worth the risk to me.

Where do you stake your cryptocurrency? Are you staking any of the coins I am? What crypto coins are you staking or planning to stake? Do you prefer staking or lending? Let me know in the comments below and don’t forget to like, share, and subscribe as well!

49
$ 4.19
$ 4.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bigstacks1matt
$ 0.05 from @queengg
+ 3
Sponsors of scottcbusiness
empty
Avatar for scottcbusiness
Written by
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
3 years ago

Comments

I've only heard about staking recently, and I'm curious to know more about it.. I will try to do more research about it before trying it myself.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always wanted to stake my crypto coin in the future. Great article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can you make a passive income on coinbase?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes this is good article and I confirm it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Om mani padme hum Be healthy be happy be vegetarian I like it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I need sponsors and tip. Please support me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haven't tried staking or lending, but if i got lucky, i will try it, have heard of staking to some user/member here n thank u for this article, learning alot n hopefully i can be able to apply it when i can be able to stake

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank for the great article. I normally stake zilliqa on Atomic wallet. It has a 20% APY.

I have just started using Celcius which is one of the best places to stake your crypto. You can stake a lot of different coins including xrp, bitcoin, litecoin, bitcoin cash, and many others.

https://celsiusnetwork.app.link/110923dea0

You should give it a try. There are no withdraw limits and you do not have to wait for you coins to be unstaked. You can withdraw and deposit anytime you want. Best wallet I have used to bring in a decent income. It pays out every monday.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Celsius is not a staking platform.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is a lending platform that allows you to stake for holding your crypto there. So it is a staking platform and a lending platform.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its not staking, you are just earning interest on the basis of what celsius earns lending them. In stake you provide coins towards the staking pool.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Staking coins is great idea and profitable too.I stake TRX,Asimi,ERK.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very useful article for people that are looking to invest like me. Actually I once got myself some Tron some months ago hoping to keep it and expect a little rise before disposing it just to get some little profit. But it was the other way so I sold it. If I'd known I can actually stake it, I wouldn't sell it that time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A good place to stake tron is Atomic Wallet. Check it out. I use it to stake zilliqa which has a 20% APY.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How do I get the Zilliqa

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can get it on Atomic wallet. The wallet has his own exchange.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay thanks I'll try and get it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago

Someone who finally properly uses the term "passive income." I've become cautious now about staking since what happened with Cred.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That was a lending platform. Any platform that stakes or lends with your crypto is possibly sketchy. Instead if you have a wallet that you own, you can safely stake. Like with Tron or Hive

$ 0.00
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
3 years ago

Right! That makes sense. I was staking AWC with Atomic, but then I saw a better opportunity for growth with Bitcoin. Good timing on my part :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I stake EOS and DAI on binance, is that safe?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah for a small amount. Like I said no crypto you have on an exchange is as safe as it would be held on a wallet you control

$ 0.00
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
3 years ago

Ohh thank you..☺️ now I'm calm

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh thank you..☺️ now I'm calm

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pls whats the best staking platform

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There is no one platform, it's usually in the individual wallets for each crypto unless you leave your funds on an exchange like say binance which isnt' recommended

$ 0.00
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
3 years ago

I'm actually confused about staking

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To easily understand it:

Staking is putting your money in a place that generates more money for you. You can't spend the money you're staking unless you remove them from the stake but then it won't generate money until you put it back.

To prevent abuse. Most coins have a wait time between removing coins from the stake and them becoming spendable.

While Proof of Work coins (like Bitcoin) give all the new generated coins to the miners, depending on how much they mined.

Proof of Stake coins (like Ethereum) give all the new generated coins to the Stakers. So if you have %1 of all the stacked Proof-of-Stake coin, then you'll receive %1 of all the new generated coins of that blockchain.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes exactly

$ 0.00
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
3 years ago

If you stake, is it possible to be brankupt or always a profit? Do you have any videos so I can learn it easily?

By the way, I got your point but I want to understand it more. I want to make a wise decision.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Another way that may lead to bankruptsy is the waiting time after unstaking:

Let's say the waiting time is one week. You see your staked-coin being dumped %10 one day, %20 the day after and it keeps dumping. Everyone is saying the coin is dead!

If you have it in a liquid form (unstaked) you'll just sell it for another coin to cut your losses... But if you have it on stake, you'll have to wait that period of time (one week in our example) before you can move it and sell it...

Tl;Dr: If the coin you're staking failed you fail with it. You won't have the luxury of cutting your losses!

This also means that Proof-of-Stake coins have a good chance of bouncing back because many people are betting their money on it succeeding. The only way for a PoS coin to fail is a fatal flaw that can't be fixed, which could happen but not as often as you might think.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe I need to watch sime YouTube videos so I can understand it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not an expert, but like with any investment there's always a risk,

In theory, Proof-of-stake's profit is static, you earn the same percentage every day every year. In that case you'll always get %1 Ethereum from my example above...

But what if Ethereum value became 0 one day? You could still earn the same amount of Ethereum but the value you invested becomes zero so your return's value is zero too.

That's the risk I know of, but I'm not an expert and there might be other risks too.

As for videos, I don't know any but have you tried to search for "All you need to know about staking cryptocurrency" ...?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah I will search first about staking. Thanks for the info that you've given

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What can I help clarify?

$ 0.00
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
3 years ago

I don't know how can we earn in staking and I'm not familiar but I always heard about it. Do you have any videos about staking? For beginners if you have.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This kind of was my basic breakdown. I have other videos covering the basics of passive income from crypto where I explain staking

$ 0.00
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
3 years ago

Alright Thanks! I will watch your videos first. What's the name of your channel?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

crypto and things. I'm on every platform. Where usernames apply I'm @scottcbusiness

$ 0.00
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
3 years ago

Okay got it! Thankyou!

$ 0.00
3 years ago