Just Some Thoughts

13 37
Avatar for sc
Written by
3 years ago

I was lying on my back on the sand with only the thin sheet of the camping tent's flooring protects me from the cold. I can hear the voices of other people who are already awake right this moment, the gentle sounds of the wave and a snoring from the nearby tent. Three gals are sleeping right beside me.

I was stationed at the other end of the tent, and I was next to my friend who got married just a few months ago. She should be sleeping next to her husband, but since we don't have enough amenities for sleeping, we decided that girls should just sleep altogether and boys should also sleep together at the other camping tent.

I am currently here at the beach with my friend's family for her parent's post-wedding anniversary.

The solemnness of the night made me contemplate on a lot of things.

We arrived here a while ago in the afternoon. After putting off our stuffs, what's next? Of course, it's pictorial time!

One of my friends suddenly ask me where my partner is since there are couples everywhere. They were laughing about it, so I just laughed too because I know that she's just kidding me. I just told them that I am was not informed to bring my partner. πŸ€·πŸ»β€β™€οΈ

But seriously, I dread moments like this. I am not bitter whatsoever just because they have their partners while I am single. It just doesn't feel good when they have to poke a finger on that. I am happy with being single, but some people make me feel like being single is something that should be pitied on. I want to experience the joy of being in a relationship too, but not now. Not this soon.

Most singles out there will surely agree that being single is not bad at all. Here's why:

You have lots of time for yourself.Β When you're single, you don't have to use your time updating your mate about what's happening in your life every moment of the day. It's tiring to constantly write a message or dial the phone just to talk to your significant other.

No moments of jealousy.Β I understand that when you truly love someone, you don't want to lose them. And I came into the conclusion that this may be one of the reasons why jealousy exists in relationships, because when your partner becomes interested in other people, specially the opposite sex, there is a chance that they may like that person, and in the end leave you. Moreover, when you are in a relationship, of course it is only natural to want them to express their love for you, it may be through caring and efforts. But what if your partner asks someone else whether they have eaten or not? What if, instead of helping you first, they helped another girl or guy first? Of course, you'll feel jealous, and that's only natural! But, when you are single and not committed to anyone, you don't have to worry about these things!

You can strive for more goals for yourselfΒ without asking for your partner's approval. Supposed you want to travel the world for quite some time, if you're single that's fine, but if you are already married, that's not fine unless you travel together.

You can make decisions by yourself. This is compared to when you are already married. Because when you are married, you become one flesh with your mate, meaning you shouldn't make decisions for yourself and ask your mate's opinion first. Specially if you are a woman, you should always talk everything to your husband because he's the head of the family. When you are single, you don't have to ask anyone's approval, unless you are not yet at a legal age, because your parents should decide for you.

You are free to meet anyone and get to know about them. Well, no need to explain right?

You have all your hard-earned money to yourself.Β Of course when you're married everything is now a conjugal property, and it includes your income. And most of your money will go to your family's needs, you can seldom spend your money for luxuries.

I can make a list longer than these since I know very well how good it is to be single. But I will not elaborate everything.

Well, you might conclude that I am too bitter because I kept pointing out the negative things about being in a relationship and being married. So let me also discuss here why it's also good to be married.

Two is better than one.Β I know that this line is clichΓ©, but it is still true until now. When you are alone, who will pick you up when you fall? Unlike when you are married, someone is there to easily extend a hand when you tripped. And you won't have to bother your friends when you feel bored, when something is bothering you and when you have a problem. Because your mate should be your best friend, and you should come to them first instead of your friends.

You won't experience being bullied because of being single.Β I am an independent woman, so I don't care about the 'two is better than one' line. But I am always bullied for being single, so I like this idea the most. When you are married, or just in a relationship your friends won't dare to bully you for being alone and single, especially during get-together or parties.

Someone is there to let you feel that you are loved and cared for.Β Compared when you're single, it's good when someone makes you feel loved and cared for even without asking for it, because they will just naturally express it through their actions.

Whether it's being single or married both have its advantages and downsides. It is up to someone whether they focus on the positive or the negative.

Watching my married friends show their love for their spouses is beautiful. I feel happy for them when I see them express their love for each other in simple ways such as making a cup of coffee for their mate, sharing the food in one plate and just seeing them smile at each other. I'm just happy seeing my friends happy. It's different when they are still in a relationship as girlfriend and boyfriend when they seem to have their own world and I feel really bitter because of that LOL.

These are the thoughts that lingered on my mind after while I was trying to put myself to sleep the last time we went to the beach.

And! And here's a random photo of the couples. I tried to capture this because I was just sitting on a corner since I don't have a partner. (How pitiful LOL just kidding)

11
$ 15.83
$ 15.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 3
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

it's not so bad being single. you're still young pa naman so enjoy it while you can. i don't get why there's so much fuss over being single too. tuloy, lahat ng tropa ko maya't maya ako nirereto and it's not amusing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Di talaga nakakatuwa yung kung kani-kanino ka nila nirereto πŸ™„ Minsan ginagawa din sakin yan tapos dun pa sa napakalayong magustuhan ko tapos matatanda 😀 I don't know why being single is a big deal to them tho.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

who knows with them. akin nga puro foreigners they met on omegle. i think they have some motives din of sorts but who knows with these friends. they just want someone to tease talaga

$ 0.00
3 years ago

AAng saya naman, nag reunion kami kahapon kaso di naka attend. Sana masaya din ako 😟, chorrr ahahaha.

Di namam talaga masama ang walang juwa, tamo ako dahil walang juwa mahaba ang oras ko para sa sarili ko at kay read.cash at noise.cash, sapat na sapat na sakin tu. Tama na ung kwash lang, ayaw ko din naman nh commitment tama na ung ganito lang. Basta may cp gora na. Kaso masakit din ma ignore ng kwash ha 😟.

Anyways, wag kang magjujuwa dahil na pressure ka sa sulsol ng iba. Mag juwa ka kasi gusto mo at ready kana. Baka mahirapan kang bumitaw jan pag masyado kang mahal ng magiging juwa mo if ever nasulsulan ka. Pero mag juwa kana, isipin mo ang calendar oii. Ahahahahaha 😜😜✌️

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Why naman di ka pumunta dun sa reunion nyo? Di ka close sa kanila? Sabagay ako nga din dati di talaga ko pumupunta sa mga ganyan lalo at di naman kami close, feeling ko ma o-op lang ako.

Sana ikaw din πŸ˜… Wag mag jowa dahil lang sa pinepressure ka ng iba. Di naman paunahan sa relationship. Kainis lang kasi talaga kapag lakas makapang asar sa single πŸ™ˆ Kita na ngang single na ipagdidiinan pa rin πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Enjoy yourself while you are single. No doubt Mr. right was waiting on a corner. It's just that you're not ready for a commitment (maybe) that's why he's not showing. Lol. But, don't get hurt if people annoy you for being single. For me, it's a blessing. Being married is not that easy. Lol.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Baka kasi Mr. Left talaga yung para sa akin πŸ˜‚ My experience last time made me realize that I have to get married soon because I don't want to end up being bullied all my life just because I'm single πŸ™„

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Wow. 😱 I'm so proud you end up on that thought. I want Aliyah to hear it too. Lol.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

One time plng ako nKaattend reunion. πŸ˜… ang saya lng

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't feel bad. Being single is not that bad.. I fully agree about what you mentioned above about being single. Bayaan mo sila, darating din ang time. Take it slowly lang. ❣️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can totally relate and agree! πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Medyo annoying lang sa part na parang tingin nila sayo kawawa ka kasi single ka hahahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Hahaha yun lang.

$ 0.00
3 years ago