A Scream of Terror

16 43
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Today in the morning I went to the dentist's office for the extraction of the tooth that has been bothering me for several weeks. I confess, I was very afraid. I relived the trauma of my adolescence and youth when I visited the dentist for my dental check-up. Going to the dentist makes me anxious because it is very painful for me. I don't know why the anesthesia doesn't have the desired effect. The same thing always happens to me: I leave the office traumatized.

I arrived at the time set by the doctor, my son accompanied me. There were no other patients in the office so I immediately went into the office with the doctor, my son stayed in the waiting room.

The doctor asked me if I was taking the antibiotic and the anti-inflammatory that she had prescribed. I told her that I have been taking them for four days, I still have three days left for the antibiotic and one for the anti-inflammatory. But my jaw was no longer swollen and I had no pain.

The dentist told me to relax, to open my mouth wide and with an injector she began to place the anesthesia in various parts, I think at the beginning I felt three punctures, or rather where I held my breath three times. The doctor started asking if I felt anything when she touched my tooth and I did. Then she injected me with anesthesia two more times.

After several injections, 6 in total, she told me to take a deep breath and that she was going to remove the tooth. When he began to remove the tooth I felt so much pain that I screamed so loudly that later, alone with my son, he told me it was one of those horror movie screams. The scream was so loud that the whole office could hear it. Thank God there were no other patients because they would have all run away in terror. Horrible experience. Thank God the doctor removed the tooth quickly and I could bear the pain more calmly.

The doctor treated me very professionally at all times, trying to make me relax, very affectionate. The doctor told me that when the anesthesia does not have the expected effect it is because the infected tissue has a low pH which prevents the anesthesia from penetrating the area where it should act and does not produce the desired anesthetic effect. That is why the extraction of the tooth was a horrible pain experience, like a horror movie because of the scream of pain.

Then I sat for a while in the waiting room with a cotton plug in the wound squeezing hard in my mouth, because too much blood was coming out of the wound and the doctor very kindly accompanied me for a while. Every moment she asked me how I was feeling. If I was in less pain. Indeed, I was no longer in so much pain and I was calmer. While she accompanied me, the doctor told me the immediate care: to bite for 20 minutes the gauze as a plug that she put on the wound to maintain the pressure, since too much blood was coming out. Not to use mouthwash for 48 hours. Eat soft foods for 3 days, drink plenty of water to keep hydrated, but no straw for at least 7 days. Take prescribed medications for the indicated days. And if any emergency arises do not hesitate to call her.

It will take a few days for the wound to heal. She recommended absolute rest for three days and not to go to the gym for at least 10 more days. I should not lift weights for more than 15 days, only low-impact exercises.

So now I am calm, relaxed in my room without any pain but taking the doctor's recommendations very seriously. I am calmly writing these lines, describing my horrible experience of going to the dentist for the extraction of the tooth.

Thank God I got out of this ordeal of pain due to an infected tooth. Now to relax, read some articles and also comment.

Thanks for having the patience to go all the way. You guys are the best.

Sponsors of rodriguezpct
empty
empty
empty

Pictures from: unsplash.com

10
$ 5.51
$ 5.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 3
Avatar for rodriguezpct
2 years ago

Comments

Oh man that is horrible how the anesthetics didn't work! Luckily I have never had an experience like that!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank God for you that you have never been through this experience... I have, this is not my first time. It has happened before. The good thing is that the pain passes quickly. I am doing great today. Thanks for commenting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like how he explained about the anesthesia unable to have effect on the infected tissue. I didn't know that that is what happens. New thing learned today :)

I hope you recover quickly.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It has to do with the low pH in the infected tissue that prevents the effect of anesthesia. It is actually caused by the low pH. This is not the first time this has happened to me. On other occasions the anesthesia has had no effect. Years ago it also happened to me with other teeth. And once when a doctor removed a nail from the big toe of my right foot. These are very painful episodes. It's horrible, it traumatizes me every time I get anesthesia. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I appreciate it very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am honestly terrified with this story. Taking the tooth out is indeed one of the scariest experience I could remember. LOL.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it is terrifying and very painful due to the fact that the anesthesia did not work... and now I can laugh when I remember the scream of terror I let out yesterday in the office... hahaha... like a movie... thanks for commenting and laughing with me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry about the pain. Thank God it's over now

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, thank God it's in the past. Thanks for stopping by and commenting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take your doctor recommendation with care, mate. Ahah, I can’t imagine like how was your scream btw, I know the pain of tooth is tolerable. Btw, you did it and now just relax, it will get better in few days.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I am taking the doctor's recommendations seriously. I am relaxed. The torture is over. It is past. You have a good day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to that, going to a dentist's clinic felt like your going through an ordeal. It's great to know that you are finally free from toothaches.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is really a trauma for me to go to the dentist because it is not the first time that the anesthesia does not work. But I have already passed this test. I feel better. Thanks for reading and commenting. I appreciate it very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry but I guess you're relieved because there's nothing worse than a toothache! Visits to the dentist are never pleasant, I was just this morning having a dental crown put in. Thank goodness I didn't need anesthesia because for me that's always the worst. Saludos!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Anesthesia always makes me anxious when I get it because it doesn't take away the pain. It is horrible. Good for you that you made it through your visit to the dentist. Greetings my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such horrible experience dear friend, I'm sorry you had to go through that kinda pain, it good you listened to the doctor's orders and surely in time you'd be back on your feet again, ready to gym. Good morning

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right, I feel fine now. Taking my treatment and rest instructions. I really regret being so many days without going to the gym. Thank you for your sincere words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago