Postponing Health

9 32
Avatar for rodriguezpct
1 year ago

Since yesterday I planned to leave early for the clinic of the company where my son works and where I am insured because I am the mother of an employee of the company. I had to go for months to get the medicines I have been prescribed as permanent, medical treatment for my blood pressure and allergies and painkillers. I have been buying medicines in public pharmacies for some time because I had postponed going to the clinic where I am insured.

Today I woke up because of the alarm, at 5 am my cell phone rang. It was hard for me to get out of bed, it has been too long since I got up at that time with the intention of going out. Going out in these times for me is like torture. Yes, it is like a lot of sacrifice. Especially because of the long way I have to walk to get to the clinic and have to get there before 8 am, which is the deadline for the medical appointment.

I prepared breakfast and coffee, but I only had the coffee because I don't eat breakfast that early, so my son suggested bringing breakfast in a lunch box. When we left the house it was already 6:30 am and to get to the bus stop it was about a 10 minute walk. It took us almost half an hour to get to the clinic, we made it at 7:35 am.

Now all I had to do was wait in line for my appointment. And in the end when I was able to enter the office it was almost 9 am. But it was worth the time and all the walking. The doctor signed the prescription to go to the clinic's pharmacy to pick up the medicines. There were several, including painkillers, for blood pressure and loratadine for allergies, for the whole month of May. For June I have to repeat the process I did today, until the permanent medication forms arrives, a form that ran out by the way and I could not get it today, with that form once I have it I will have the authorization to pick up the medications directly from the pharmacy every month, without having to wait in line and ask for a medical appointment. Directly to the pharmacy every month, for a full year.

Then I went to the doctor's office where they were giving me the third dose of the covid19 vaccine. And they put it in my right arm. My neighbor who lives across the street from my house also took her dad to get vaccinated, she arrived after 10 am so I stayed to wait for her because since she has a car I had my safe return home, without having to walk so much. After all that we did I got home at 12 am. And guess what, for a change, there was no electricity, that's normal where I live. Now what is abnormal, with time and with so much repetition, seems normal to us. Sad reality.

Today I didn't go to the gym because today was an arm routine and I had no intention of making extra effort on my vaccinated arm, so I stayed to rest and write and share my trajectory of today.

I had to do for a long time what I did today and I was always putting it off. We are always like that, we procrastinate on health. If we don't see blood we don't move. If there is no pain we stay home. At least that's the way I am, and it shouldn't be. I have to make the effort every time it is necessary to go to the clinic, get up early and walk as much as necessary to have the medicines that are to keep my health in good condition for a better quality of life. So from now on, I have to mentalize that I must repeat in the month of June everything I did today. Only medicines, without the vaccine, of course. And taking a cab back home because I will not have the blessing of going back to my neighbor.

You guys also put off meds that are permanent...will I be the only one?

Thanks for the comments, for always being attentive to my posts, to my followers and sponsors.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

Picture from unsplash.com

7
$ 4.57
$ 4.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Jnavedan
+ 3
Avatar for rodriguezpct
1 year ago

Comments

Oh dear, I hope your health get better very soon.. I know how much you love the gym, I hope very soon you'd resume.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hello, Thank you for your attention. I am fine now. And resuming my routine at the gym.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a good news then, I'm happy for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you get well soon, am happy you didn't postpone your medical check up as it will cause more harm to yourself.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for your good wishes. And also for stopping by and leaving a comment. I was already missing you... haha... greetings

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am always here for you..what are friends for

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Would it not be cool if prescription medicine were just delivered to our homes and would be subsidized by government, if not totally free.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It would be great...with that proposal surely we would all agree...why don't you run for president...I would vote for you...haha...greetings friend

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Now that's an idea!

$ 0.00
1 year ago