What to Say to Break the Silence...

19 48
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

We have been in front of our computers many times, thinking about what topic to develop in order to publish interesting content. We sit for a while thinking about what to write. At that moment there is silence in our minds. No interesting thought comes to us, or has it only happened to me? I don't know, it's just a thought for everyone. I only know that many call it writer's block.

I was in that moment of mental silence, thinking about what topic to develop, when suddenly came to my mind those moments of discomfort that occurs during a prolonged silence being next to a person we do not know, or when we are inside an elevator with another person, or in an office waiting to be called for an interview and we are sitting next to another person, or simply when we go on our first date with someone we will see for the first time. It is those first moments where the silence of not having anything to say or converse that create an atmosphere of discomfort. Has it ever happened to you?

Has it ever happened to you that the situation becomes unsettling after a long and endless few minutes, it is because the prolonged silence becomes uncomfortable. Silence and not knowing what to say when there is nothing to talk about in front of a person we do not know, makes us anxious and in other cases afraid of not knowing how to break the silence with an interesting topic.

It has happened to me on several occasions that being with a group of people, when there is that long silence, I say something that I know is a very used phrase for the occasion, I say: "a little angel is passing by". And then I make reference to the fact that we have all remained silent. I always do that as a way to break the ice and it is always effective to make the silence comment because we immediately start talking about any topic.

Some people feel uncomfortable in this situation of having nothing to say, especially if they are in front of a stranger. In some cases we resort to talking about the weather, the unbearable heat, the long queues or any relevant circumstance of the moment. One of the topics of conversation that I particularly avoid is about religion or politics, doing so with people we do not know is dangerous because they are very controversial topics that can generate discomfort or aggressive behavior in some people. With the exception of religious or political topics, you can talk about any other topic that serves to put an end to an uncomfortable and prolonged silence.

Although, having interesting topics to talk about is not so easy, sometimes our mind goes blank, just as with writer's block, we often don't know what to talk about. You can be prepared to talk about personal experiences, future expectations, pets, work or personal anecdotes. Talking about topics that people have mastered is the best way to break the ice and build trust between the people present in the conversation, it is very useful as information to discover what are the interests and motivations of the person you are meeting at that moment.

One of the advantages of reading and commenting on articles by other writers on this platform read.cash is that each of us writers has been enriched by reading various topics, we have been prepared in real life to be in real situations, it helps us to start conversations with people we do not know, to break a prolonged silence. Read.cash prepares us on interesting topics to expand our horizons and the possibility to converse with people at any time and in any meeting.

Have you ever experienced a prolonged silence, I would be interested to know how you got out of that situation, I would like to read your comment.

Thanks to my followers and sponsors for always being with me interacting, to break the silence when commenting on my content. Thank you. You are the best.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

Pictures from: Unsplash.com

12
$ 6.49
$ 6.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jnavedan
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 7
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

No había escuchado esa frase, creo que no es común en mi país, simplente alguien empieza a hablar de algo como el calor y ya... Realmente no me gusta hablar con extraños en ascensores o tiendas, realmente prefiero quedarme con el silencio incómodo, me gusta más hablar por aquí con los extraños jaja

Es maravilloso leer los artículos de otras personas aprendemos sobre su cultura, su forma de ver las cosas, su forma de vida o algún tema que a esa persona le parezca importante.

Para no estar bloqueada, tengo muchos títulos escritos de cosas que me gustaría hablar y que me parecen interesantes, así que cuando no sé de que hablar busco uno de esos títulos

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is a good strategy to keep a notebook with titles of interesting topics, I also do the same to consult it when I don't know what to write about. Many people enjoy the silence. And here on this platform is where they raise interesting concerns. That is the beauty of this platform. It nurtures knowledge. Thanks for stopping by and leaving such an interesting comment. I appreciate it very much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, now that I read this I realize that maybe we are in the same country at the moment and I had never heard that phrase haha.

One of the things I very rarely do with regards to writing down titles, is when reading articles I get ideas, it really is very rare, but when I get an idea after reading an article I go and write it down so I don't forget it. I don't usually take a lot of things with me when I go out, just my ID, so if I think of something I tell it to my partner hoping that neither of us forgets it haha.

This platform is quite interesting, because you expose yourself, your mind, your knowledge, or your deepest feelings through words, and you can even show how you are physically or not, no one will judge you, really read.cash has been a wonder and a blessing for many people.

Lately I have liked to talk here much more than in person, because if there is a topic that I read and I don't like I just leave it and go on with another, but in person how do I do that? if it is a conversation that I find uncomfortable, I can't just walk away and that's it and even less if I'm in an elevator with a stranger haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very worthy it was, it was my productive minute while reading such psychological facts about human brain and how it stop for sometimes. I'm also agreeing with your point when you said while reading other articles and commenting on their post will enrich you with ideas, concept, opinions and knowledge. I just have felt that in my one week of working here.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, here you will find many interesting articles that will nourish you in knowledge. I invite you to continue reading and commenting on various writers. This way you will make yourself known.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your articles are unique. I like to keep in touch regularly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I invite you to keep reading. Have a nice day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same to you. Regularly we can keep connect ok.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

a little angel is passing by

Our version is "someone naked passed by," or "somebody passed passed wearing such and such color."

I am comfortable in my own silence but not when I'm with other people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We are not very different. It's the same for me, I feel comfortable with my silence. Especially when I have a cup of coffee in my hand... about the little angel that always passes between people, because mine is always well dressed... hahahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whenever I experience writer's block and don't know what to write about, I just check out my bookmarks for random articles which I have saved in the past and then I write about them 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

How nice. I have an agenda where I have noted topics of interest to develop interesting content.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes, when I have nothing to write about, I just browse the internet and before an hour, I find something to write about.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right, the internet has so much information that it would be impossible not to find something to write about. I'm sure we all do that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes it depends who I am taking to. Even I am being talkative when it seems you are talking to a statue.

It happened to me when I inquired for a job order in our municipal office. The person who attended to me was not very welcoming. He only answered my queries briefly with yes or no and come again next time. I thought that an automated answering machine is better than that person.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is really upsetting what happened to you. You are right, if there are people who respond that way, even if one is a talker, there are people who respond with monosyllables

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣 You are right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah I usually get stuck into this situation many times, I rarely start the conversation either they start or I flee from the place haha. I think I have to change this attitude it does feel good at all doing that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You might be a little shy, I don't know because I don't know you. But if it's an uncomfortable situation and you're not the only one who escapes.... hehehe. A lot of people do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago