Choose Wisely

4 22
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

This could be a topic I've already covered in one of my earlier articles. But I still want to write about it because it's already 1 a.m. and I still can't fall asleep. I had a cup of coffee at 11 pm so I'm still wide awake right this moment. And of course, 1 am is the best time for most of us to overthink, worry about problems, imagine things and for some... use social networking apps to watch videos!

So I was watching videos on Tiktok to pass the time while preparing my lesson plan when I came across a video of a woman dancing. She's 34 years old and still single. And there's a great deal of discussion about it. Despite the fact that I am many years younger than she is, I can empathize with her situation. People, you see, will always have a say in whatever we do in life. "You're already old, why are you still single?" "All your friends are now married, why don't you get married too?" "It will be difficult for you to bear a child now," "you'll become an old maid," and so on.

I'm certain that when I reach that age, people will say the same to me as well. I can already hear some of those words from individuals now when I'm a little younger, so imagine what I'll hear when I'm older. But despite that fact, I'm determined to stay single.

Everything’s fine, but I’m wondering,

‘Who will I marry?’

What I’m doing right now is deciding not to hurry.

This is a choice that could either bring laughter or sorrow.

And the feelings that start in a youthful heart, they could be gone tomorrow.

These are lyrics on one of my favorite songs. The title is Choose Wisely. There's no doubt that for us singles, whether we admit it or not, there are times when we worry about who we'll marry or whether we'll ever get married. Especially when we are already at what they pertain to as 'the marrying age'. But it's natural to be concerned about the future and to wonder what will happen to us. I don't want to rush things since I am the type of person who dates for marriage, not simply to mingle. I want to take my time finding the right partner. It is better to marry late than to marry the wrong person. Marriage is a commitment that should last a lifetime. So it is vital to date the person that could bring you laughter, not sorrow.

The bible says that 'the heart could be treacherous' and that is true. We may say that we love someone because of his or her good looks, because of his or her wits. But what if you already saw the negatives in that person? Will you still love that person? The feelings that are burning today, may fade away in the future. As a result, it is vital that we take our time when making our decisions. We're not being picky; we're simply being cautious.

Take your time; patience is the key.

Just wait and see.

Use your head, though your heart may not agree,

And think, ‘Is this the one for me?’

Possibly, if you just take your time.

And choose wisely.

If you are single like me, take your time.

Take your time to get to know yourself better. When you truly understand yourself, you will realize what you enjoy and what you are deserving of. You'll know when to settle. You'll know when someone truly deserves you or not.

Allow yourself to grow at your own pace. Remember that an independent girl is one who can look after herself; someone who can buy her own necessities is more appealing than someone who is completely reliant on others. Building oneself entails more than simply financial stability; it can also entail emotional stability.

Be happy while waiting. An when the time comes.... Choose wisely.

Okaaay, I don't know what I'm rambling at 2 am, this is probably the result of too much caffeine in my body lol. It took me almoat an hour to finish the article because I was simultabeously writing this and my lesson plan too. This is enough for now as I have to go to sleep, rest and go to work tomorrow.

5
$ 3.03
$ 2.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.04 from @Hanzell
+ 1
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Pinoproblema nong iba ang pagiging single natin tayo nga di pinoproblema hahaha. Pero ako, wala talaga sa isip ko ee. Sina Mommy nga nagatanong na din sakin, pero ignore ko lang. Ayaw ko mag juwa, masaya lang crush crush tapos tapos na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I've thought it's about politics, buti na lng hindi jeje.. take time, choose and be wise but not too picky.. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

choose wisely but don't be so picky,hehehe. Minsan kasi eh sa sobrng picky namimiss na nila yun opportunity na makilala yun para sa kanila talga,hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Vert well said. The coffe gives you a wisdom to write like this. It is a sortof advice. Hehehe keep writing sis. God bless you. 😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago