Courtship

10 51
Avatar for sc
Written by
3 years ago

I've heard about this story several months ago, but I'm writing an article about it just now because I totally forgot about it.

So here's what happened: I was inside my room when I heard that someone came to visit my dad, few moments later they were already talking over a bottle of alcoholic beverage. That time, my 6-year-old cousin was staying with us and I faintly heard my dad telling his visitor that my cousin is actually my 'son', who I got when I was still a teenager. I was quite annoyed when I heard that because I'm afraid about words spreading in the entire neighborhood about me being a pregnant when I was still a teen. But I just let it be so if in case the neighbors makes gossip about it, those who have a little crush on me will be discouraged and that is a good thing for me - no one will bother me any more every time I take a walk.

After two days, we went to my uncle's wake and some of my aunts were asking whether I already have a boyfriend, so I kidded them and said I have a lot, referring to Korean Oppas. That moment, my dad shared the story about what happened the night before. So he told everyone that he got a visitor the two nights ago and that visitor paid him a visit because he wants to ask for his permission  to court one of his daughters which unfortunately is me (eeew). My dad knowing how picky I am thought that I'll surely become annoyed, so discouraged him saying I already have  kid, and he also asked the guy that they should talk it over a bottle of alcohol. The guy agreed and my dad gave him a glass of vodka, the guy drank it all at once and several minutes later he was too drunk and said he'll go home. Actually he didn't go home, but he slept outside our grocery shop instead (well we didn't know about that), my mom found out that the guy slept outside the shop when she heard someone puking at 4 am and cleaning up the mess afterwards.

After this incident, that guy was too ashamed to even show his face near our house, and I'm just too glad about it. Because he doesn't stand a chance with me.

So why am I writing about that story? Because it is somehow related to the topic I will write about - courtship.

Nowadays, not a lot of guys has the courage to talk to a girl's parents to ask for their permission to date their daughter. Gadgets, specially mobile phones and internet have changed people's perspectives with regard to dating and courtship. Online dating have gone mainstream and getting into relationship is just a piece of cake for others.

I've heard and read about a lot of stories about people who met the person they're dating online. A college friend is now in a relationship with a guy she only meet on social media. Some romantic relationships formed online does not undergo the 'proper' courtship and what I mean about this is the kinds of relationship which only started through chatting and then the two people will eventually like each other and will just exchange I love yous and boom! They are already dating. Some of these relationships becomes successful and some even led to marriage but most of them leads to heartbreaks. 

When it comes to dating and courtship, the Philippines have a distinct set of norms which made its culture and tradition fascinating.

Here are some of the Filipinos unique way of courtship in the past:

  • Harana. This is usually done during nighttime when a man, accompanied by his close friends or family member expresses his feelings towards the woman he likes by singing a song underneath her window. During this act of courting, a guitar has always been the most used instrument. Today, there are still few who do this, but it is done in a modern way. And most of the guys no longer sings a song for the girl they like or love underneath the window, they do it anywhere.

Photo from pinterest. The traditional Haran
  • Paninilbihan. Paninilbihan means doing some service for the woman and her family. The act of servitude shows how genuine and sincere his feelings is towards the woman he loves. This also shows that he respects not only the woman but her family as well. This includes helping out with household chores such as chopping woods, fetching water and other chores. 

Photo from shopsinta.co depicting paninilbihan

My grandpa used to tell us that he served my grandma's family for about a year just to get her precious 'yes'. He chopped fire woods, fetched water from a nearby river and well and even helped in my great-grandparent's farm. He even told us that since my grandma's parents have Spanish roots, they are quite hostile towards him. One time after filling a big barren with drinking water he fetched from the well, my grandma's mom just poured it while saying that he can't trust my grandpa because he may have added any potion on it. But my grandpa is naturally a kind man tons of patience, so he just endured everything and in the end he got the parent's favor and gave their blessing for my grandpa to marry my grandma. Aaaw a real 'sana all'.

  • Love letter writing. Love letters have been part of the norms for courtship. Wherein a man through a mediator (usually a close friend or a family member) will send handwritten love letters to the woman he likes. This form of courtship requires a lot of patience especially when sending a letter to a faraway place because it takes so much time before they will receive a response, but everything is worth it when they receive a positive response from the lady.

Photo from dreamstime

An elderly couple who I treat like grandparents did courtship through love letters and every time I have the chance to sleep at their house, I always read their love letters. It is too romantic, and I feel giddy every time I read those. I can feel how much they respected each other through those letters and since it is arranged properly by date, I can see how they progressed from pen pals to lovers.

Now, one will surely feel special and will love to read a long sweet message on social media during their special days such as a monthsaries, anniversaries or Valentine's Day. But I still prefer love letters over those long sweet messages. Call me old-fashioned, but I still think that sending handwritten letters are indeed romantic, and I promised myself that I'll marry that person who will give me a written love letter. 

As time goes by and as modern technology emerge, these unique courtship practices have been replaced by modern way of dating and courtship such as texting, chatting or video calling and using of online dating sites. Many people would prefer the new way of courtship and dating, but some still loves to experience the old way of courtship, it's not just about exerting more effort nor about being more romantic, it's also about preserving our rich culture that our ancestors did before.

8
$ 5.09
$ 5.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Ruffa
$ 0.01 from @Loner
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Sus pinagyayabang mo lang samin na may umakyat ng ligaw sayo ee 🙄, chorrr 😚😚.

Pero sana nga ano ganyan pa rin ngayon, meron pa din naman kasing mga tao na nangangarap na akyatin sila ng ligaw hindi yung nagkatitigan lang magpapalitan na agad ng number. My goshhh talk about melendeee ahaha. Peri mas prefer ko yun ganyan ahahahaha sabay ganon.

Pero seriously, if zi like the guy amd he happen to like me too, wala ng ligawan tayo na agad ganon. I mean, bat pa magliligawan if pareho na nga ang nararamdaman. Saka if manliligaw sya ng halimbawa 6 months nanligaw tapos wala pang 2 months nag hiwalay na. Sayang lang time na pinanligaw nya at yung pinag hintay nya. Ako pa namay mabilis nawalan ng amor sa lalaki pag halimbwa may di ako nagustuhan sa kanya mabilis akong ma fall out of love. Saka kahit pa magligawan kayo ng matagal tapos di naman pinakita sayo nong tao na yon ang totoo nyang ugali at sa huli nalaman mo sa hiwalayan pa rin ang bagsak.

Kaya ayaw ko mag jowa, tama na ung landian lang 🙄😂😂😂.

Connected pa rin naman sila kaya pasensya na at nagsulat na naman ako ng article dini 😂😂😂✌️😜

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Mala article na naman 'tong comment hahahaha pero tama naman, may point ka dun sa sinabi mo na magliligawan ng matagal tapos magbebreak lang din naman. Ako naman okay lang sa akin yung modern na may touch of traditional na way of courting. Ang problema walang nagseseryoso kasi nga nagsisimula pa lang, basted na agad 😂 Pero next time pag may nanligaw sa akin na gusto ko din wala nang paligoy ligoy, sagot agad hahahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Haha, masyado ka kasi pihikan so pano magkaka juwa, aakyat palang ata sa hagdan ung manliligaw mo sinasamaan mo na ng tingin 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha di ko naman kasi kaylangan ng juwa 😂 Yung time na ibibigay sa manliligaw gamitin ko na sa pagsulat ng article magkaka BCH pa ko 😆

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Hahaha good decision, same same 🙋🙋😝

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tama ka,, nag iba talaga perspective ng mga tao sa panliligaw sa panahon ngayon. Mas feel ko pa din talaga yun way ng panliligaw noon. You can feel the sincerity unlike today na parang ang pagsasabi ng I love you is out of habit na lang..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Naexperience mo din ba yung traditional way of courtship mommy? 😍 Gusto ko din maexperience yan kahit yung love letter lang or kahit kantahan na lang hehe. Tama ka po, ngayon nga nakilala lang sa facebook tapos magchachat lagi then magsasabi na ng I love you tapos instant sila na agad 🙄 Kaya instant din ang break up eh 😂

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Di ko na naranasan un kakantahan at maninilbihan. Pero un dadalawin sa bahay at dadalhan ng bulaklak, naexperience ko yan. At pag ganyan eh feeling ko ang ganda ganda ko,, hahahahaha. One time may umakyat ng ligaw sa akin, di ko sya knows kasi bagong salta lang ako sa lugar na un, sabi nya unang kita pa lng daw nya sa akin eh na inlove na sya,, hahahaha.. Siempre ako naman nagmaganda, enebe! Hahahahha. Though di na talaga uso ngayon ang traditional courtship, at madame din naman successful relationship through social media. Whether traditional or modern, if i may say, nakadepende na talaga sa sincerity ng tao un kalalabasan ng courtship..

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Sanaol may nai-inlove at first sight 😂 Pero true, nakadepende talaga sa sincerity kung ano yung kalalabasan.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

True.. Hahaha,, and sana mahanap mo na un magpapatibok ng mailap mong puso!

$ 0.00
3 years ago