Disney + adds racist warnings to its cartoons

7 26
Avatar for ruza17
Written by
3 years ago

There has been a lot of talk about racism in recent years. For myself, I'm sure I'm not a racistand I strongly despise racism as well as any form of discrimination , but sometimes I wonder that maybe we haven't started to exaggerate a bit and declare racist content what it may not be.

New ethics at work!

The Disney + streaming platform has added warnings of racist stereotypes to some of its cartoons. Now, when choosing a cartoon to watch, users may see a warning: "This program includes a negative image and / or unfair treatment of people or cultures." Such an update has now been added, for example, to the well-known childhood cartoons "Peter Pan", "Beauty and the Beast", " The Ladu and the Tramp".

These additions came about as a result of the fact that service representatives consulted with independent experts from the African American Film Critics Association, the African American Film Critics Association, the Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertainment, and GLAAD on these issues.

For example, a warning before watching the cartoon "Aristocats" reads: "The cat is shown here as a racist caricature of East Asians with exaggerated stereotypical features such as slanting eyes and large teeth." "Those stereotypes were wrong then and they are the same today. Instead of just deleting this content, we want to highlight its detrimental effects, learn from its experiences, and open a discussion to create a more inclusive future together. Disney wants to create stories with inspiring themes that reflect the rich diversity of human experiences around the world, ”the company said in a statement.

Initially, these warnings were only displayed on pages with detailed descriptions of cartoons, but now they appear even before the content is released.

I don't know about you, but I only see animation of various cat news here. Okay, Asians have hairy eyes, but why mention big teeth for God's sake? Personally, hairy eyes are beautiful to me, I wish I had them too, and as for big teeth, individuals who belong to all races have them.

I don’t know, maybe they’re right, maybe racists really see it that way. Still, I’m afraid it doesn’t produce the counter-effect that some people might start noticing things in a way they haven’t done before.

What do you think about that?

5
$ 0.44
$ 0.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ruza17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ruza17
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

My adored cartoon heroes!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also liked to watch them, and only now I find out that there is racism in them that I do not notice with the best of intentions.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have resad somewhere thast Walter Disney was a nacist. He was a truck driver in the WW II and he was on the side of Germany. I do not know is that true or not, but I have never seen anything bad in those cartoons. For example, in Lady and the Trump, he is not shown as a bad person or sometihng like that because of his race, in this case breed. That is a story about street dog, and one kind lil house dog, that is very common love sotry, something like the Trump and the Princess. There are some things that are not good in Disney cartoons, but there is not racism in those cartoons.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have resad somewhere thast Walter Disney was a nacist. He was a truck driver in the WW II and he was on the side of Germany. I do not know is that true or not, but I have never seen anything bad in those cartoons. For example, in Lady and the Trump, he is not shown as a bad person or sometihng like that because of his race, in this case breed. That is a story about street dog, and one kind lil house dog, that is very common love sotry, something like the Trump and the Princess. There are some things that are not good in Disney cartoons, but there is not racism in those cartoons.

I don't see him either, that's why I was interested in the opinion of others about it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

things what be normal before 50 - 70 years now is social inappropriate and i agree with that, to many stereotype in his art, but in this time this is be common

$ 0.00
3 years ago