Family Not by Blood, But by Heart

17 59
Avatar for sc
Written by
3 years ago

Has it ever occurred to you when people who are previously strangers but eventually they became like your own family? I was thankful to God for giving me friends that seems like a family to me.

Since childhood there was a huge gap between my parents and I. We are never that close. They're always focused on work that I feel like they neglected me when it comes to my moral, emotional and spiritual needs. Probably because they married at a young age, so they didn't know yet their full responsibilities as parents. Maybe they thought that being able to provide all my materials needs is already enough. As I was growing up, I started to get more and more distant from them and I also planted resentment against them. I came into the conclusion that our relationship will never get any better.

But as I grow older, I get a broader understanding of things and I started to understand my parents more. There was a convention I attended before, and it made me realize that I just have to look at my parents positively and focus on the good things they do instead of the negative things. I started to open up my heart for them and since they can’t do it, I made the first move to try to talk to them at times and build a better relationship as a family.

But prior to this, I am thankful because I found families that treats me like their own family member.

I have friends who eventually became like a family to me, not by blood, but at least by heart. So let me tell you the story.

It was way back in 2015 when I met them. I never imagined that I’ll get so close to them. Before, I don’t have friends that I consider true, and what I mean by that are the friends that I will never be ashamed of showing the real me. At school, I have lots of friends, but they are just school time friends. So I prayed hard to the extent that I am crying every time I pray. I prayed so hard to God to help me find true friends, friends that has the same belief and principles as me. I just realized that he answered my prayers a couple of years later.

One of them is @Mayt. We are not each other’s best friend, but she’s a true friend to me. I can say that she’s a true friend because she’s there during good times, she comforts me during hard times, and she never tolerated me when I’m wrong. She also commends me at times. And I didn’t just found a friend in her, a family as well.

Before she got married, we were always together almost every day, not just her but her entire family as well. Their family became my dream family. Her parents are so nice to me, to my sister and to my cousin that they also treat us like their own. We can barge into their house any time we want, we can sleep over, and sometimes we even have small parties. When they celebrate something as a family, they always invite us to join. When I was having a hard time because of my family, they are there to listen to my rants and that feels wonderful.

Mayt’s parents are my ultimate ‘sanaol’ couple. Even when they are already married for 29 years, their sweetness may seem like they just got married yesterday. When you observe them, you will never feel bitter even if you’re single, instead you’ll dream of being married just like them.

See how they are stuck in their own world even when we are taking a group photo.

Two weeks ago, it was their 29th wedding anniversary, and they planned an outing to celebrate it, and they invited me and my cousin to join them. Things happened so it was rescheduled a week later. My cousin was unable to come because she have some important stuffs to take care of, so I'm the 'sampid' (outsider) during the trip. But it's okay since there was never an instance that I felt being out of place.

Here's a group photo of us the night after we arrived at the resort.

We tried water activities and their first sibling is busily playing with his girlfriend so I'm taking his place instead on this photo LOL.

We had a great time here and I will be writing a separate article about the trip later.

9
$ 13.81
$ 13.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
$ 0.05 from @z_graeden
+ 1
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Am gonna cry... 😭 This article really touches my heart. I know how you struggle about your parents, but still we're here for you no matter what. You know that. Thanks for accepting us as your 2nd family. 😊 Happy to have you too as a member not by blood, but by heart. ❤

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Wag sobrang matouch ah, para sa article lang yan hahahahaha joke. Ampunin nyo na kasi ako 😂

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Hahaha, loko ka. Yeah sure. May mga kapatid ka na waiting haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yun lang talaga problema ko kasi kapag inampon nyo ko, feeling ko aso na rin ako 😭 Pag may totoong baby na kayong anak saka nyo ko ampunin hahahahaha

$ 0.01
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Wahahah... Wag mong isipin yan. Mukha lang, pero di naman hahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True sis. Minsan, sa ibang tao mo natatagpuan ang pakiramdam na naging importante ka at mahal ka. ❣️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At least naman ma experience naman diba? Kung di ma experience sa sariling pamilya, merong iba dyan na kahit di ka kadugo ituturing kang pamilya 😁

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

I agree sis,because I felt the same.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Enjoy na enjoy mo yung beach. Kami kaya matutuloy pa pagpunta dyan? 😚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kala ko ba pumunta na kayo dyan? 😅 Di pala kayo natuloy hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

May bagyo kasi nung exact date na nagokano kami. Tapos nag announced pa na MEGCQ daw. Kaya ayun di na kami natuloy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana ol lng tlaga tulad ng mga parents ni mayt😁.. mabuti at kahit papano ay merong ibang taong nagparamdam sau ng pagmamahal.. and good thing na ginawa mo din ang part mo bilang isang anak na iparamdam sa mga magulang mo ang iyong pagmamahal khit na mejo distant sila sau

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ultimate sanaol couple ko yan haha. 29 years of marriage pero pag nakita mo parang kahapon lang kinasal sa sobrang sweet 😅

good thing na ginawa mo din ang part mo bilang isang anak na iparamdam sa mga magulang mo ang iyong pagmamahal khit na mejo distant sila sau

Minsan tinatry ko din talagang intindihin sila. Siguro kasi di rin sila lumaki sa pamilyang expressive kaya di rin nila ma express sa amin yung love and care nila kaya ganun.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Mapapasana ol k n lng tlga, khit d man maxadong sweet bsta ung care and understanding is there..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ohh i feel this XD my college mate's fam basically adopted me all throughout college and they still check up one even now

$ 0.02
3 years ago

May bagong account ba si myt?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Meron mommy yung Mayt.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago